Surgery Review by Martin A. Makary; Michol CooperPreparing for the boards? Check out this 3rd edition of Surgery Review, crafted by over 70 expert surgeons known for their excellence in teaching. This concise, go-to resource reviews the broad field of general and GI surgery, along with up-to-date coverage of the surgical specialties nbsp;anesthesia, trauma, and critical care. Well written, well-illustrated, and highly readable, this acclaimed resource is easy to hold and handle and perfect for rapid review. Features Quickly review any topic through clinical scenarios that mandate a surgical decision and highlight the standard of care. Master key points as top surgeons use the Socratic method to review each clinical scenario through a series of high-yield facts. Focus on information most important for recertification through practical, case-based questions and italicized pearls that focus on take-home points. Jump start your recertification prep with NEW chapters that focus on topics traditionally over-represented on exams.
Publication Date: 2013-11-14
Surgery by Christian de Virgilio (Editor); Paul N. Frank (Editor); Areg Grigorian (Editor)Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review provides the reader with a comprehensive understanding of surgical diseases in one easy to use reference that combines multiple teaching formats. The book begins using a case based approach. The cases presented cover the diseases most commonly encountered on a surgical rotation. The cases are designed to provide the reader with the classic findings on history and physical examination. The case presentation is followed by a series of short questions and answers, designed to provide further understanding of the important aspects of the history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, diagnostic work-up and management, as well as questions that may arise on surgical rounds. Key figures and tables visually reinforce the important elements of the disease process. A brief algorithmic flow chart is provided so the reader can quickly understand the optimal management approach. Two additional special sections further strengthen the student's comprehension. The first section covers areas of controversy in the diagnosis or management of each disease, and another section discusses pitfalls to avoid, where the inexperienced clinician might get in trouble. The text concludes with a series of multiple choice questions in a surgery shelf/USMLE format with robust explanations. Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review is based on 20 years of Socratic medical student teaching by a nine-time Golden Apple teaching awardee from the UCLA School of Medicine and will be of great utility for medical students when they rotate on surgery, interns, physician assistant students, nursing students and nurse practitioner students.
Publication Date: 2015-01-11
Surgery: A Competency-Based Companion by Barry D. MannDesigned to teach you to think like an experienced clinician, this unique resource places as much value on process as it does on content. A case-based organization hones in on the must-know differential diagnoses of the common surgical presentations. Its convenient pocket-sized format enables you to review the material on the go, and online access via Student Consult enhances your study of the material and exponentially boosts your reference power. Provides high-yield core information essential to surgical rotations in a portable, pocket-sized format. Uses a color-coded system that places the core surgical information in a framework of the ACGME Core Competencies. Offers self-assessment activities throughout to promote retention and application of knowledge, including access on line to your own competency-based portfolio tools and competency-specific learning modules (Vertical Reads). Features ACGME Core Competencies enabling you to integrate evidence based medicine, continual self-assessment, and cognizance of interpersonal skills into your daily routine. Includes features such as "Speaking Intelligently" and "Clinical Thinking" in each chapter to help you see the "big picture." Organizes the most common and must-know surgical signs/symptoms and disorders by presentation, making reference simple. Presents "Teaching Visuals"-an interactive teaching device designed to reinforce visual concepts. Equips you to perform a more in-depth review of surgical topics with "Clinical Entities" that are referenced to top surgical references. Includes access to Student Consult at www.studentconsult.com, where you'll find the complete text and illustrations of the book online, fully searchable . "Integration Links" to bonus content in other Student Consult titles . M&M form . Self-Assessment Competency Log . Professors Pearls that provide cases with questions and annotated answers . Vertical Reads . and much more!
Call Number: WO 18.2 S9605 2009
Publication Date: 2008-05-05
Dr. Pestana's Surgery Notes: Top 180 Vignettes for the Surgical Wards by Carlos PestanaAlways study with the most up-to-date prep! Look for Dr. Pestana's Surgery Notes, Fourth Edition, ISBN 9781506235912, on sale October 2, 2018. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from third-party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entities included with the product.
Call Number: WO 18.2 P476d 2017
Publication Date: 2017-04-04
TEAM Trauma Evaluation and Management by Subcommittee on ATLS to American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma
Call Number: WO 700 T253 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Case Files Surgery by Eugene C. Toy; Andre R. Campbell; Terrence H. Liu; Barnard PalmerPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS AND IMPROVE PATIENT CARE Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care.Case Files®: Surgery provides 60 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in surgery. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and USMLE®-style review questions to reinforce your learning. With Case Files®, you'll learn instead of memorize. · Learn from 60 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions · Master key concepts with clinical pearls
Publication Date: 2016-08-04
SCHWARTZ's PRINCIPLES of SURGERY 2-Volume Set 11th Edition by F. Charles Brunicardi; Dana K. Andersen; Timothy R. Billiar; David L. Dunn; John G. Hunter; Raphael E. Pollock; Jeffrey B. Matthews; Lillian KaoPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The BEST EDITION yet of the #1 text for surgical practice and education For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery. Enhanced by a new two volume presentation, the Eleventh Edition has been completely updated and refreshed with an emphasis on state-of-the-art, evidence-based surgical care. You will find an exciting array of new contributors from around the world, new chapters on cutting-edge topics, plus the acclaimed learning aids that make the material easier to understand and memorize. This outstanding content is bolstered by more than 800 photographs and 1,300 line drawings, most in full color, as well as online videos demonstrating key operations. Here's why the Eleventh Edition is the best edition yet: Six timely new chapters on important topics such as enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), ambulatory/outpatient surgery, evidence for surgery practice, skills and simulation, and web-based education and social media High-quality full-color design showcases an unsurpassed illustration program Emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Acclaimed learning aids (many new to this edition), including an abundance of completely up-to-date tables that summarize the most current evidence, boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and an abundance of completely up-to-date tables, and key references More than the field's cornerstone textbook, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is an international compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons.
Publication Date: 2019-05-29
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery 14/e by Gerard M. DohertyPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product Evidence-based, point-of-care information on 1000 diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, and pediatrics Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily More than 600 photographs and illustrations Detailed treatment algorithms NEW! Chapter-ending multiple-choice questions An outstanding review for the USMLE and shelf exams Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries LANGE "All medical libraries should acquire this book, which is an outstanding text for medical students." -- 4-star Doody's review of a previous edition Essential for students, residents, practitioners, and surgeons The best introductory text to the field of surgery
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Surgery: PreTest self-assessment and review. by Lillian Kao; Tammy LeeThe closest you can get to seeing the USMLE Step 2 CK without actually taking it Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You'll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. 500 USMLE-style questions and answers Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Targets what you really need to know for exam success Student tested and reviewed
Call Number: WO 18.2 S961 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Surgical Recall by Lorne H. BlackbournePublisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Written in a rapid-fire question-and-answer format, Surgical Recall, 7e is a popular, high-yield reference for 3rd and 4th year clerkship students performing surgical rotations. This portable resource addresses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties and provides accurate, on-the-spot answers. The book's popular two-column format provides questions on the left and answers on the right to facilitate "self-pimping" and quick review. This edition is packed with survival tactics and tips for success on the boards and wards, as well as key information for those new to the surgical suite. Those who go on to surgery residencies can continue to test their knowledge with Advanced Surgical Recall, 4e.
Find surgical videos, animations, textbooks, board review, and clerkship resources.
Note:Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.