Find books - ARC 498 - Capstone Preparation - LibGuides at University of Arizona

Engineering Librarian & CAPLA Liaison

Required texts for class

How to Write a Thesis
Call Number: LB 2369 .E2813 2015
This 2015 edition includes useful advice on all the steps involved in researching and writing a thesis -- from choosing a topic to organizing a work schedule to writing the final draft.
How Architects Write
Includes resources for how to write a designer's manifesto, statements of design intent, criticism, thesis, proposals, review statements, research reports, specifications, field reports, client communications, post-occupancy evaluations, and more.

Books

Use library search to find materials that are available from the UA Libraries.

Architecture books in the UA Libraries
Most architectural books are located on the 5th floor of the Science-Engineering Library and will fall within the NA call number. Be sure to check the book location in library search.

Urban Planning and Landscape Architecture
Books for the study of urban planning (usually within the HT call number) and landscape architecture (usually within the SB call number) are housed in the Main Library and Science-Engineering Library, respectively.

Archives/Special Collections
The UA Libraries have many special collections and archives available to students. While you can find many of the collections' holdings through library search, many have their own separate catalogs or finding aids. See Special Collections.

Ebooks

Towards a New Architecture
Focuses on the principles, methodologies, approaches, and styles employed in architecture.
Architectural Reflections: Studies in the Philosophy and Practice of Architecture
Essays on the subjects of architectural ethics, philosophy, and practice. Explores the original aims and principles of modern architecture.
The SAGE Handbook of Architectural Theory
This book documents and builds upon some of the most innovative developments in architectural theory over the last two decades. It brings into dialogue a range of geographically, institutionally, and historically competing positions.
Architectural Philosophy
Outlines a philosophical account of architecture and attempts to establish the singularity of architectural practice and theory.
Thinking about Architecture: An Introduction to Architectural Theory
The book is divided into eight chapters, each covering a particular aspect of architecture.
NOTE: The Safari Books Online platform is limited to 20 simultaneous users, so if the ebook isn't available try again later.
Systemic Architecture
Investigates the subject of urban ecology and systemic development from the perspective of architectural design.
Ethics, Design and Planning of the Built Environment
The book proposes a set of original contributions in research areas shared by planning theory, architectural research, design, and ethical inquiry.
Henri Lefebvre on Space: Architecture, Urban Research, and the Production of Theory
The author explores Lefebvre's thoughts on urbanism and its implications for the present day.
The Colours Of ...
Covers color usage by Frank Gehry, Jean Nouvel, Wang Shu, and more.
Constructing a New Agenda: Architectural Theory, 1993-2009
28 essays offer an overview of the myriad approaches and attitudes adopted by architects and architectural theorists during this era. An afterword by preeminent architectural theorist K. Michael Hays reflects on where architectural theory is in 2009 and where it's headed in the future.