Pioneers of Planetary Science http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/pioneers-planetary-science
This collection is comprised of the professional papers of Michael J. Drake. The bulk of the material relates to his career as a researcher and professor in geochemistry, planetary sciences, and meteoritics at the University of Arizona. The majority of this collection predates 1994 when Dr. Drake became the director of the Lunar Planetary Laboratory and head of the Department of Planetary Sciences. The largest series is the publications which is divided into four subseries; presentations, articles, books chapters, and general. Other items in the collection are his personal files, correspondences, proposals and grants, professional services, and a subject file.
Tom Gerhels Papers (MS 541) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/tom-gehrels-papers
Papers 1894-2010 (bulk 1960-2000). This collection consists of the professional and some personal papers of Tom Gerhels. The bulk of the material consists of his correspondence with other astronomers, scientists, state and federal politicians. There are also scholarly files, research files, and personal interest files. Almost all amassed during his fifty - year career at the Lunar Planetary Laboratory and the Department of Planetary Sciences, University of Arizona. Other items in the collection are environmental files, travel files, instructional files, newspaper clippings, photographs, slides, film, computer disks and CDs.
Collection Guide: http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/tom-gehrels-papers
Donald M. Hunten Papers (MS 578) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/donald-m-hunten-papers
Don Hunten was a major contributor to the unmanned space program. He was very involved in the planning and implementation of many of the NASA planetary missions including Pioneer, Venus, Voyager, Galileo and Cassini. The bulk of this collection consists of 25 notebooks. The majority are related to his career as an astronomical researcher at the University Saskatchewan, Kitt Peak Observatory and the University of Arizona. Other items in the collection are correspondence, photographs, computer disks and CD’s.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS578.xml
Gerard P. Kuiper Papers (MS 480) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/gerard-p-kuiper-paperser
Gerard P. Kuiper (1905-1973) is considered by many as the father of modern planetary science. In 1960 Kuiper established the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory (LPL), first as part of the Institute of Atmospheric Physics and later as a separate unit at the University of Arizona. In his years at LPL Kuiper established a group of telescopes in the Santa Catalina Mountains above Tucson; made balloon spectroscopic observations of the Earth’s atmosphere; and conducted observatory site surveys in Hawaii, Mexico, and California. He also studied the atmosphere of Saturn’s moon Titan in 1944, the carbon dioxide atmosphere of Mars in 1948, Uranus’s satellite Miranda in 1948, and Neptune’s satellite Nereid in 1949. The Gerard P. Kuiper Papers are comprised of the personal and professional papers of astronomer Gerard P. Kuiper. The bulk of the material relates to his careers as an astronomical researcher and administrator at the Yerkes Observatory (University of Chicago), McDonald Observatory (University of Texas), and the Lunar Planetary Laboratory (University of Arizona). Items included in the collection are correspondence, publications, research material, newspaper clippings and photographs as well as Kuiper's personal experience as a member of the ALSOS Mission following World War II.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS480.xml
Gerard P. Kuiper Digital Collection: https://content.library.arizona.edu/digital/collection/p16127coll13
Lunar Planetary Lab (LPL) Collection (MS 674) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/lunar-and-planetary-laboratory-collection
The Lunar and Planetary Laboratory (LPL) was founded in 1960 by astronomer Gerard P. Kuiper at the University of Arizona in Tucson. Contains correspondence, documents, photographs, maps and reports related to its founding and work performed by LPL scientists over time. Individuals represented include: Leif Andersson, Robert Strom, Gerard P. Kuiper, Harold Urey and others. Subjects include Mauna Kea Observatory the dedication of the Space Sciences building, and various lunar missions.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS674.xml
Robert S. McMillan Radial Velocity Papers (MS 668) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/robert-mcmillan-radial-velocity-papers
Robert S. McMillan materials document the Radial Velocity Project of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. The project developed and used a spectrometer to detect the reflex Doppler shift of solar-type stars orbited by Jupiter-sized planets. Observation log books, grant materials, research files, instruments, photographs, and compact disks.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS668.xml
OSIRUS REx Mission Records (MS 698) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/osiris-rex-mission-records
Records of the OSIRIS-REx next hit Asteroid Sample Return Mission. A NASA mission led by Primary Investigator Dante Lauretta of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory in collaboration with Goddard Space Flight Center and Lockheed Martin. Born-digital collection with online access through the University of Arizona Libraries Campus Repository. Included in the collection are mission notes and summaries from the OSIRIS-REx next hit Mission Information Wiki page. Collection is currently ongoing with materials deposited in the Campus Repository.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS698.xml
Elizabeth Roemer Papers (MS 664) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/elizabeth-roemer-papers
Papers of astronomer Elizabeth Roemer (1929-2016), specialist in astrometry of comets, asteroids, and minor planets, and Professor Emeritus of the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory, Department of Planetary Science and Steward Observatory. Includes research materials, correspondence, project files, notes, clippings, ephemera and publications related to her scientific research, teaching, and extensive committee work including the University of Arizona Faculty Senate.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS664.xml
Krzysztof M. Serkowski Papers (MS 669) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/krzysztof-m-serkowski-papers
Papers of Krzysztof M. Serkowski, Research Professor in the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory at the University of Arizona and Astronomer at the Steward Observatory. Includes biographical materials, unpublished essays, and eight observation logs and lab notebooks.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS669.xml
Peter Hollingsworth Smith Papers (MS 605) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/peter-hollingsworth-smith-papers
Professional papers of Peter Hollingsworth Smith, Professor Emeritus, University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. The collection predominantly documents the development of scientific instruments and the project management of missions to the planet Mars including Pathfinder, the Mars Surveyor Program and the Phoenix Mars Mission. The papers include extensive research materials, data, correspondence, publications, grant proposals, workshops and conferences, education and public outreach activities and media coverage.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS605.xml
Charles P. Sonett Papers (MS 520) https://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/charles-p-sonett-papers
This collection is comprised of the personal and professional papers of nuclear physicist Charles P. Sonett. The bulk of the material relates to his career as an astronomical researcher and administrator at the Department of Planetary Sciences and the Lunar Planetary Laboratory, University of Arizona.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS520.xml
Visible and Infrared Mapping Spectrometer (VIMS) Cassini Orbiter Instrument Records (MS 706)
Records of the Science Team for the Visible and Infrared Mapping Spectrometer (VIMS) instrument on the Cassini Orbiter of the Cassini-Huygens space research mission run by NASA and international collaborators. Includes records related to the Comet Rendezvous Asteroid Flyby Mission (CRAF) sister mission which was cancelled in the early 1990s. Includes correspondence, documents, reports, instrument design and calibration specifications and some publications and graphics.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS706.xml
Ewen Whitaker Papers (MS 662) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/ewen-whitaker-papers
Papers of astronomer Ewen Whitaker (1922-2016), expert on the geography of the moon (selenography). Contains correspondence, project files, extensive photographs and maps, and other materials related to NASA lunar missions (Ranger, Apollo, Surveyor, Lunar Orbiter), selenographic studies, lunar nomenclature and his professional career at the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory working with founder Gerard P. Kuiper.
Collection Guide: http://www.azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS662.xml
Wieslaw Z. Wisniewski Papers (MS 546) http://speccoll.library.arizona.edu/collections/wieslaw-z-wisniewski-papers
The Wieslaw Z. Wisniewski Papers document the University of Arizona Lunar and Planetary Laboratory astronomer's research in the field of comets, stars, extra-galactic objects, and asteroids. This collection includes observational findings, research, and correspondence related to his research endeavors. The bulk of his research focused on near-Earth objects, especially asteroids.
Collection Guide: http://azarchivesonline.org/xtf/view?docId=ead/uoa/UAMS546.xml