Additional Resources and Tips - TLS 480 - Children's Literature in the Classroom

Resources for the inquiry project

ERIC

Find articles and documents in all areas of education. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions

Google Scholar

Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports. To set up access to UA Libraries full text from off campus or export to a citation manager, click "Additional Info" below.
The following configuration may be needed to access UA-subscribed content from off campus:
1. In Google Scholar, open the "hamburger" menu in the far upper left next to the Google Scholar logo and select "Settings.
2. From the settings menu, select "Library links".
3. Type "University of Arizona" in box and select "University of Arizona - Full-Text @ UofA Libraries". Then click Save.
4. When searching, articles for which we have full text access will display with a link "Full-Text @ UofA Libraries"; select this link to access it. (Please note that this link may be hidden in the smaller links below the citation, and you may need to click on the double arrow to the right of them to find it.)
5. To export citations to a bibliography manager, such as RefWorks or EndNote, go to the Settings menu, click on "search results", select the desired manager in the drop-down menu next to "show links to import citations into", and Save.

Amelia Bloomer Project
An annual booklist of the best feminist books for young readers, ages birth through 18.
American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)
Established in 2006 by Dr. Debbie Reese of Nambé Pueblo, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books.
American Indian Youth Literature Award
Awarded biennially, the AIYLA identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by and about Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America
ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICAN LIBRARIANS ASSOCIATION AWARDS
The goal of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.
The Brown Bookshelf
The Brown Bookshelf is designed to push awareness of the myriad Black voices writing for young readers.
The Caldecott Medal
Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.
Disability in Kidlit
Disability in Kidlit is dedicated to discussing the portrayal of disability in middle grade and young adult literature. We publish articles, reviews, interviews, and discussions examining this topic from various angles—and always from the disabled perspective.
International Children's Digital Library
The International Children's Library works to by make the best in children's literature available online free of charge.
Latinxs In Kid Lit
Created to:
Engage with works about, for, and/or by Latinxs; Offer a broad forum on Latinx children’s, MG, and YA books; Promote literacy and the love of books within the Latinx community; Examine the historical and contemporary state of Latinx characters; Encourage interest in Latinx children’s, MG, and YA literature among non-Latin@ readers.
The Newbery Medal
Awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Printz Award
Awarded to a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.
Rich in Color
Rich in Color is dedicated to reading, reviewing, talking about, and otherwise promoting young adult fiction starring or written by people of color or people from First/Native Nations.
Storyline Online
Storyline Online streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations
We Are Kidlit Collective
We Are Kidlit Collective works to create materials and opportunities to recognize the humanity of Indigenous and People of Color (IPOC) in youth literature.
We Need Diverse Books: Resources
WNDB resources include extensive book lists for finding diverse books, information on banned books for teachers and librarians, and resources for parents.

Find books online and near you

Overdrive from the UA Libraries and from the Pima County Public Library system

You can conveniently access these materials through the UA Libraries using your NetID and password. Browse the collection and manage your content with holds, tags and reading lists. The Libby app can also be used and if you already have Libby through another library, you can add your UA account as well.

From the UA Libraries

OverDrive

OverDrive digital library is a custom collection of ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines, primarily intended for recreational reading.

Sign in using your NetID and password.
The current monthly checkout limits are 3 eBooks and 3 audiobooks (limit of 3 at one time).
View the audiobook collection. View the magazine collection.

UA Libraries' ebooks

The Libraries offer children's and YA ebooks. Most of these titles are limited-licensed ebooks, which means that simultaneous access is limited to 1 or 3-users at one time.

For more information about our ebooks, refer to our Ebook LibGuide.

From Pima County Public Library

Get a library card (for physical books, ebooks & audiobooks) or an eCard (for digital media)

In addition to Overdrive/Libby, PCPL also has other ebook resources: Tumblebooks and Teen Book Cloud and these do not require a library card.

Best practices for accessing UA Libraries' resources

When pages don’t load or links don’t seem to work

Clear your cache and cookies AND restart your browser before initiating the search again.

To clear your cache: In most computer-based web browsers, to open menus used to clear your cache, cookies, and history, press Ctrl-Shift-Delete (Windows) or Command-Shift-Delete (Mac). If you don't see instructions below for your specific version or browser, search your browser's Help menu for "clear cache".

Try a different browser
Try using an incognito window
For more detailed browser, cache and cookie information, see Tips from Indiana University
When searching for resources, start your search from the UA Libraries' website and log in to your account.
Do not use VPN - EZProxy authentication often does not work over a VPN connection. Use your NetID and password instead.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

TLS 480 - Children's Literature in the Classroom

Social Sciences Cohort

Resources for the inquiry project

Find books online and near you

Best practices for accessing UA Libraries' resources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

TLS 480 - Children's Literature in the Classroom

Social Sciences Cohort

Resources for the inquiry project

Find books online and near you

Best practices for accessing UA Libraries' resources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect