Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Responding to COVID-19: Due to COVID-19, all University Libraries locations are closed. You can chat and email with us Monday through Thursday 7am-7pm, Friday 7am-6pm, Saturday 11am-6pm, and Sunday 1pm-6pm. We are not currently accepting any new hold/pickup or scanning requests for physical items. See details on library changes and support.

ASTR 203 - Stars (Fall 2018)

Stars & constellations

Online sources

You can find information about star names, star properties, constellations, and other useful information on the following websites. Make sure to note the website information so you can cite your sources.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
The largest single reference source in astronomy and astrophysics containing more than 2,750 entries. Each main article is signed by its author and is followed by a selected bibliography of further reading. Contains over 3,500 illustrations, charts, tables, figures, and graphs, plus extensive cross-references, and a Name and Subject Index containing over 14,000 entries.

The Constellations and their Stars
From the Washburn Observatory at the University of Wisconsin.

Arabic Star Names
The Muslim Heritage website lists the Arabic names for over 150 stars.

Messier Catalog 
The purpose of these web pages is to provide a complete guide to the 110 objects recognized as the standard Messier catalog. It includes nebulae, star clusters, and galaxies.

Star Tales: Myths, Legends and History of the Constellations 
An expanded web version of Ian Ridpath's "Star Tales", a biography of the constellations from Ptolemaic times to the present. 

Star Names — Their Lore and Meaning
By Richard Hinckley Allen. Originally printed in 1899.

Star Names
"A table of commonly known star names and their definitions in the Western tradition, grouped by constellation." (The Arecibo Observatory).

Stars & Star Catalogues
Provides detailed information about stars: positions, proper motion, radial velocity, magnitudes, spectral class, color index, catalog references, data about multiple star systems (i.e. orbital elements), data about variability (min./max. brightness, period, type of variability) and more. Compiled by Alcyone Software, a German company.

Stars and Star of the Week
Created by Jim Kaler, Prof. Emeritus of Astronomy, University of Illinois. The stars are illustrated by links to photographs of their parent constellations, which are listed below along with their stars arranged by Greek letter name.

 

Print sources

The following is a list of some important reference materials available in the Science Library Reference section (2nd floor south). Use these materials to find more information for your star report.

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
QB 14 .E54 2001 Science Reference
Available online and print

Astronomy and Astrophysics Encyclopedia
Edited by Stephen P. Maran. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1992. QB 14 .A873 1992 Science Reference]

Bright Star Catalogue
By Dorrit Hoffleit and Carlos Jaschek. New Haven, Conn. : Yale University Observatory, 1982. [QB843.B75 B74 1982 Science Reference]

Burnham's Celestial Handbook: an observer's guide to the Universe beyond the solar system
By Robert Burnham. New York : Dover Publications, 1978- . [QB64 .B85 1978 Science Reference]

The Data Book of Astronomy
By Patrick Moore. Bristol: IOP Publishing, 2000. [QB 64 M 623 2000 Science reference]

Field guide to the Stars and Planets
By Jay M. Pasachoff. Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2000 [QB64 .P37 2000 Science-Engineering Library]

Norton's star atlas and reference handbook (epoch 2000.0)
By Arthur P. Norton. New York : Pi Press, c2004. [QB64 .R43 2004 Science Reference]

Sky Catalogue 2000.0
Edited by Alan Hirshfeld, Roger W. Sinnott, and F. Ochsenbein. Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press ; Cambridge, Mass. : Sky Pub. Corp., 1991 . [QB6 .S54 1991 Sci Ref Oversize]

The hundred greatest stars
By James B. Kaler.
New York : Copernicus, c2002
[QB801 .K244 2002 Science stacks
Available online and print

Stories in the stars: an atlas of constellations
Susanna Hislop ; illustrated by Hannah Waldrop [QB65 .H57 2015 Science Stacks]

Starlist 2000
A Quick Reference Star Catalog for Astronomers
by Richard Dibon-Smith. New York: Wiley & sons, 1992. [QB 65 D53 1992 Science Reference]

Universe Guide to Stars and Planets
By Ian Ridpath. New York: Universe Books. [QB 63 R53 1985 Science Reference]

Uranometria 2000.0
By Wil Tirion et al. Richmond, VA : Willmann-Bell, 1987- . [QB65 .T55 1987 Science Reference]