Special Collectionsholds primary research materials chiefly in the fields of literature, Arizona and Southwestern history, and the sciences. We also have important and substantial collections relating to the lands and peoples of Arizona and the US-Mexican borderlands region. We offer access to rare and unique materials for scholars, researchers, and the public including rare books, literature, printed materials, manuscript collections, photographs, maps and audio-visual materials.
Special Collections at the University of Arizona Libraries' is home to unique content for you to explore online, as well as physical content accessible in person.
Want to know what's in a collection? Go to its collection guide (see Using Collection Guides). Find something you want to access in person? See Using the Collections to plan your visit.
Arizona and the Southwest: These collections document the region’s culture and history, including accounts of Native Americans, the impact of Spanish and Mexican settlement, and the influx of other groups into the region from the 19th century onwards.
Borderlands: We have one of the nation's finest collections of archival materials as well as printed texts on the Borderlands of the Southwest and Northwest of Mexico, from Baja California to Tamaulipas, Mexico. These collections document the region's culture and history, from colonial period to present, including accounts of Native Americans and their ancestors, the impact of Spanish and Mexican settlement, and the influx of Americans and others into the region during the 19th century.
We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples. Today, Arizona is home to 22 federally recognized tribes, with Tucson being
home to the O’odham and the Yaqui. Committed to diversity and inclusion, the University strives to build sustainable relationships with sovereign Native Nations and Indigenous
communities through education offerings, partnerships, and community service
Unless an exception applies, certain textual content on this web page is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. To learn more, see the University of Arizona Libraries CC BY copyright policy. This license allows anyone to share and adapt that content as long as proper attribution is given and the license terms are followed.