Correspondence Regarding Sulphur Smoke Injury To Crops in Sulphur Springs Valley, Cochise County, Arizona (AZ 363)
Chiefly letters between R. B. Streets and J. G. Brown, plant pathologists at the University of Arizona, and Wyatt W. Jones employed by Phelps Dodge Corporation, Copper Queen Branch, Douglas.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ363.xml
Records Relating to the Agency for International Development Contract With The Federal University of Ceara, Brazil (AZ 441)
Thomas W. Barrett Papers (MS 712)
Thomas W. Barrett was born September 6, 1917 in Orem, Utah, on a fruit farm. While growing up on the family farm, Barrett became interested in crops, soils, and would later find a passion for agronomy (the science of soil management and crop production). The Thomas W. Barrett papers include personal correspondence, photographs, and a few family papers. A majority of the collection consists of research correspondence, photographs, negatives, transparency slides, research files, field notes, and publications by both Barrett and other agronomists and agriculturalists.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS712.xml
Bart Bok Collection (MS 403) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/bart-bok-collection
Bart Bok (1906-1983) was an accomplished astronomer, educator and administrator. Born in Hoorn, Holland in 1906, he studied at the University of Leiden and the University of Groningen, where he earned a Ph.D. in 1932. He served as R.W. Willson Fellow in Astronomy at Harvard University from 1927-1929, Professor of Astronomy at this same institution from 1933-1957, and Associate Director of the Harvard Observatory from 1946-1952. Dr. Bok and his family lived in Canberra, Australia, from 1957-1966, where he served as the Director of the Mount Stromlo Observatory and Professor of Astronomy at the Australian National University. Dr. Bok was appointed as Director of the Steward Observatory and Head of the Department of Astronomy at the University of Arizona from 1966-1970, where he served as Professor of Astronomy until his retirement in 1974. He was Professor Emeritus of Astronomy at the University of Arizona from 1974-1983.
The collection documents his astronomical research, instruction and administration at Harvard University, the Australian National University, the University of Arizona and associated observatories. The collection also includes material relevant to the study of galactic structure and dynamics and interstellar matter, with particular emphasis on: The Milky Way, Dark Nebula, Star Formation, Spiral Structure of the Galaxy, Star Clouds of Magellan and Radio Astronomy. The bulk of the collection is comprised of correspondence (1945-1983), and includes biographical, research, professional and public lecture, instruction, subject, publication and photograph files.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS403.xml
Papers of Edwin Francis Carpenter (MS 332) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-edwin-francis-carpenter
Contains biographical materials, correspondence, publications and appearances, printed materials, and photographs. The bulk of the collection consists of correspondence documenting his professional activities, and photographs documenting the building and instrumentation of Steward Observatory at The University of Arizona, and Kitt Peak National Observatory in the Quinan Mountains, west of Tucson, Arizona. Selected correspondents include Bart Bok, Raymund Dugan, Sture Holm, Knut Lundmark, Otto Struve, and Harlow Shapley.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS332.xml
Andrew Ellicott (A.E.) Douglas (AZ 072) SEE ALSO: Dendrochronology, University of Arizona Tree-Ring Lab http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-andrew-ellicott-douglass
American astronomer and educator, founder of the science of dendrochronology. Associated with the Harvard College Observatory, 1889-1894, and its expedition to Peru; as well as the Lowell Observatories in Flagstaff, Arizona, 1894-1901, and Mexico, 1896-1897. At the University of Arizona, Tucson, 1906-1962; Douglass served as professor, dean, acting president, and first director of the Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, and also the Steward Observatory.
Chiefly materials related to A.E. Douglass' astronomical and tree-ring research, and administration, at the Harvard College Observatory, Lowell Observatories, Steward Observatory, Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, and University of Arizona. Includes correspondence, photographs, and an unpublished biography.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ072.xml
Michael Drake Papers (MS 511) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/michael-j-drake-papers
This collection is comprised of the professional papers of Michael J. Drake. The bulk of the material relates to his career as a researcher and professor in geochemistry, planetary sciences, and meteoritics at the University of Arizona. The majority of this collection predates 1994 when Dr. Drake became the director of the Lunar Planetary Laboratory and head of the Department of Planetary Sciences. The largest series is the publications which is divided into four subseries; presentations, articles, books chapters, and general. Other items in the collection are his personal files, correspondences, proposals and grants, professional services, and a subject file.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS511.xml
Tom Gerhels Papers (MS 541) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/tom-gehrels-papers
Papers 1894-2010 (bulk 1960-2000). This collection consists of the professional and some personal papers of Tom Gerhels. The bulk of the material consists of his correspondence with other astronomers, scientists, state and federal politicians. There are also scholarly files, research files, and personal interest files. Almost all amassed during his fifty year career at the Lunar Planetary Laboratory and the Department of Planetary Sciences, University of Arizona. Other items in the collection are environmental files, travel files, instructional files, newspaper clippings, photographs, slides, film, computer disks and CDs.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS541.xml
Donald M. Hunten Papers (MS 578) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/donald-m-hunten-papers
Don Hunten was a major contributor to the unmanned space program. He was very involved in the planning and implementation of many of the NASA planetary missions including Pioneer, Venus, Voyager, Galileo and Cassini.The bulk of this collection consists of 25 notebooks. The majority are related to his career as an astronomical researcher at the University Saskatchewan, Kitt Peak Observatory and the University of Arizona. Other items in the collection are correspondence, photographs, computer disks and CD’s.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS578.xml
Gerard P. Kuiper (1905-1973) is considered by many as the father of modern planetary science. In 1960 Kuiper established the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory (LPL), first as part of the Institute of Atmospheric Physics and later as a separate unit at the University of Arizona. In his years at LPL Kuiper established a group of telescopes in the Santa Catalina Mountains above Tucson; made balloon spectroscopic observations of the Earth’s atmosphere; and conducted observatory site surveys in Hawaii, Mexico, and California. He also studied the atmosphere of Saturn’s moon Titan in 1944, the carbon dioxide atmosphere of Mars in 1948, Uranus’s satellite Miranda in 1948, and Neptune’s satellite Nereid in 1949. The Gerard P. Kuiper Papers are comprised of the personal and professional papers of astronomer Gerard P. Kuiper. The bulk of the material relates to his careers as an astronomical researcher and administrator at the Yerkes Observatory (University of Chicago), McDonald Observatory (University of Texas), and the Lunar Planetary Laboratory (University of Arizona). Items included in the collection are correspondence, publications, research material, newspaper clippings and photographs as well as Kuiper's personal experience as a member of the ALSOS Mission following World War II.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS480.xml
Digital Collection: https://content.library.arizona.edu/digital/collection/p16127coll13
Lunar and Planetary Laboratory (LPL) Collection (MS 674)
The Lunar and Planetary Laboratory (LPL) was founded in 1960 by astronomer Gerard P. Kuiper at the University of Arizona in Tucson. Contains correspondence, documents, photographs, maps and reports related to its founding and work performed by LPL scientists over time. Individuals represented include: Leif Andersson, Robert Strom, Gerard P. Kuiper, Harold Urey and others. Subjects include Mauna Kea Observatory the dedication of the Space Sciences building, and various lunar missions.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS674.xml
Robert McMillan Radial Velocity Papers (MS 668) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/robert-mcmillan-radial-velocity-papers
Robert S. McMillan materials documenting the Radial Velocity Project of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. The project developed and used a spectrometer to detect the reflex Doppler shift of solar-type stars orbited by Jupiter-sized planets. Observation log books, grant materials, research files, instruments, photographs, and compact disks.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS668.xml
OSIRUS Rex Mission Records (MS 698) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/osiris-rex-mission-records
Records of the OSIRIS-REx next hit Asteroid Sample Return Mission. A NASA mission led by Primary Investigator Dante Lauretta of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory in collaboration with Goddard Space Flight Center and Lockheed Martin. Born-digital collection with online access through the University of Arizona Libraries Campus Repository. Included in the collection are mission notes and summaries from the OSIRIS-REx next hit Mission Information Wiki page. Collection is currently ongoing with materials deposited in the Campus Repository.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS698.xml
Elizabeth Roemer Papers (MS 664) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/elizabeth-roemer-papers
Papers of astronomer Elizabeth Roemer (1929-2016), specialist in astrometry of comets, asteroids, and minor planets, and Professor Emeritus of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, Department of Planetary Science and Steward Observatory. Includes research materials, correspondence, project files, notes, clippings, ephemera and publications related to her scientific research, teaching, and extensive committee work including the University of Arizona Faculty Senate
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS664.xml
Papers of Krzysztof M. Serkowski (MS 669) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/krzysztof-m-serkowski-papers
Papers of Krzysztof M. Serkowski, Research Professor in the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory at the University of Arizona and Astronomer at the Steward Observatory. Includes biographical materials, unpublished essays, and eight observation logs and lab notebooks.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS669.xml
Peter Hollingsworth Smith (MS 605) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/peter-hollingsworth-smith-papers
Professional papers of Peter Hollingsworth Smith, Professor Emeritus, University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. The collection predominantly documents the development of scientific instruments and the project management of missions to the planet Mars including Pathfinder, the Mars Surveyor Program and the Phoenix Mars Mission. The papers include extensive research materials, data, correspondence, publications, grant proposals, workshops and conferences, education and public outreach activities and media coverage.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS605.xml
Charles P. Sonett Papers (MS 520) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/charles-p-sonett-papers
This collection is comprised of the personal and professional papers of nuclear physicist Charles P. Sonett. The bulk of the material relates to his career as an astronomical researcher and administrator at the Department of Planetary Sciences and the Lunar Planetary Laboratory, University of Arizona.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS520.xml
Ewen Whitaker Papers (MS 662) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/ewen-whitaker-papers
Papers of astronomer Ewen Whitaker (1922-2016), expert on the geography of the moon (selenography). Contains correspondence, project files, extensive photographs and maps, and other materials related to NASA lunar missions (Ranger, Apollo, Surveyor, Lunar Orbiter), selenographic studies, lunar nomenclature and his professional career at the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory working with founder Gerard P. Kuiper.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS662.xml
Wieslaw Z. Wisniewski Papers (MS 546)
The Wieslaw Z. Wisniewski Papers document the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory astronomer's research in the field of comets, stars, extra-galactic objects, and asteroids. This collection includes observational findings, research, and correspondence related to his research endeavors. The bulk of his research focused on near-Earth objects, especially asteroids.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS546.xml
The Virgin Irons of Tucson: The Frontier History and Mystery Surrounding the Great “Tucson Meteorite” (AZ 556)
Typescript version of the above.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ556.xml
Traite de L’Horloge A Pendule, Chrétien Huygens (MS 144)
Chrétien Huygens was a dutch mathematician and astronomer. Two volumes: Volume 1 contains a handwritten translation by an unknown compiler of the five chapters of Huygens' book, plus an index. This is followed by three sections: "Vie d'Huygens," "Horloge de Chrétien fils de Constanti Huygens de Zulichem," and "Instruction d'Huygens sur l'usage de ses horloges pour trouver les longitudes." Volume 2 contains original steel-plate engravings of diagrams related to the text.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS144.xml
Observation, Elements of the Orbit and Emphemeris of Swift’s Comet, 1892, and Pleiades, 1899. (MS 264) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/observations-elements-orbit-and-emphemeris-swifts-comet-1892-and-pleiades-1899
Holograph observations by Milton Updegraff of Swift's Comet after its 1892 discovery. Includes 1898 chart of Trails of Leonid Meteors; also a section of observations of the stars in the Pleiades group, made from the Laws Observatory, University of Missouri, 1899.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS264.xml
Tycho Brahe (MS 677) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/tycho-brahe-collection
1 bound volume entilted "Topographia Insulae Hvennea" handwritten by J. L. E. Dreyer regarding Tycho Brahe and the observatory built on the island of Hven in the late 16th century. It includes 7 maps, two of which are folding. 1 pamphlet titled "Tycho Brahe's Island" by Charles D. Humberd, M.D.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS677.xml
Visible and Infrared Mapping Spectrometer (VIMS) Cassini Orbiter Instrument Records (MS 706)
Records of the Science Team for the Visible and Infrared Mapping Spectrometer (VIMS) instrument on the Cassini Orbiter of the Cassini-Huygens space research mission run by NASA and international collaborators. Includes records related to the Comet Rendezvous Asteroid Flyby Mission (CRAF) sister mission which was cancelled in the early 1990s. Includes correspondence, documents, reports, instrument design and calibration specifications and some publications and graphics. Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS706.xml
The Horseless Carriage: A Collection of Material Relating to the History and Development of the Automobile (MS 035)
Assorted pamphlets, magazines, promotional reports, newspaper articles, advertisements, calendars, newsletters, photographs, and pictorial items relating to cars, from their early development in the 1890s through contemporary trends of the early 1960s. The turn-of-the-century materials are in nostalgic reprints; the earliest original item is a 1924 Automobile Trade Journal. Most of the items date from the 1940s and 1950s, and were distributed by car and tire dealerships, auto manufacturers, petroleum and motor oil corporations, automobile clubs, and the specialty publisher Floyd Clymer. Some publicity brochures describe particular makes of cars. While the emphasis is on the United States, a small amount of material is about the British and German automobile industries. Clipped articles and advertisements are from newspapers and popular magazines such as "Life." The Horseless Carriage Club, headquartered in Los Angeles, is represented by newsletters, clippings, and notices of activities, mostly from 1938 to 1949; also issues of its "Gazette," 1938-1948.
Brochures and clippings commemorate special events, such as the 1908 New York to Paris Race, and the Automobile Industry celebrating its Golden Jubilee in 1946. Memorabilia is also present about J. Frank Duryea, his winning of America's first automobile race in 1895, and also partaking in the fiftieth anniversary race in 1945. Visual materials include black-and-white photographs from 1938 to 1940 of collectors with their antique cars, and several original drawings by Alexander G. Telatco. Calendars from 1946 and 1953 have color reprints of early cars in Americana settings, by artists such as Norman Rockwell. In addition, much of the printed material contains reproductions of historic photographs depicting different automobile models being driven in various situations.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS035.xml
Janice Emily Bowers Notebooks (MS 558) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/janice-emily-bowers-notebooks
The field notebooks held within this collection belonged to Janice Emily Bowers, a botanist with the U.S. Geological Survey in Tucson, Arizona. The materials in this collection form the basis of two of her books, "The Mountains Next Door" and "A Full Life in a Small Place and Other Essays from a Desert Garden". Notebooks measure 9.25 inches by 6 inches, with a few measuring 9.75 inches by 7.75 inches. Each contains entries for each plant specimen that was collected on the corresponding field visit. Also included are interspersed media clippings, home recipes, and other assorted information. The entries include both specimen lists and personal narrative.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS558.xml
Howard Scott Gentry (MS 657) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/howard-scott-gentry-papers
Howard Scott Gentry was an American botanist who is especially known for his expertise on the agave plant. Over the course of his work, Gentry introduced 15,000 plants into the United States for study, with his most notable contributions consisting of the development of a cortisone precursor compound, the introduction of disease-resistant wild beans, and the development of jojoba oil. This collection is comprised of professional correspondence, proposals, and manuscripts related to his research of plant species. Also included are some photographs and related material to individual plants in the forms of published articles, pamphlets, booklets, and notes.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS657.xml
Paul Bigleow Sears Collection (MS 455) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/paul-bigelow-sears-collection-0
The collection consists of correspondence, manuscripts, grant proposals, reports, photographs, subject files, field notes, pollen samples and data relating to desert ecology which document Paul Sear's career as a botanist, ecologist and educator. The bulk of the collection is comprised of correspondence between Sears and other researchers. The collection also includes research reports and manuscripts written by Sears and other researchers; activity files of various meetings and conferences attended by Sears and field notes of peat and pollen data collected and analyzed in different states, Mexico and Canada. Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS455.xml
Forest Shreve Photographs (AZ 518) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/forrest-shreve-photographs
Forrest Shreve was a botanist and desert plant ecologist. He served on the staff of the Desert Botanical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution, Tucson, Arizona, from 1908 to 1929, and as director from 1929 to 1938. This collection consists of 1102 photographs, chiefly of vegetation taken throughout Arizona, New Mexico, California, and Mexico (Sonora and Baja California). It also includes photographs of Shreve and his family, the Desert Botanical Laboratory, early automobile trips, and a number of towns in Sonora, Mexico. Some photographs were taken by Laboratory director, D.T. MacDougal, staff members Godfrey Sykes and H.S. Gentry, and others.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ518.xml
Dr. Homer Leroy Shantz Papers (MS 030) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/homer-leroy-shantz-papers
Homer Leroy Shantz was a plant physiologist for the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture; Botany professor at several universities; later, Chief of Wildlife Management Division, U.S. Forest Service. This collection contains field notebooks, reprint articles, speeches, survey abstracts, photographs, diaries, and correspondence pertaining to Shantz's interests in worldwide agriculture and botany. Shantz's various trips to Africa resulted in extensive field notes, including those for the Smithsonian African Expedition, 1919 to 1920, and the African Education Commission, 1923 to 1924. Background material he collected about Africa encompasses maps; postcards; dictionaries and primers on languages, including Swahili; also, articles on the people, the areas they inhabited, and specific problems, such as the tsetse fly, sleeping sickness, forced labor, and race relations. Photographs of his travels from the Cape to Cairo depict the Nile, Egyptian ruins, wild and domestic animals, vegetation and the landscape, villages and cities, and people in tribal dress. Communal activities documented include cultivation, thatching roofs, building a road, and weaving a large bamboo mat to cover a bridge walkway.
United States material primarily concerns the West, with a focus on Colorado. A study of its vegetation changes includes over 200 photographs. Items from other countries are South American survey abstracts by various authors; Shantz's diary and notes from the International Phytogeographic Expedition to Switzerland, 1923; also his field notes and diaries from Ontario, 1916; the U.S.S.R., 1930; and Germany, 1934. Correspondence concerns his various projects. The bound reprints of his writings have some material concerning wildlife, as it relates to larger ecological schemes.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS030.xml
Dr. Homer Leroy Shantz Photograph Collection (MS 481) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/homer-shantz-photograph-collection
Dr. Homer L. Shantz (1876-1958) was a leading American botanist and former president of the University of Arizona. He was born in Michigan in 1876, was educated at Colorado College, and received his PhD from the University of Nebraska in 1905. He performed many important duties during his lifetime, including research with the Department of Agriculture, guidance of the botany department of the University of Illinois, President of the University of Arizona, and became the first director of the United States Forest Division of Wildlife Management in 1936, he served in until 1944. In 1956 he traveled one more time to Africa as a member of the Geography Branch of the Office of Naval Research. In this trip he re-photographed many of the sites he had documented earlier. In 1958 he published Photographic Documentation of Vegetational Changes in Africa Over a Third of a Century, which culminated his work in Africa. Homer Shantz died in Rapid City, South Dakota, on June 23, 1958.
The Homer Shantz photograph collection is composed of glass plates, photographs, and negatives documenting distinct environments around the world. Images from the 1919-1920 Smithsonian African Expedition and the 1913 International Phytogeography Expedition are featured in this collection. The collection also contains negatives and prints by Jack McCormick and Walter S. Phillips.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS481.xml
Digital Collection: http://uair.library.arizona.edu/item/27407
Fratris Basilij Monarchi Benedicter Ordenns Handtgriffe Von Bereitung Seiner Vor (MS 117)
The alchemist Basilius Valentinus, also known as Basil Valentine, was reputed to be a German Benedictine monk, and a prior at St. Peter's in Erfurt in 1414. However, works attributed to him are generally considered to be 17th century forgeries; an individual suggested as the true author is Johannes Thölde of Frankenhausen, Thuringia, the first "editor" of the writings of Valentinus. The works were translated, hand-copied, and published in different languages throughout the 17th and 18th centuries.
Undated, bound compilation of copied writings on alchemy and antimony; the entries are in a number of different hands. The title page has references to two of Valentinus' published books: Triumph-Wagen Antimonii, or Triumphant Chariot of Antimony, originally published in German in 1604, and Latin in 1646; Zwölff Schlüssel, or Twelve Keys, was printed in German in 1599, and Latin in 1618.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS117.xml
Extractus: Selectissimarum Rerum Chymicarum, Johannis Bapt. Helmontii AB Helmond, Insignis AC Subtilissimi Philosophi Adepti Lectu Utilissmus. (MS 118)
The 405 extracts, by an unknown compiler, are from the chemical writings of Helmont. The pen-and-ink manuscript is in one hand. It is undated, but the introductory biography section notes Helmont's death date, thus the compilation must be after 1644; perhaps even sometime from the 18th century.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS118.xml
Dr. Bryant Bannister (MS 508) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/bryant-bannister-papers
This collection includes the correspondence and administrative files of Dr. Bryant Bannister during his tenure at the Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, University of Arizona, and additional personal files of Dr. Bannister's including, research interests and colleague collaboration, writings and professional papers, thesis and dissertation, conference or business trips, and lecture class notes and syllabi from teaching while at the University of Arizona.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS508.xml
Correspondence of Edward H. Angle (AZ 176) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/correspondence-edward-h-angle
Edward H. Angle was an American dentist and founder of modern orthodontics. Angles dedicated his life to standardizing the teaching and practice of orthodontics. He founded the Angle School of Orthodontia in St. Louis, Missouri in 1900. Charles Harold Tweed, a Phoenix orthodontist, revolutionized the profession of orthodontics’ with a technique involving the use of traction and multiple wiring devices in tooth arrangement. Letters and telegrams of Edward H. Angle and Ann Hopkins Angle (the 1st lady of orthodontics) to Charles Harold Tweed relating to the practice of orthodontia and to dental legislation in Arizona. Includes biographical data by Bernard L. Fontana and portraits.
Collection Guide http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ176.xml
Ecology (MS 106) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/ecology
Photocopy of typescript by Walter P. Taylor; contains holographic edits and additions by Homer LeRoy Shantz. This work is a comprehensive text on general ecology and contains a substantial bibliography.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS106.xml
The New Vitalism (MS 119) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/new-vitalism
John Burroughs (1837-1921) American naturalist and author. Bound volume of John Burroughs' holographic manuscript, cut-and-pasted with his typed pages of edits; both interleaved with a typed transcription done by John E. Boos in 1942. The manuscript is signed by Burroughs; the preface is signed and dated by Boos. Contains a few illustrations and photographs. A reprint of the published version from the North American Review is bound-in at the end.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS119.xml
Manuscripts of Joseph Wood Krutch (AZ 164) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/manuscripts-joseph-wood-krutch
Joseph Wood Krutch, 1893-1970, was an author, educator, and naturalist. Author of social criticism, critical biographies, and later naturalist essays; retired to Tucson in 1952 and completed several works. The collection includes typescripts, some with holograph corrections, of published manuscripts for The Desert Year, 1952, Voice of the Desert: A Naturalist's Interpretation, 1955, The Great Chain of Life, 1957, Grand Canyon: Today and All Its Yesterdays, 1958, The Forgotten Peninsula: A Naturalist in Baja California, 1961, Herbal, 1965, and the introduction for The Best Nature Writing of Joseph Wood Krutch, 1970. Typescripts of unpublished travel diaries, 1965-1967, concern trips to France, Greece, and Baja California. Also present are printers copies for Great Chain of Life, Forgotten Peninsula, and Grand Canyon; and notes and miscellaneous material related to Herbal.
Collection Guide http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ164.xml
Brian Powell Papers (MS 711) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/brian-powell-papers
This collection includes groupings of data collected by Brian Powell and others in relation to the Sonoran Desert Inventory and Monitoring Network. Ecologists working with the Sonoran Desert Inventory and Monitoring Network aim to collect pertinent information on plants, water, air, birds, and climate by making observations at eleven National Park Service units. These inventories, collected by Powell, include information on birds, amphibians and reptiles (identified as 'herps' in the inventories), mammals, and plants at different locations across Arizona.
Collection Guide http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS711.xml
Records of the Tucson Audubon Society (MS 368) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/records-tucson-audubon-society
Series One, Administration, contains correspondence of the officers, board of directors meeting materials, and documents of committees. Series Two, Conservation, consists of case studies and issues of concern. Interactions with other conservation entities are documented in publications and correspondence. Series Three, Education, consists of brochures, planning materials, correspondence, itineraries, postcards and photographs of events. Field trips, Camp of the West, Family Institute and Desert Safari are included with particular emphasis on the Institute of Desert Ecology. Series Four, Organization, contains national, regional, state and chapter materials regarding cooperative efforts and interests. Series Five, Publications, contains their newsletter, The Road-Runner.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS368.xml
Papers Relating to the Basic Concepts Commission of Science (AZ 351)
Hazel McFeely Fontana was an artist in Tucson, Ariz. Also a member of the Basic Concepts Commission for Science, she was appointed by the Arizona State Dept. of Education to formulate basic concepts for the teaching of science in Arizona public schools, 1972-1973.
Correspondence, minutes of meetings, reports and recommendations by sub-committees and others, clippings, resource materials, and drafts of final guide relating to service as member of the Basic Concepts Commission for Science.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ351.xml
Thomas R. Brown (Burr-Brown) Corporation (MS 635) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/thomas-r-brown-burr-brown-corporation
The Burr-Brown Corporation records contain the business records of the company and the professional papers of founder Thomas R. Brown, Jr. The Burr-Brown Corporation, founded in Tucson, Arizona in 1956, designed, manufactured, and marketed a broad line of integrated circuits used in electronic signal processing until it was sold to Texas Instruments in the year 2000. Formats include documents, notebooks, technical drawings, clippings, printed matter and ephemera, 3D objects, awards, memorabilia, photographs, digital media and numerous audio recordings.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS635.xml
Covered Wood Bridge Spanning Norman’s Kill at French’s Mill (MS 114)
One of three extant copies of a seven-page typescript report. It describes the covered bridge at French's Mill, N.Y., which was built in 1866. Contains eight mounted and labeled photographs; they depict different views and construction aspects of the bridge, both before and after the roof and side covering was removed. Blueprints drawn by Paulsen, letters, and a newspaper clipping are located in a back pocket.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS114.xml
Robert Snedigar Oral History Collection (MS 370) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/robert-snedigar-oral-history-collection
This collection consists one audio recording. Recordings are of interviews with Curt Hoyt and Duane Kline regarding local mining. Testimony of Curt Hoyt includes his early life in Kansas, Wyoming and Oklahoma; reminiscences of Tucson and John and Mrs. Greenway; and Mining in the Olive Camp District. The testimony of Duane Kline includes working for Mogollon Mining Co., Miami, Arizona; his description of the "McDonald Finger Raise" mining method; and a brief history of Mowry Mine read from the USGS bulletin Mineral Deposits of the Santa Rita and Patagonia Mountains.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS370.xml
Diary of David Dodge Jr. (MS 047) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/diary-david-dodge-jr
Photocopy of a 35-page holographic diary by Dodge; it recounts his adventures beginning in New Bedford, Mass., aboard the whaling ship, "Russell," from 1831-1834. He describes the Pacific voyage including South American ports, whale hunting procedures, and the environmental importance of the Galapagos Islands. Also present is a typed transcription of the diary by John Dunklee and Alan Newton of the Geography Dept., University of Arizona. It contains an introduction with background information, annotations, and a map of the voyage.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS047.xml
The Papers of Phyllis and Weldon Heald (MS 359)
Phyllis and Weldon Heald were free-lance writers who relocated to southeast Arizona from the northeast. They owned the Flying H Ranch in the Huachuca Mountains, and the Painted Canyon Ranch in the Chiricahua Mountains before settling down to write full-time in Tucson. They wrote books, articles, short stories, poems, plays and screenplays. Much of their writing was on the flora and fauna of the Southwest as well as historical sites in Arizona. Before his career as a writer, artist and photographer, Weldon worked as an architect. He wrote several books including, "Sky Island," and "The Arizona Scenic Guide." Phyllis began her career as a playwright and she continued to write plays with her husband. The Healds taught writing workshops at the Southwest Writers Conference in Flagstaff. Later in her career, Phyllis was a writing consultant for writers.
Most of the collection consists of manuscripts of various works by Phyllis and Weldon Heald. Also within the collection are articles, clippings, and miscellaneous materials about the Healds and other topics. The majority of the photographs were taken by the Healds during their travels throughout the Southwest. Other images were made by Stephan Blake, Manley photography, the Las Vegas News Bureau, or are reproductions from various historical societies. The photographs are of outdoor scenes taken throughout the Southwest.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS359.xml
Melvin Hecht Papers (MS 714) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/melvin-hecht-papers
The Melvin Hecht papers contain his professional research from 1950-1982. Included are research notes, newspaper clippings, maps, and photographic material focusing on the geography of southern Arizona, most of which was created during his time as a geography professor at the University of Arizona.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS714.xml
Paul S. Martin Papers (MS 442) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/paul-s-martin-papers
Paul Schultz Martin, a Pennsylvania native,earned a Ph.D. in Zoology in 1956 from University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. His early career aspiration to focus on collecting and studying plant and fossil specimens from tropical rainforests was cut short when he contracted polio at age 23 while in Mexico. He conducted postdoctoral research in Biogeography at Yale University from 1955-1956 and then at Université de Montreal from 1956-1957. In 1957, he moved to Tucson to accept a position as a Research Associate with University of Arizona’s Geochronology Laboratories. He held the position of Professor in the Department of Geosciences from 1968 until 1989 when he was named Emeritus Professor. He remained an active researcher and vital part of the Tumamoc Hill Desert Laboratory for more than 50 years.
Dr. Martin is well-known as a primary developer and leading expert on the subject of prehistoric overkill, a pattern of global extinction over the last 40,000 years which coincided with human colonization spreading out of Africa and Asia. His theories have been the subject of much debate since the 1960’s and have helped rejuvenate interest in the study of prehistoric extinctions. His fossil research led him to develop extinction models based on human activity as the main cause of the rapid extinctions of large animals such as the mammoth, mastodon and giant ground sloth. In addition, Dr. Martin conducted research about Pleistocene biotic changes in arid regions.
Dr. Martin is the author of numerous books and articles, including The Last 10,000 Years: A Fossil Pollen Study of the American Southwest, Pleistocene Extinctions: The Search for a Cause, and Twilight of the Mammoths. His research gave him a unique, long range perspective on the mechanisms and impact of species extinction and environmental destruction. His dedication to ecological and social issues is reflected in his involvement with various efforts to protect endangered flora and fauna of the Southwest from potential human destruction.
This collection contains correspondence, research files, publication files, newspaper clippings and scrapbooks. The numerous boxes of correspondence files contain letters both written and received by Dr. Martin during of his professional career (principally covers the years 1975-1990). This material includes correspondence with various scientists, researchers, publishers, students and others. It includes research files consisting of varied material gathered in the course of scientific and professional research. Also contains copies of Dr. Martin’s National Science Foundation grant proposals, data on Southwestern fauna, efforts to stop the controversial construction of a telescope on Mount Graham, as well as other articles and newspaper clippings about varied topics.
The collection also includes records detailing data collected by Dr. Martin after the spraying of Agent Orange on the town of Globe, Arizona in 1969. The publication files contain copies of articles written by Dr. Martin over the course of his career, spanning from 1951-2006. The publication files also contain copies of reviews of Dr. Martin’s published works from various sources. The next series compiles newspaper clippings written about Dr. Paul S. Martin and his research during the years 1959-2000. The following series focuses on the Tumamoc Hill Desert Laboratory. Materials about flora and fauna of Tumamoc Hill are also present. Articles and photographs describing the history of Tumamoc Hill Desert Lab form another part of this series. Lastly, the various threats to the lab and its continued operation from the 1960’s through the early 2000’s are detailed through collected newspaper clippings. The final series of the collection consists of nine scrapbooks of newspaper clippings collected by Dr. Martin from 1951-1970 which detail political, social and ecological issues of the times.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS442.xml
Willis A. Tingey Papers (AZ 558) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/willis-tingey-papers
Contains mainly documents created by Willis A. Tingey related to land management, area development and irrigation on the Navajo and Hopi Indian Reservations, Arizona and New Mexico.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ558.xml
Dr. Cullen’s Practice of Physics, October 30, 1771 (MS 076)
Scottish physician and professor of medicine and chemistry at the universities in Glasgow and Edinburgh; regarded as the father of graphic chain formulas.
One volume of handwritten lecture notes dated Oct. 30, 1771, addressed to medical students: the introductory sentence reads, "Gentlemen, I come here to deliver a course of Lectures on the Practice of Physic upon that part of our studies for which all the others are intended . . ." The entire text is written in one clear hand. The basic framework is a description of each disease and its symptoms, apparently a recounting of Cullen's earlier published work on the subject, Methodical Nosology, 1769. Following each description is a discussion of the medical treatment for that disease. Interspersed throughout are observations of specific patients, reports and opinions of colleagues, and Cullen's conclusions regarding etiology.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS076.xml
Formularium Medicamentorum (MS 127) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/formularium-medicamentorum
Bound manuscript containing medical formulas and remedies used in the late 18th century. Major categories: Ptisanae, Decocta, Potiones, Diluentes, Emulciones, Eclegmata sive lohoc, Detergentes, Purgantia et Laxantia, Hemetica, Pulveras, Opiata, Boli, Pilulae, Linimenta sive uncturae, Supositoria, Enemata, Gargarismata, Fotus, Epithema, and Cataplasmata. Under the heading Formulae Chirurgiae are alphabetically listed: Aquae, Balsama, Cataplasmata, Coliria, Digestiva, Decoctum, Emplastra, Fotus seu fomenta, Gargarismata, Injectiones, Linimenta, Pila, Pulveres, Unguenta, and Vina. Final categories encompass the following sections: Pro curatione ivis venereae, gonorrheae, et scorbutic; Bolus hipnoticus ad salivationem; and Bolus Diaphoreticus ad ptialismum. At the end, in the same hand, is a thorough index with each item's page number, an ornate decoration with the word "Finis," and a colophon.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS127.xml
Dr. Hugh H. Smith Collection http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/hugh-h-smith-md-collection
Medical books were given to the University of Arizona Library in 1958 by Hugh H. Smith, M.D., Research Professor of Microbiology and Medical Technology. The collection was transferred to the College of Medicine Library in the summer of 1969. The works date from the 17th to the 20th century and include such classics as a 1625 Celsus De re medica, a 1627 Hippocrates Aphorismi, a 1695 Sydenham Praxis medica experimentalis, and a 1765 Fracastoro Della sifilide. Eighteenth and 19th century works are rich in representation of medical progress in Scotland, England, and America. Twentieth century works show Dr. Smith's continuing interest in both history and public health, and include such items as Welch's Papers and addresses (1920), Blogg's Bibliography of Osler's writings (1921), and Viswanathan's The conquest of malaria in India (1958).
History of Medicine in Territorial Arizona (AZ 118)
Frances E. Quebbeman was a Navy nurse and director of nursing at the Great Lakes Naval Training Station Hospital. Photocopy of typescript of original draft. Based on the author's Ph.D. dissertation, University of Arizona, 1966.
Persons in Arizona Medical History
Persons in Arizona Medical History is a compilation of nearly 4,000 persons with a connection to the history of medicine in Arizona or, in some cases, to other areas of the American Southwest and border region. Most of the persons lived sometime between the mid-1800s and the end of the 20th century, although here too there are some exceptions. Many were physicians or other health care professionals, but individuals in other professions and occupations with connections to Arizona’s medical history appear as well.
Pima County Medical Society Minutes (MS 700)
Spanning half a century, this collection begins during the Arizona Territorial period and continues through the era of the polio epidemic, the Korean War and the birth of television.The minutes of the Pima County Medical Society offer a detailed look into a broad range of medical, social, political and professional issues. Please see the Arizona Health Sciences website for a custom search tool. Related collection: Pima County Medical Society Minutes, 1974-1994 (HS WB 1 AA7.1 P6 P644a ).
Online Exhibit: https://azmemory.azlibrary.gov/digital/collection/pcmsmin
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS700.xml
Prescriptions for Health, Pima County Medical Society
Originally a radio program (1980-1990), Prescription for Health also became a cable television program created by the Pima County Medical Society (PCMS). This public access program focused on providing in-depth medical information on a broad range of topics of interest to the general public. At least 284 episodes (and perhaps as many as 320) were produced from 1983 to 1997.
Online Exhibit: https://azmemory.azlibrary.gov/digital/collection/ahslrx
Collection Guide: http://ahsl.arizona.edu/spec-coll/pcms-pfh
Southern Arizona Biomedical Librarians Records (MS 691)
Southern Arizona Biomedical Librarians (SABL) is an organization open to all persons interested in biomedical information or health science libraries. Its beginnings date back to an informal organizational meeting held on September 30, 1981. The objectives of the organization, as delineated in its July 2011 bylaws are 1) to facilitate communication and cooperation among its members, 2) to encourage and promote the utilization and sharing of health sciences library resources, 3) to promote continuing education of its members, 4) to cooperate with organizations that have similar or allied interests, and 5) to mentor individuals interested in entering the profession. Formerly collection number HT 0021.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS691.xml
Tucson-Arizona Sanatorium Records (AZ 323)
Articles of incorporation; by-laws; minutes of organization meeting, June 8, 1914, and final meeting, May 31, 1918; letter from Arizona Corporation Commission, August 1918.
Records of the Tucson Clinic (MS 343) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/records-tucson-clinic
The Tucson Medical and Surgical Clinic first filed articles of incorporation on July 27, 1927. During the 1950’s and 1960’s the company began a business relationship with the Tucson Clinic, essentially a spin-off corporation, which was officially incorporated in March 1963. These papers document the formation and growth of the corporation from 1953-1985, until its sale in 1986 to the Thomas Davis Clinic. Photographic materials are also included in the collection, with some overlap with the activities of the Thomas Davis Clinic.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS343.xml
Correspondence of the Arizona State Nurses Association (AZ 399)
Letters to and from various officers of the association regarding finances, membership, meetings. Also requests for information about employment and nursing conditions in Arizona
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ399.xml
Dr. Orville Harry Brown, MD. Paper http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/orville-harry-brown-md-collection
History of Arizona medicine; collections of Orville Harry Brown, M.D. Twelve volumes of correspondence, notes, articles, printed matter and other papers compiled by Orville Harry Brown, MD (1875-1943) related mainly to the history of Arizona medicine and medical practitioners of the Territory and State of Arizona.
Dr. Frederick J. Margolis Photographs (MS 693) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/frederick-j-margolis-photographs
This collection contains digital file images of color photographs taken (mostly) by Dr. Margolis between 1954-1956 in and around Fort Defiance, Arizona and in other locations in northern Arizona and northern New Mexico. The original photographic prints are not held in this collection; the PowerPoint is the source record from which digital file images are collected. Individual image files (JPEG format) were extracted from the PowerPoint and converted into TIFF-formatted files which are available upon request. To facilitate previewing, black and white PDF print surrogates are also included. Several publications highlighting the work of Dr. Margolis have also been included. Formerly collection number HT 0023.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS693.xml
Dr. Errol Wayne Palmer, Sr. Papers (MS 688) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/errol-payne-palmer-sr-papers
This collection contains materials which represent different facets of Dr. Palmer’s long and illustrious career in Phoenix, Arizona. This collection consists primarily of correspondence, speeches, writings and publications, and newspaper clippings. Formerly collection number HT 004.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS688.xml
Poison Register (AZ 433) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/poison-register
Holograph register; lists kind of poison, intended use, purchasers and pharmacist.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ433.xml
Arizona Health Sciences Center Office of Public Affairs Records (MS 703)
Contains mostly photographs from the Office of Public Affairs at the Arizona Health Sciences Center. Includes materials related to the founders, construction, faculty and students of the College of Medicine, outreach and public relations of the University Medical Center (UMC), and materials related to the College of Nursing, Diamond Children's Hospital, community events and services, and the January 8th, 2011 tragedy.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS703.xml
University of Arizona College of Medicine Founding Faculty Interviews
Interviews made on the occasion of the University of Arizona College of Medicine's 40th Anniversary in 2007. Also includes photographs from the occasion and historic video footage.
University of Arizona, College of Medicine W 19 AA7 S433 1975
A collection of over 4,600 items (newspaper clippings predominantly) in four oversize volumes, chronicling events leading up to the founding of Arizona's first medical school and also its early history, 1957-1975. Detailed index available.
Max Lee Morrison Boone Papers (MS 701)
Papers of medical doctor and physicist Max L.M. Boone, MD, PhD (May 23, 1931 - November 17, 1996). One of the founders of the University of Arizona Cancer Center. Includes professional research, publications, abstracts, correspondence and associated photographs and figures.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS701.xml
Merlin Kearfott Duval Papers (MS 689)
This collection contains materials which span DuVal’s career beginning with the planning of the UA’s College of Medicine and continuing throughout the rest of his professional life and into his retirement and it is especially rich in materials dating from his time as HEW’s Assistant Secretary for Health (1971-1973). Formerly collection number HT 0008.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS689.xml
Arthur Jerome Papers (MS 707)
Biographical information related to Arthur Jerome Present, MD, Professor Emeritus of Radiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine. Includes articles, awards, plaques, and photographs. Formerly collection number HT006.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS707.xml
Dr. Jack Malcolm Layton Papers (MS 692)
Dr. Jack Malcolm Layton was a founding faculty member of the University of Arizona College of Medicine and was the first department head hired to the College of Medicine. On May 1, 1967 he became Professor and Head of the Department of Pathology and served in those capacities for 20 years. He was also Director of Clinical Pathology for the university’s hospital and from July 1, 1971 until early 1973 served as Acting Dean of the College of Medicine and Acting Director of the UA’s Arizona Medical Center while the founding dean, Merlin K. DuVal, served as Assistant Secretary of Health in the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare. This collection consists primarily of documents relating to the early history of the UA College of Medicine including its Department of Pathology, Layton’s Acting Deanship, and the Medical Service Plan and other clinical faculty matters. It also includes information about Layton’s career before he came to the UA, information about his professional society contributions, honors and awards he received, various presentations he made and it also includes some photographs. Formerly collection number HT 0022.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS692.xml
Dr. Augusto Ortiz Papers (MS 694) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/augusto-ortiz-papers
Dr. Augusto Ortiz lived and worked in Arizona most of his professional life from 1953 until his death in 2006. Throughout his career as a family practitioner and educator he worked to bring health care to the poor and underserved. In his earlier years he worked in private practice in the Phoenix area primarily serving a needy Hispanic population. In 1972 Dr. Ortiz moved to Tucson and established a mobile health program based out of the University of Arizona’s Rural Health Office which provided health care to many rural and underserved areas in southeastern Arizona. Areas of particular interest to him included community oriented primary care, migrant laborer health care, health education and folk medicine including herbal folk remedies and curanderismo. This collection contains Ortiz correspondence from over a 35-year period (1969-2004) as well as documents corresponding to each of the topics mentioned above including extensive documentation relating to the Mobile Health Program. The collection also includes Dr. Ortiz’s U.S. Surgeon General Medallion. Formerly collection number HT 0025.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS694.xml
Dr. Oscar Andreas Thorup Jr. Papers (MS 690) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/oscar-andreas-thorup-jr-papers
Dr. Thorup was at the UA College of Medicine from 1966 to 1974 where he served as a founding faculty member and established the college’s Department of Internal Medicine. The collection contains correspondence, annual reviews, reports, plans, and proposals relating to the early years of University of Arizona College of Medicine. Topics range from facilities planning and construction, curriculum, faculty promotion and tenure, clinical issues and hospital administrative matters. This collection was previously HT 0017.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS690.xml
Arizona Health Sciences Frankenstein Exhibit Records (MS 713)
Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature : A Traveling Exhibition to America's Libraries was an exhibit developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine in collaboration with the American Library Association. It was made possible by major grants from The National Endowment for the Humanities, Washington, D.C., and the National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, Md. The traveling exhibition was based upon a major exhibition produced by the National Library of Medicine in 1997-1998. [excerpted from the ALA Site Support Notebook, p.2.] AHSL staff information manual pertaining to the exhibit, exhibit planning notes, publicity materials, guestbook, notes, transcripts of introductions and a presentation, posters, budget and expenditures information, final report.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS713.xml
Library Faculty Assembly Records of the University of Arizona Health Sciences Library (MS 708) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/library-faculty-assembly-records-university-arizona-health-sciences-library
The bulk of the collection consists of records of the University of Arizona Health Sciences Library's library faculty governance body called the Library Faculty Assembly (LFA). The records consist primarily of agenda, minutes and other LFA documents dating from 1978 to 2015. In addition, there are several folders pertaining to the faculty status of University of Arizona librarians mostly dating from 1969 to 1983 and 1987 to 1989. Formerly collection number HT 0009.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS708.xml
Louis J. Battan Papers (MS 682) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/louis-j-battan-papers
Well-known for research on radar meteorology and cloud physics, Dr. Battan was a scientist who worked for the U.S. Air Force in World War Two, the Weather Bureau at the University of Chicago, and finally as a professor and head of the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Arizona. He was an authority on weather modification in both the U.S. and the Soviet Union. This collection contains research, data, publications, manuscripts, and correspondence of Battan's from 1946-1986. Subjects include weather modification, cloud physics, radar meteorology, the Thunderstorm Project, the Arizona Cloud Seeding Project, backscattering experiments, and scientific organizations related to those fields. Papers relating to conferences, meetings, lectures, and committee notes for various weather-related scientific organizations make up a large portion of the collection.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS682.xml
James Rodney Hastings Papers (MS 716) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/james-rodney-hastings-papers
Correspondence, newspaper clippings, articles, unpublished writings, photographs, and documents relating to James Rodney Hasting's life. Covering his academic work, his time as a history teacher, a university meteorology professor, and his brief political career as the mayor of Hastings, along with some of his personal documents, the collection spans 1923-2000, with the bulk of the documents spanning 1954-1974.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS716.xml
National Weather Service Office, Surface Weather Observations at The National Weather Service Office, Tucson International Airport (MS 302) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/national-weather-service-office-surface-weather-observations-national-weather-service
Carbon copy logs of the National Weather Service's hourly surface weather observations. Each month's observations are preceded by local data reports, summarizing the daily observations. Data include temperature, precipitation, wind, sunshine, humidity, pressure, dew point, cloud cover, and visibility.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS302.xml
The Papers of Frank Bené (386) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-frank-bene
Frank Bene was born June 11, 1905 in Isaszeg, Hungary and came to the U.S. just over a year later. His family settled in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania where Bené attended grade school and high school. After spending some time out west, he returned to Pennsylvania and graduated with honors from Lehigh University in 1933, and eventually received a Masters degree in Education from the same institution. In June 1933, he was married to Katharine Johnson. Bené worked as an instructor in social studies in the Adult Evening School in Bethlehem for one year and in 1935 was named county supervisor of Americanization in charge of literacy and citizenship for foreign-born residents of Northampton County. For the following four years he taught, published, and worked in the field of citizenship training while pursuing his interest in adult education.
As a result of failing health, Frank Bené moved to Phoenix, Arizona in 1937. It was at this time that a serious interest in ornithology began. Over the next five years, he read, investigated, and wrote a number of articles, particularly short papers for The Condor (1940, 1941, 1945) along with the memoir entitled The Feeding and Related Behavior of Hummingbirds, which won the Walker Prize of the Boston Society of Natural History in 1942.
An improvement in health permitted Frank to teach science for a year in New Jersey. In January, 1943, he returned to Arizona and took a faculty position at Arizona State Teachers College in Tempe, instructing U.S. Army cadets at the Pre-Flight School. However, the inadequately diagnosed tubercular illness Frank suffered from became increasingly acute and he resigned his position in October and died in Phoenix on December 18, 1943.
This collection consists chiefly of biographical materials, photographs, published works, and research materials relating to observations and writings on hummingbirds in Arizona. The collection includes a box of envelopes of photographs and negatives of hummingbirds.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS386.xml
Papers of William Davis (MS 375) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-william-davis
Dr. William A. Davis (1908-1999) was an accomplished physician and avid birdwatcher. During World War II, he was awarded the Order of the British Empire for his service and was one of the first outside doctors to witness the conditions in the German concentration camps. After the war, he worked in the Veterans Administration Hospital in Grand Junction, Colorado. In 1972 Dr. Davis was transferred to Tucson, Arizona to set up a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program at the local VA hospital. This life member of the American Ornithologists' Union retired from medicine in 1975 and began his studies of bird distribution. His interest in the interrelationships between birds and their habitats and migration patterns is vividly apparent in his collection of papers.
Dr. Davis was a very active member of the Tucson Audubon Society. In addition to serving as president from 1976-1979, He served as a field trip leader, speaker, committee chairman, newsletter columnist and vice president. He worked with Dr. Stephen Russell, another committed member of the society, on several projects including "Checklist of Birds of Southeastern Arizona" and the first (1979), second (1984) and third (1990) editions of Birds of Southeastern Arizona. Profits from this endeavor have gone exclusively to the Tucson Audubon Society. He died in Tucson at the age of 91.
Series I, Journals (1975-1994), contains the accumulated personal notes, correspondence, photographs and newspaper and magazine clippings from 1975-1994. Series II, Birding (1971-1994), contains bird lists and general notes, clippings and references that reflect his personal interests. Series III, Research (1971-1994), contains notes, clippings and photographs of birds of the United States. Series IV, Publications (1969-1994), contains extensive notes and records on Arizona birds. Series IV, Publications (1969-1994), contains extensive notes and records on Arizona birds. Much of this information is derived from personal research was shared with the Tucson Audubon Society. Field notes, published in the society's newsletter, The Vermillion Flycatcher is one source cited. Birds in Western Colorado by Dr. Davis, published in 1969 is included, as is the first (1979), second (1984) and third (1990) editions of Birds of Southeastern Arizona, coauthored by Stephen M. Russell and published by the Tucson Audubon Society. Series V, Tucson Audubon Society, contains the agendas, committee reports and minutes of the Board of Directors meetings of the society (1983-1985). September 1983 and August 1984 include reference to the publication and sales of Birds of Southeastern Arizona.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS375.xml
Willis E. Lamb Jr. Papers (MS 636) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/willis-e-lamb-jr-papers
Personal and professional papers of Nobel laureate Willis Lamb including publications, correspondence, research materials, memorabilia and extensive digital assets, mostly on obsolete media relating to a computational physics project.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS636.xml
James E. McDonald Papers (MS 412) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/james-e-mcdonald-papers
James E. McDonald (1920-1971) was Associate Director at the University of Arizona's Institute of Atmospheric Physics from 1954 until 1956, and professor until his death in 1971. His areas of research included cloud physics, weather modification, and micrometeorology. He was the author of Physics of Cloud Modification, in the fifth volume of Advances in Geophysics. His scientific interests also led him to contribute writings and testimony to contemporary issues of his time such as the supersonic transport debates, placement of Titan II missiles around the Tucson basin, and scientific dismissal of unidentified flying objects. His hypothesis that UFOs were extraterrestrial instruments on information gathering missions, and his beliefs that current scientific reports, such as the Condon Report, were superficially done, led him to investigate sightings and combat governmental impediments into his research topics.
Papers, 1904-1997 (bulk 1958-1971). Mostly correspondence, cases, reports, interviews, and printed materials relating to James E. McDonald's investigations, 1958 to 1971, into unidentified flying objects and similar sightings, and governmental investigations, responses and reports. Contains photocopies of approximately 580 Project Blue Book sighting reports, mostly by pilots, and some with airborne and ground radar verification. Also includes four handwritten journals, 1958-1971, describing UFO investigative activity; papers and talks, 1966-1977, given before conferences, symposia, and groups; research materials, including his 1967 trip to Australia and New Zealand; a referenced outline of an unpublished book; over 80 audio-tapes of interviews, talks, and conversations on UFO topics; photographic materials on various subjects; and supplemental materials.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS412.xml
The Papers of Pierre LeComte Du Noüy (MS 174) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/papers-pierre-lecomte-du-noüy
Pierre Lecomte du Noüy was a French bio-physicist and philosopher. He was a lieutenant in World War I and joined the Rockefeller Institute in New York. He created the first laboratory of molecular bio-physics in Europe. Heisenberg's theory of indeterminism, as well as the laws of chance, coupled with years of work on living matter by means of physical methods, had convinced him that life and the steady progress of evolution cannot be accounted for by modern physical laws and that materialism can no longer be based on science. In 1944 the University of Lausanne awarded him the Arnold Raymond prize for the most valuable contribution to the philosophy of science. La Dignité Humaine developed some of the ideas in his first two books and stressed moral and spiritual conclusions
Lecomte de Noüy's scientific work can be classed in four principal groups: 1) Cicatrization of wounds--He established the mathematical formula based to calculate beforehand the exact date of cicatrizatiuon. 2) Absorption phenomena of surface tension--The tensiometer enabled him to provide evidence of the existence of monomolecular layers which in turn disclosed three minima in the surface tension of sodium oleate and enabled him to calculate the three dimensions of the molecule. 3) Physico-chemical characteristics of Immunity--The study of thin layers of serum on water led to the discovery of a physico-chemical phenomenon not due to immunization and showed that the serum is constituted of asymmetric prismatic molecules capable of being polarized in monomolecular layers. 4)Experiments made by heating serum at a temperature above 55 degrees Celcius. Showed an increase in surface tension, viscosity, rotatory power, rotatory dispersion, etc.
This collection includes Scientific manuscripts, lectures, articles and lab manuals relate to Lecomte de Noüy's research in biophysics. His writings, correspondence and articles provide information about Lecomte de Noüy's association with the American USO from 1944-1945. His plays and short stories appear to have been written from 1902-1914. Photographs are of Lecomte, his laboratory, and his family. Some materials are in French.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS174.xml
Papers Relating To The Conference On the Use of Solar Energy: The Scientific Basis (AZ 330)
The Association for Applied Solar Energy (AFASE), an organization created by industrial, financial, and agricultural leaders from Arizona, sponsored a two-part meeting in Arizona to bring attention to the issues of solar energy. The first part of the meeting was the Conference on the Use of Solar Energy: the Scientific Basis, held at the University of Arizona in October of 1955. This was followed by the World Symposium on Applied Solar Energy, held in Phoenix in November of 1955. Scientists and engineers from 36 countries attended these meetings. Additionally, the Solar Furnace Symposium of 1957 was held in Phoenix.
Administrative correspondence and related material regarding the planning and execution of the conference, including participants, registration, guests, program, finances, publicity, exhibits, preprints, and publication of reports and papers. In addition material dealing with the World Symposium on Applied Solar Energy held in Phoenix, Ariz., immediately following the conference, and the Solar Furnace Symposium of 1957, also held in Phoenix.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAAZ330.xml
Gale Monson Papers (MS 540) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/gale-monson-papers
Collection includes biographical materials, correspondence, journals, publications, research materials, and bird records, relating to his career in wildlife management from 1934-1969.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS540.xml
The Photographs of Laurence M. Huey (MS 241) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/photographs-laurence-m-huey
Laurence M. Huey (d. 1963) was the Curator of Birds and Mammals for the San Diego Natural History Museum from 1922 to 1962. This collection of photographs was taken during that period of time.
Chiefly black and white photographs taken from 1922-1962 on field trips throughout Arizona, California, and Baja California. Other states are represented in smaller numbers, as are Argentina, Canada, and Costa Rica. The main subjects are birds and mammals in their natural environments, but many photographs also document the field expedition, local inhabitants, notably the Seri Indians, and the vegetation. Typescripts of articles Huey wrote on various topics are also present, as is a monograph he wrote for the Transactions of the San Diego Society of Natural History, titled The Mammals of Baja California, Mexico. Photographs are arranged by geographic location.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS241.xml
Richard D. Sparks Gorilla Papers (MS 093) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/richard-d-sparks-gorillas-papers
Richard D. Sparks was the treasurer of Sparks Milling Company, Alton, Illinois, and animal rights advocate for gorillas.
Collection is chiefly correspondence between Richard Sparks and a variety of people, mainly from the 1930s, about the proper treatment of gorillas. Of particular concern is the well-being of Ngagi, Mbongo, and Okere, captured by author Martin Johnson in the Belgian Congo, in 1931. Sparks advocates for their scientific study in a zoo rather than becoming a circus sideshow. Chief correspondents are: Mary L. Jobe Akeley, naturalist associated with the American Museum of Natural History; Belle J. Benchley, manager of the Zoological Society of San Diego; and Harold C. Bingham, psychobiologist in the study of gorilla behavior. Other correspondence, magazine articles, and black-and-white photographs are concerned with Congo, a gorilla brought from the Belgian Congo in 1925 by author Ben Burbridge, and studied by Yale University researcher Robert M. Yerkes. Miscellaneous material relates to Carl Akeley's animal sculptures, Theodore Spicer-Simson's medallic art, and other gorillas in captivity.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS093.xml