Research guide - MUS 130B - Introduction to Music Literature

Find primary sources: Music collections

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Find streaming audio in classical, jazz, rock, opera, and folk. Includes cover artwork, track lists, music notes, instrumentation, composers and performers.
Limited to 15 simultaneous users.

Find primary sources: Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized African American newspapers from more than 35 states.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Search and browse fully-digitized American Indian newspapers covering 1828-2016.

Europeana Newspapers
Search digitized newspapers from libraries, archives, and museums around Europe.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Find hundreds of fully digitized Spanish-language and bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States from 1808-1980. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" directed by Professor Nicolas Kanellos.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized U.S. historical newspapers from the Library of Congress National Digital Newspaper Program.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Find historical United States newspapers including the Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Washington Post.
The Historical Newspapers databases normally add one year of coverage annually. Atlanta Constitution adds additional three years annually.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized issues of The Times.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Find primary sources: Magazines

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Find articles from special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals from 1740.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Find articles on British science, social sciences, and humanities.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Find primary sources on film history, film and entertainment industries, vaudeville, silent movies, film, music, broadcasting and theater.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Music Periodicals of the 19th Century (Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Search scanned articles, advertisements, and musical scores from prominent American music periodicals from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Alexander Street Accessibility Statement

Find primary sources: Digital collections

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized collections from the Library of Congress archives
New York Public Library Music Division
The Music Division is one of the world's preeminent music collections—documenting the art of music in all its diversity—classical and opera as well as the whole spectrum of popular music including spirituals, ragtime, jazz, musical theater, film, rock and world music. While the division contains many scores and manuscripts from centuries past, its curatorial mandate is an activist one, placing major emphasis on capturing the creative output of contemporary composers.
New York Philharmonic Digital Archive
The New York Philharmonic Shelby White & Leon Levy Digital Archives was launched in February 2011, and currently comprises more than four million pages, including printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs. Growing continually, the scope of the online collection is every document in the New York Philharmonic Archives from 1842 through 1970.

Find secondary music literature

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Find articles on music topics and genres, including performance, ethnomusicology, composition, and music education.
ProQuest platform screen reader instructions
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Find articles, book reviews, magazines on classical and popular music.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online (formerly the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, and the New Grove Dictionary of Opera) is an online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Limited to 11 simultaneous users.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window
The largest and most authoritative popular music reference work, comprised of the full text of The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th Edition, this work features a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music,

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

MUS 130B - Introduction to Music Literature