LibGuides: HIST 498: Capstone-Voices of the Enslaved (Fall 2024): Library research guide

Find secondary sources

Books:

Library Search
Search for books, articles, videos, and other UA library resources.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Find citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.
A free version of Worldcat is at worldcat.org

Scholarly journal articles:

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering historical research of the United States and Canada from 1964 to the present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.

JSTOR screen reader instructions
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles, books, and dissertations, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions

Find digitized or published primary sources

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized African American newspapers from more than 35 states.

African Voices on Slavery and the Slave Trade, Volume 1: The Sources
Find primary sources in this collection of European travel accounts, colonial documents, court cases, missionary records, folklore, oral traditions, songs, and more.

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Find articles from Black newspapers, scholarly essays, and literary works, from the early 1800s onward.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
Find papers (letters, telegrams, investigative reports, treaties, and more) from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, covering Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean, 1833-1969. Useful for political, social, and economic research.

Freedom on the Move
A database of fugitives from American Slavery digital project

Gale U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Find reference works, articles, and primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Greek and Roman Slavery
English translations of over 200 texts and inscriptions on slavery from fifth and fourth century Greece and Rome.

Making of the Modern World Part I: The Goldsmiths' - Kress Collection, 1450-1850 This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources that track the development of the modern, Western world through the lens of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Documents from the period 1450-1914.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Modern Slavery: A Documentary and Reference Guide
North American Slave Narratives
From the Documenting the American South digital project
Slave Biographies: The Atlantic Database Network
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 (Trial database-access through October 2024)
Brings together documents and collections covering an extensive time period, between 1490 and 2007, from libraries and archives across the UK and North America. From a largely colonial and thus Western and Eurocentric perspective, the material focuses on the varieties of slavery, the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (trial database-access through October 2024)
Transnational archive devoted to the study and understanding of the history of slavery in America and the rest of the world from the 17th century to the late 19th century.
Slave Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
Digital project
United Nations Digital Library
Find documents, images, and more from the United Nations.
Voices of the Enslaved: A Digital Humanities Approach to Encountering the Archive
Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories
From the Library of Congress.
Women and Slavery in America: A Documentary History
Find primary documents including newspaper articles, cartoons, pamphlets, speeches, photographs, and memoirs examining the impact of slavery on women, both enslaved and free, African American and white, in the United States.

Cite sources

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Find details about how to cite books, journal articles, and other sources in Chicago style. Chapter 14 covers Notes and Bibliography, including specific instructions for citing photographs, maps, films, and other materials, published and unpublished, physical items or found online.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

HIST 498: Capstone-Voices of the Enslaved (Fall 2024): Library research guide

Find secondary sources

Your Librarian

Learn about primary sources

Find digitized or published primary sources

Cite sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

HIST 498: Capstone-Voices of the Enslaved (Fall 2024): Library research guide

Find secondary sources

Your Librarian

Learn about primary sources

Find digitized or published primary sources

Cite sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect