Skip to Main Content
The University of Arizona Health Sciences

Library Toolkit for Professional Support Staff: Database Tools & Tips

My NCBI

The NCBI feature is available through the PubMed website - you can find the link to create an account at the top right of the PubMed homepage. Creating a "My NCBI" account will allow you to store searches and select results from a search into the account for later use.  Results stored in Collections in a "My NCBI" account can later be exported to a reference manager, or the link to the Collection can be made public to share with others.  Also, "My Bibliography", a component in NCBI, must be used by investigators and authors to manage and report on publications arising from NIH funded research.

NCBI accounts now use 3rd party authentication - you can read more about it here.  https://ncbiinsights.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ncbi-login-retirement-faqs/

Periodicals Directory

Ulrichsweb
This online directory can be handy to locate details about a journal title such as journal name changes, where the journal may be indexed, and peer review status.

PubMed Citation Matcher

The Single Citation Matcher is a PubMed Tool that can be accessed off the PubMed homepage. This handy tool is basically a form that you can fill out to find the record for a citation. Usually, you do not need to fill in all parts of the form. Using the Author's last name and page number works well in most cases.

You may use this tool to:

  • Quickly locate a citation
  • Verify a citation
  • Locate the citation/s for a publication to add to NCBI's "My Bibliography" 

Journal Abbreviations

NLM Catalog Journal Browser
Locate abbreviations for biomedical journals (journals in NCBI databases)

 

ID Number Converter

PMCID - PMID - Manuscript ID - DOI Converter

This converter tool can be helpful to locate other ID numbers when you have one ID. For example, if you have a PMID for a publication you can plug in the PMID to see if there is a PMCID or a NIHMS ID.

Full Text

Having trouble finding the full text?

In PubMed, look for the blue University of Arizona full text icon. Sometimes, there will be a different icon that indicates free full text, these should work to provide full text access as well. If there is a white University of Arizona Article Linker icon, then the library appears to not have the full text and you may need to order the article (see below.)

If you suspect that there is a problem with the linking, please report it to the library using the AHSL contact form. You may also contact the Information Desk at 520-626-6125.

You can try to check for the full text easily through Library Search on the UA Libraries website. Copy and paste title of the article in the search box. The results that show may include the full text article for the title you searched if we have access.

If we do not have access to the full text you may order it through the Interlibrary Loan.