Web and AV Sources - MUS 327 - Country Music - LibGuides at University of Arizona

Web sources

This page has gathered sources for finding both primary and secondary sources. Keep in mind this list isn't exhaustive, there are other good sources out there. You may want to explore social media posts, blogs, fansites, online reviews, images, and other online content.

Use the criteria we reviewed in the secondary source and primary source discussions to evaluate the strength of a source for your project.

Websites

Academy of Country Music
- Find a database of past winners of the ACM awards and press photos/videos from the events
American Banjo Museum
- Short pieces of written content, but some nice primary source pictures in different parts of the webpage and images of the instruments
African American Banjo, Library of Congress Research Guide
- Guide with written content, linked articles, and primary sources from the library's digital collections
Before the Big Bang
- Early recordings in country music history
Berklee Blogs
- Blog from a music-centered college, some good interviews and articles on a range of topics
Billboard
- Billboard (archive of old issues of magazine)
- Billboard that UA has access to through library
- Journal from 1894 to today that has published on a wide range of musical topics
Bluegrass Hall of Fame
- Check out their inductees page for information on the musicians
Bluegrass Music Research Finding Guide
- Helpful guide from UNC libraries on sources in bluegrass studies
Country Music Association
- Homepage for the larger organization that includes the Hall of Fame, also links to awards and winners
Country Music Hall of Fame
- There is a lot here, profiles on the musicians, online exhibits, etc. The digital archive is a little hard to find, so I've linked it here:
- Hall of Fame Digital Archive
  - Huge archive full of primary sources, a lot are digital access!
Country Music Project
- Student projects for a country course at UTexas. They are great inspirations and have good biographies to consult
Field Trip South
- Blog of the Southern Folklife Collection at UNC
International Bluegrass Music Association
- This is their main webpage, click around to find their Hall of Fame, awards, and information on bluegrass radio
Library of Congress
- Digital collections, including the Dolly Parton and Roots of Country Music archive.
Lomax Archive
- Huge archive of recorded music and trips taken around the US by music scholars, especially Lomax, looking to collect roots, folk, jazz, blues, and country music. There are recordings, pictures, maps. I'm still finding new things to explore.
MTSU Center for Popular Music
- This link is to their online exhibits, mostly on earlier music topics
NAMM Oral History Project
- Hundreds of video interviews with musicians. Some are pretty tough to find elsewhere.
NME Music
- Since 1952, large website publishing on current music
NPR Music
- Reporting on a very large range of musical topics, often features interviews
Pitchfork
- Current webpage and journal on popular music, often good for very new music
Pop Matters
- Run by a musicologist, also has a very interesting podcast to go with the blog and book
Red Bull Music Academy
- More than 20 years of interviews with current artists
Rolling Stone
- Journal from 1967 to today publishing on a range of popular music topics
- There is a paywall. We have access to many of the issues in the library, try here.
UNT digital library
- Large collection of secondary and primary resources all digital
333sound
- These are articles about books this publisher puts out on various albums

Open journals

Cash Box (archive of old issues of this music magazine)
- Journal active from 1942 to 1996, published on a range of musical topics
Journal of Texas Music History
- Journal founded around 2000, publishes on music mostly from Texas
Music Row
- Online publication, check out the "My stories" tab for articles on musicians in the Nashville scene
No Depression
- Journal of Roots Music
Rising Voices Journal
- Student-run journal focusing on ethnomusicology
Sound on Sound
- Journal from 1985 to today focused on audio and music technology

Podcasts

33 1/3 Podcast from Bloomsbury
- On Spotify’s 33 1/3 Podcast, legendary producer Prince Paul explores some of the greatest albums ever made, using the source material of the 33 1/3 book series. In each episode, vignettes from the book—delivering behind-the-scenes stories and fascinating insights on the making of these incredible records—are interwoven with compelling conversation with brilliant guests who were themselves shaped by these iconic titles
NAMM Music History Project
- NAMM's resident Music Historian Dan Del Fiorentino and co-hosts Alex Rossner and Suzanne Del Fiorentino examine the innovative creations, the evolution of musical instruments, the changing world of the music industry, as well as industry icons and performers.
Switched on Pop
- A podcast and newsletter about the making and meaning of popular music.
Ongoing History of New Music
- Ongoing History of New Music looks at things from the alt-rock universe to hip-hop, from artist profiles to various thematic explorations. It is Canada’s most well-known music documentary hosted by the legendary Alan Cross.
Rock's Backpages Podcast
- They were so much older then, they're younger than that now: Barney Hoskyns and Mark Pringle reel in the years and riff on all that's new in the world's biggest library of music journalism – definitive interviews with legends of the last 60 years by the pop press' greatest writers ... and much more besides.
The Pitchfork Review
- Brought to you by the music critics at Pitchfork, The Pitchfork Review is a show for music fans and obsessives who can’t wait to talk about the latest releases.

Music

American Song This link opens in a new window
A history database that includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Music Online: Listening This link opens in a new window
Find streaming audio in a wide variety of musical genres, including classical music, world music, popular music, jazz and other forms of American music.

Alexander Street Accessibility Statement
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Find streaming audio in classical, jazz, rock, opera, and folk. Includes cover artwork, track lists, music notes, instrumentation, composers and performers.
Limited to 15 simultaneous users.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

MUS 327 - Country Music: Web and AV Sources

Web sources

Websites

Open journals

Podcasts

Music

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

MUS 327 - Country Music: Web and AV Sources

Web sources

Websites

Open journals

Podcasts

Music

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect