Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, Second Edition by
Praised for its clear explanations of detailed statistical and mathematical principles, this text concisely covers both basic and advanced concepts in using evidence-based medicine, everything you need to deliver optimal patient care.
Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis by
The ultimate guide to the evidence-based clinical encounter CFMS (CANADIAN FEDERATION OF MEDICAL STUDENTS) ENDORSED! "This book is an excellent source of supported evidence that provides useful and clinically relevant information for the busy practitioner, student, resident, or educator who wants to hone skills of physical diagnosis. It provides a tool to improve patient care by using the history and physical examination items that have the most reliability and efficiency."--Annals of Internal Medicine "There is a great deal to like about this book. It is focused on common clinical dilemmas and is well organized, and most chapters are a quick read....The evidence-based examination techniques put forth by Rational Clinical Examination the sort that can be brought to bear on a daily basis - to save time, increase confidence in medical decisions, and help decrease unnecessary testing for conditions that do not require absolute diagnostic certainty. In the end, the whole of this book is greater than its parts and can serve as a worthy companion to a traditional manual of physical examination."--Baylor University Medical Center (BUMC)Proceedings 5 STAR DOODY''S REVIEW!"Physical diagnosis has been taught to every medical student but this evidence-based approach now shows us why, presenting one of medicine''s most basic tenets in a new and challenging light. The format is extraordinary, taking previously published material and updating the pertinent evidence since the initial publication, affirming or questioning or refining the conclusions drawn from the data. "This is a book for everyone who has studied medicine and found themselves doubting what they have been taught over the years, not that they have been deluded, but that medical traditions have been unquestionably believed because there was no evidence to believe otherwise. The authors have uncovered the truth. "This extraordinary, one-of-a-kind book is a valuable addition to every medical library."--Doody''s Review Service , In the tradition of the famous Users'' Guides to the Medical Literature, The JAMA series "The Rational Clinical Examination" was created to bring the principles of evidence-based medicine to the diagnostic process. Featuring specific clinical questions, numerous case examples, and precise summaries of available evidence, the RCE series was an instant hit. Now for the very first time in book form, completely updated with new literature analyses, here is a uniquely practical, clinically relevant approach to the use of evidence in the content of physical examination. Going far beyond the scope of traditional physical examination texts, this invaluable resource compiles and presents the evidence-based meanings of signs, symptoms, and results from physical examination maneuvers and other diagnostic studies. Page after page, you''ll find a focus on actual clinical questions and presentations, making it an incomparably practical resource that you''ll turn to again and again. Importantly, the high-yield content of The Rational Clinical Examination is significantly expanded and updated from the original JAMA articles, much of it published here for the first time. It all adds up to a definitive, ready-to-use clinical exam sourcebook that no student or clinician should be without. FEATURES All the expert perspectives on the application of evidence-based medicine principles-with all the authority of the pioneering JAMA series, The Rational Clinical Examination Packed with updated, new, and previously unpublished information from the original JAMA articles Standardized template for every issue covered, including: Case Presentation; Why the Issue Is Clinically Important; Research and Statistical Methods Used to Find the Evidence Presented; The Sensitivity and Specificity of Each Key Result; Resolution of the Case Presentation; and the Clinical Bottom Line Completely updated with all-new literature searches and appraisals supplementing each chapter Full-color format with dynamic clinical illustrations and images Real-world focus on a specific clinical question in each chapter, reflecting the way clinicians approach the practice of evidence-based medicine More than 50 complete chapters on common and challenging clinical questions and patient presentations Not-to-be-missed coverage of the principles of evidence-based medicine and physical diagnosis, with the concepts of specificity and sensitivity applied to the patient encounter Also available: JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine
Patient History: Evidence-Based Approach 2nd ed. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The definitive evidence-based introduction to patient history-taking NOW IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For medical students and other health professions students, an accurate differential diagnosis starts with The Patient History. The ideal companion to major textbooks on the physical examination, this trusted guide is widely acclaimed for its skill-building, and evidence based approach to the medical history. Now in full color, The Patient History defines best practices for the patient interview, explaining how to effectively elicit information from the patient in order to generate an accurate differential diagnosis. The second edition features all-new chapters, case scenarios, and a wealth of diagnostic algorithms. Introductory chapters articulate the fundamental principles of medical interviewing. The book employs a rigorous evidenced-based approach, reviewing and highlighting relevant citations from the literature throughout each chapter. Features NEW! Case scenarios introduce each chapter and place history-taking principles in clinical context NEW! Self-assessment multiple choice Q&A conclude each chapter--an ideal review for students seeking to assess their retention of chapter material NEW! Full-color presentation Essential chapter on red eye, pruritus, and hair loss Symptom-based chapters covering 59 common symptoms and clinical presentations Diagnostic approach section after each chapter featuring color algorithms and several multiple-choice questions Hundreds of practical, high-yield questions to guide the history, ranging from basic queries to those appropriate for more experienced clinicians
How to Read a Paper by
The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Fundamentals of Evidence Based Medicine by
This is a basic book on evidence-based medicine (EBM). It starts with an introduction to the topic. It outlines the relationship between EBM and research and quality of care. Then It goes on to cover the most commonly used modules of EBM, i.e. therapy, diagnosis, prognosis and meta-analysis. Each module starts with an introduction to fundamental concepts, and description of the related research process, and then follows the critical appraisal of related type of research artcle. At the end, it covers the different systems of grading of level of evidence and strength of recommendations. The book also has three examples of critical appraisal on diagnosis, therapy, and meta-analysis.​
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, 4th ed. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. "This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
Painless Evidence-Based Medicine by
This updated edition of Painless Evidence-Based Medicine presents basic concepts and application of research statistics in simple and practical manner creating an introductory approach to the complex and technical subject of evidence-based medicine from experienced teachers. A simplified introductory approach to the complex and technical subject of evidence-based medicine from experienced teachers Approaches learning from the vantage point of clinical questions on therapy, diagnosis, prognosis or harm rather than the framework of study designs Provides tables and boxed case studies throughout highlighting key topics, or difficult issues, in an easy to read manner Emphasizes applicability of EBM, encouraging readers to dissect the evidence and how results can be applied to individual patients with different circumstances, varying values and preferences New to the Second Edition are chapters on health screening, clinical practice guidelines, and major updates incorporating recommended trial criteria
Adapted by the Arizona Health Sciences Library from the
Oxford Centre for Evidence-based Medicine Levels of Evidence
Levels of evidence pyramid ("Information Mastery: Navigating the Maze."
University of Virginia, Claude Moore Health Sciences Library, 2009.)
from Georgia State University Library http://www.library.gsu.edu
From Central Michigan University
https://libguides.cmich.edu/cmed/ebm/pyramid
Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442
University Information Security and Privacy
© 2023 The Arizona Board of Regents on behalf of The University of Arizona.
