Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Inclusive, Culturally Relevant, and Culturally Competent Teaching

Research Strategies
For optimal coverage, try your search in some of the databases listed here.

Education Databases

ERIC: Find articles and documents in all areas of education.
(See the recommended search terms to use in this guide).

Education Full Text: Find articles and books in all areas of education and educational technology.

Teacher Reference Center: Find articles and book reviews on assessment, best practices, continuing education, curriculum development, school administration, and more.

Complementary Databases
Many of these "content" databases also contain articles on pedagogy and teaching.

Ethnic Newswatch: Find articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses.

Google Scholar: Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports.

Web of Science: Find articles, patents, data sets, and more in the sciences, arts, and humanities.

JStor: Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences

PsycINFO: Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.

Search Terms for ERIC
The ERIC database has some very powerful
educational subject terms.
Here are some examples you can use.

  • Culturally relevant education
  • Race
  • Social discrimination
  • Transformative learning
  • Teaching methods
  • Postsecondary education
  • Multicultural education
  • Ethnic groups
  • Racial discrimination
  • Social justice
  • Instructional innovation
  • Higher education
  • Social integration
  • Minority groups
  • Social distance
  • Critical literacy
  • Classroom environment
  • Nontraditional students
  • Inclusion
  • Student diversity
  • Gender bias
  • Student centered learning
  • Course content

Search Terms for Any Database
Use these search terms across databases.

  • active learning
  • ally; allyship
  • asset-based, asset-mapping
  • bias
  • collaborative learning
  • people/students of color
  • compassion
  • counterstories; counterstorytelling
  • critical race theory/methodology
  • cultural humility
  • culturally relevant/responsive
  • decolonizing; decolonial; decolonization
  • ethnic
  • equitable; equity-minded
  • feminist pedagogy
  • global education
  • Hispanic-serving
  • inclusive
  • Indigenization; Indigenous
  • integration
  • international; internationalization
  • intercultural / crosscultural / cultural
  • intersectionality; intersectional
  • liberatory pedagogy
  • marginalized
  • mindful; mindfulness
  • minority
  • multicultural
  • nontraditional
  • positionality
  • race; racial
  • radical pedagogies
  • reconciliation; truth and reconciliation
  • resilience
  • social justice
  • trauma-informed practice
  • underrepresented
  • undocumented
  • universal design