LibGuides: Asian &amp; African History: Resources

Find Background Information

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
It consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, hundreds of articles not found in the print Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year thousands of links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.

Brill's Encyclopedia of China / edited by Daniel Leese.
Provides a reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Covers the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
Chronology of world history
A year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Covers social, political, artistic, and technological events. Indexed by name, title, place and event.
Encyclopaedia Iranica [electronic resource] / [edited by Ehsan Yarshater]
A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. A precisely documented reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
Encyclopaedia Judaica / Fred Skolnik, editor-in-chief ; Michael Berenbaum, executive editor
Call Number: DS102.8 .E496 2007
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
In Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) which also includes full text encyclopedias on American, Middle Eastern, Vietnam, World History, Dictionary of Ideas, Genocide, Recreation, Fashion, and other related topics.

Find Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journals, full text periodicals, reports, and books across multiple subjects.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Find articles, monographs (until 1991), proceedings, and festschriften written in Western languages of all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia from 1971 to present.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Humanities Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from journals, books, and other published sources covering all aspects of the humanities, 1909 to present. Upgraded version of Humanities International Complete.

EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.

JSTOR screen reader instructions
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Find full text articles from a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Project MUSE screen reader instructions

Find Facts & Figures

International historical statistics
Statistics for Africa, Asia and Oceania.

China Historical GIS
A database of historical administrative units for different periods in Chinese History, and will also provide a base GIS platform for researchers to use for spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.

Find Primary Sources

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Find images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.

Digital South Asia Library
Includes books, images, maps, indexes, statistics, finding aids and links to internet resources.
Microfilm Collections (UA Libraries)
Includes African, Asian and Middle Eastern History at the University of Arizona Libraries.
National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
A cooperative cataloging effort which identifies manuscript collections in the U.S. From 1959-1986 listed in print volumes only (Z6620.U5 N3). After 1986 most cataloging appears in RLIN and also WorldCat. Access to RLIN through both NUCMC and RLIN.
Repositories of Primary Sources
A listing of websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources worldwide.
Travelers in the Middle East Archive
The Travelers in the Middle East Archive (TIMEA) is a digital archive at Rice University that focuses on Western interactions with the Middle East, particularly travels to Egypt during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. TIMEA offers electronic texts such as travel guides, museum catalogs, and travel narratives, photographic and hand-drawn images of Egypt, and historical maps.

Find Media

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find articles from local (Arizona Daily Star), national, and international newspapers, and news transcripts and video clips; date coverage varies by news source.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find newspapers, journals, dissertations, documents, and archives.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.
Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

There is a known bug affecting Nexis Uni profile creation. Off-campus users interested in creating a Nexis Uni profile should use this link.

Nexis Uni instructions for screen reader and keyboard only users
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Find citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.
A free version of Worldcat is at worldcat.org

Foreign Newspapers (UA Library)
List of foreign newspapers at the UA Libraries with dates and locations.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Asian & African History: Resources

Find Background Information

Find Articles

Find Facts & Figures

Find Primary Sources

Find Media

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

Asian & African History: Resources

Find Background Information

Find Articles

Find Facts & Figures

Find Primary Sources

Find Media

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect