Research guide - HIST 498 - Britain & the Modern World (Spring 2021)

Introduction

Many library resources you need for your research are available online, including remote access to databases, ebooks, ejournals, and digitized primary sources. You can also use Express Retrieval to request books from our circulating collections. Learn more about library access during COVID-19.

Find secondary sources

Books:

Library Search
Search for books, articles, videos, and other UA library resources.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Find citations for books, journals, audio, video, archival materials, and digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world.

Scholarly journal articles:

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find citations to articles, books, and dissertations, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
Tutorial

Find primary sources

Tips:

Digitized primary source collections:

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Find letters and diaries of British and Irish women, biographies, and an extensive annotated bibliography, from 1500-1950.

British History Online
Find digitized primary sources on the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.

British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Find articles on British science, social sciences, and humanities.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Find full-text English-language and foreign-language titles covering multiple disciplines printed in Great Britain from 1701 to 1800.
Tutorial
English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
Find thousands of expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents covering British history from 500-1914.

Europeana
Find millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections, including books and manuscripts, newspapers, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.

Foreign Office files for China [1919-1980] This link opens in a new window
Find eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports, and analyses on key events, leading personalities, and all major new developments relating to China from 1919-1980.
Foreign Office files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. This link opens in a new window
This collection consists of the main British Government files on South Asia for the period between 1972 and 1980. The documents, from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, include diplomatic despatches, correspondence, newspaper cuttings, economic and military reports, statistical analyses, maps, photographs, minutes of meetings, and leaflets and other ephemera.
Making of the Modern World Part I: The Goldsmiths' - Kress Collection, 1450-1850 This link opens in a new window
Find unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, Western world through the lens of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Documents from the period 1450-1914.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Find primary source collections from the 19th century, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, and statistics.
To select a specific archive use the drop-down on the left side of the search form.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Find full text of government documents of the British House of Commons and House of Lords, 18th century to present, including bills and committee reports.

More primary source databases

Digitized newspapers:

Europeana
Find millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections, including books and manuscripts, newspapers, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.

Guardian and Observer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search PDF scans of articles and advertisements in The Guardian and The Observer from 1791-2003. (The Guardian and The Observer were also published under the titles The Manchester Guardian and The Manchester Guardian and British Volunteer)
Irish Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Search PDF scans of articles and advertisements in The Irish Times from 1859-2016. (The Irish Times was previously published under the titles Irish Pictorial, The Irish Times and Daily Advertiser, Pictoral, Times Pictoral, and Weekly Irish Times)
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Find fully digitized issues of the The Times.

More news databases

Images and Maps:

Find images
Links to resources for finding images online.
Find maps
Guide for finding maps using the UA Libraries' Library Search.
Library of Congress-Digital Collections-Maps
Find digitized maps from the collections of the Library of Congress.
British Library-Digital Collections-Maps
Find maps digitized from the collections of the British Library.
Europeana-Maps
Find digitized maps from the collections of European libraries, museums, and archives.

Cite sources

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Access the online version of The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. Chapter 14 covers Notes and Bibliography, including specific instructions for citing photographs, maps, films, and other materials, published and unpublished, physical items or found online.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

HIST 498 - Britain & the Modern World (Spring 2021)

Your Librarian

Introduction

Find secondary sources

Find primary sources

Cite sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

HIST 498 - Britain & the Modern World (Spring 2021)

Introduction

Find secondary sources

Find primary sources

Cite sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect