LibGuides: U.S. Mexico Border Studies: Exploring the Borderlands

Jen Church-Duran

Jennifer Church-Duran

she, her

Contact:

jchurchduran@arizona.edu

News & Media

Browse through the following repositories for topics, information and key issues

CQ Researcher: Reports explore a single issue in the news in depth each week. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Borderlands (University of Texas at El Paso): Includes links to primary source collections, academic programs, non-governmental and human rights organizations and much more.

Huffington Post: U.S.-Mexico Border: News reporting and editorials related to U.S.-Mexico border issues.

Los Angeles Times: Mexico's Drug War: Collection of articles on Mexico's drug war.

Newspapers

Ethnic Newswatch: Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses from 1960 to the present
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press: Find articles from newspapers and magazines in this digital collection that documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980: Find hundreds of fully digitized Spanish-language and bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the United States from 1808-1980. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" directed by Professor Nicolas Kanellos.
Access World News Find articles from local (Arizona Daily Star), national, and international newspapers, and news transcripts and video clips. Date coverage varies by news source.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by John H. Moore
ISBN: 9780028660202
Publication Date: 2007-11-12
The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism is the first such work examining the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. The set delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields. The set includes biographies of dozens of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. The Encyclopedia of Race and Racism also includes a carefully chosen selection of primary documents that enhance and reinforce the content of the articles. Set includes a thematic outline, a filmography, and a comprehensive general index.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements by Suzanne Oboler; Deena J. Gonzáles
ISBN: 9780199744619
Publication Date: 2015-10-07
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements (OEPoL) provides a comprehensive source of information on the diverse historical and contemporary experiences of Latinos and Latinas in the United States. Incorporating key material from theacclaimed four-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States (OUP, 2005), this ground-breaking publication addresses the significant ways in which the Latino and Latina populations have shaped the political, legal, and social institutions of the United States, with new andupdated scholarship on political movements and organizations, important legal cases, minority-rights laws, and immigration legislation. The two-volume OEPoL contains over 450 topical entries written by key academics, intellectuals, and scholars. The articles range from expansive survey essays, to biographies that document the lives of important individuals in Latino and Latina history, to interdisciplinary entries focused onessential themes and issues. Supplemented by over 50 images and a bibliography of suggested readings for each entry, OEPoL ensures that this timely, increasingly prominent subject receives the reference coverage it deserves.