American Indian Studies

Find journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering historical research of the United States and Canada from 1964 to the present.

Locate archival materials covering North America and Central America from the 17th to mid-20th century. Includes archival materials from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library.

Find digitized FBI files on the American Indian Movement (AIM), from 1968-1979.

Search and browse fully-digitized American Indian newspapers covering 1828-2016.

Find journal articles and reports from 19th century to the present in anthropology/archaeology and related interdisciplinary fields.

Find articles and book reviews from anthropology journals of the American Anthropological Association.

Find citations to books, articles, and government documents about indigenous peoples of North America, covering the 1500s to the present.

Find information on archaeological traditions from around the world. Each tradition consists of a general summary and documents including books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts.

Find ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Designed to facilitate cross-cultural comparisons.

Illustrated encyclopedia of the the events and issues of American Indian History.

Find unique compiled docket histories with compiled Native Nation's histories with all content related to each Indian claim. The compilation includes court documents, treaty citations, congressional publications, and maps.

Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.

Tutorial

Find bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and more about the health of Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.

Find plays, articles, photographs, and interviews related to American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islanders playwrights of the 20th century.

Find biographies, autobiographies, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on indigenous peoples of North America.

Find full text articles from a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.