Responding to COVID-19: Weaver Library is open Sunday through Thursday 9am-9pm, and Friday and Saturday 9am-5pm. You can also contact us by chat, text, and email during those hours. We’re providing limited services in the Main Library lobby. The Health Sciences Library is open to Health Sciences affiliates.Learn more about access during COVID-19.
General databases provide a bigger picture, bringing to light literature from other disciplines with a different perspective on the research topic. Searching interdisciplinary databases also improves the chances you won't miss relevant publications that may not be indexed in more narrowly focused disciplinary databases.
In this module you will learn how to:
Effectively search the following core interdisciplinary databases: JSTOR, Summon, Google Scholar and Web of Science.
You can start getting to know the following general databases by completing these tutorials:
JStor: JStorprovides full-text access to the digital archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. All journal issues are available from the first volume to the most recent five years.
Library search: Library search lets you search millions of items from a single interface. Search our physical library holdings, database content, digitized collections, and more.
Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a good starting point for a broad overview of a research area, and it provides links to related content, as well as links to articles that have cited a specific article.
Scopus: Scopus indexes core journal articles and cited references from journals and conference proceedings in all disciplines. It also provides the ability to conduct cited reference searches.
Which of the interdisciplinary databases do you use or think you will use most often? Why?