Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Responding to COVID-19: You can chat and email with us daily! Mon-Thu 7am-7pm, Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 11am-6pm, and Sun 1pm-6pm. But due to COVID-19, all University Libraries buildings are currently closed, and we're not accepting any new hold/pickup or scanning requests for physical items. See details on library changes and support.

SIE 472/572 Information Security and Research (INSuRE)

National Inst. of Standards & Technology

NIST has an Applied Cybersecurity Division."We implement practical cybersecurity and privacy through outreach and effective application of standards and best practices necessary for the U.S. to adopt cybersecurity capabilities."

Reference materials

The quickest way to get acquainted across all areas of engineering is Knovel. It provides handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and numeric property and substance data in interactive tables.

Knovel   Find engineering technical reference tools and cybersecurity content

Engineering Handbooks:Cybersecurity

A collection or print and online engineering handbooks available at the UA Libraries.

Engineering Librarian

Paula C Johnson's picture
Paula C Johnson
Contact:
Main Library A403
520-621-9862
Subjects:Engineering

Technical Standards

Students, faculty, and staff have full access to the ASTM and IEEE standards databases. The Global IHS database can be searched to find other current standards. Any standard that is needed for a class project or research can be acquired for UA faculty, staff, or students by contacting Paula Johnson for assistance. Please send the standard number, title and any other useful information to pcjohnson@arizona.edu.

Want learn more about Standards? This tutorial will help!

Technical Reports

"A technical report (also scientific report) is a document that describes the process, progress, or results of technical or scientific research or the state of a technical or scientific research problem. It might also include recommendations and conclusions of the research. Unlike other scientific literature, such as scientific journals and the proceedings of some academic conferences, technical reports rarely undergo comprehensive independent peer review before publication. They may be considered grey literature. Where there is a review process, it is often limited to within the originating organization. Similarly, there are no formal publishing procedures for such reports, except where established locally." - from Wikipedia

Science.gov
Includes 200 million pages of science information and R&D results for 36+ U.S. government agencies

Here is an example of a cybersecurity Technical Report produced by Sandia National Laboratories. It is titled The Cyber Defense (CyDef) Model. Abstract follows: Cybersecurity is essential to maintaining operations, and is now a de facto cost of business. Despite this, there is little consensus on how to systematically make decisions about cyber countermeasures investments. Identifying gaps and determining the expected return on investment (ROI) of adding a new cybersecurity countermeasure is frequently a hand-waving exercise at best. Worse, cybersecurity nomenclature is murky and frequently over-loaded, which further complicates issues by inhibiting clear communication. This paper presents a series of foundational models and nomenclature for discussing cybersecurity countermeasures, and then introduces the Cyber Defense (CyDef) model, which provides a systematic and intuitive way for decision-makers to effectively communicate with operations and device experts.
for Assessing Countermeasure Capabilities

WorldWideScience.org
Also includes the information within Science.gov (listed above) and is a gateway to national and international scientific databases. You can search resources from 17 countries

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
Has detailed historical reports that include materials data, mathematical functions, time series, diffraction patterns, measurements, and much more. The data provided are from direct measurements.