The following titles are a selection of books available in the University of Arizona Libraries - some in print and others ebooks. To find additional books, use the library search with subject headings such as:
herbs - therapeutic use
If you need help using ebooks, visit our Finding & using ebooks page. If you want us to retrieve a book on our shelves and have it ready for you to pick up at a Hold Shelf in the Libraries, visit our Express Retrieval page.
"This kind of systematic work is exactly what is needed for people to help bridge traditional Ayurvedic practice with modern science." --Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Nobel laureate, current president of the Royal Society and group leader at the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge Biomedical Campus, UK Ayurvedic Pharmacopoeial Plant Drugs: Expanded Therapeuticsis the first review of all the therapeutic sections of 456 plant drugs in the first six volumes of the Ayurvedic Pharmacopoeia of India. Itcovers pharmacognosy of classical Ayurvedic herbs, their chemical constituents, therapeutic uses, and doses on the basis of contemporary scientific literature. The book reviews the classical attributes, compounds, and textual references of Ayurvedic plant drugs and updates the pharmacopoeial attributes of Ayurvedic herbs and formulations to make them more industry-oriented and facilitate their implementation. Sanskrit terminology has been converted into English equivalents, and botanical names assigned to Ayurvedic herbs in the text have been reviewed in historical as well as contemporary contexts. This will assist those who are not conversant with Sanskrit or have found multiple names of the same herb in Ayurvedic reference works and in different regions of India. With these salient features, this book provides an added scientific edge to the new generation of Ayurvedic students, faculty members, researchers, and enterprising phytopharmaceutical scientists. In addition, the scientific temper of this resource will help unravel many of the intricacies of classical Ayurveda.
As the shortcomings of purely synthetic approaches to biochemical discovery and development are becoming more apparent, a renaissance of interest in the chemistry of natural products as sources for new compounds is occurring. A unique approach to natural products chemistry, Botanical Miracles: Chemistry of Plants That Changed the Worldrelates applications of plant extracts to the historical progress of civilization. It focuses on selected plants from around the world, connecting their stories and properties to the development of modern marvels such as medicinal compounds, nutrition products, beverages, perfumes and organic pigments. Each chapter describes a particular group of plant extracts from various perspectives, including their chemistry, interest and value to man and historical background. The ends of the chapters pose challenging questions. Introducing plants that are emerging into more prominent roles in human life and addressing current challenges, Botanical Miracles presents a fascinating point of entry to the chemistry of important natural products. It examines plants and their extracts through the key functional groups, building blocks and concepts of organic chemistry. This book provides, in a single source, information and learning opportunities of value to a wide range of individuals involved in the fields of chemistry, medicine, nutrition or cosmetics whether they be students, educators, researchers or those who simply wish to extend their horizons.
The Handbook of Medicinal Plants is divided into three main sections. The first section covers the use of herbal medicines throughout history in China, Australia, the Americas, the Middle East, and the Mediterranean, emphasizing the need for future medicinal plant research. The second section discusses the latest technologies in production and breeding, crop improvement, farming, and plant research. The third section focuses on groundbreaking advances in the medicinal application of therapeutic herbs.
This work contains detailed monographs on 181 medicinal herbs. It provides answers to such questions as which herb should be used for a particular illness, what doses are needed, and whether we can rely on their authentication and quality. [Note: 2004 edition available at Arizona Health Sciences Library - WB 39 T258 2004A AHSL-Tucson (Reference).]
"This text covers over 210 western plants within 100 distinct plant profiles, from Acacia to Yucca. Each profile is identified by what the author calls its "main common name." This is followed by the plant's Latin family name, its current Latin binomial, and any other common names. The profile is further broken down into segments such as description, distribution, chemistry, medicinal uses, indications, collection, preparation and dosage, and cautions." from Alternative Medicine Review, March, 2006 by Mario Roxas:
The third edition of the unparalleled reference on natural ingredients and their commercial use includes the most recent research findings on a wide variety of ingredients, giving readers a single source for understanding and working with natural ingredients. The Encyclopedia continues the successful format for entries listed in earlier editions (consisting of source, description, chemical composition, pharmacology, uses, commercial preparations, regulatory status, and references). The text also features an easily accessible alphabetical presentation of the entries according to common names, with the index cross-referencing entries according to scientific names...
The selection of plants studied in this treatise is based on its significance, and its representation of members of different taxonomic families as well as of different classes (and subclasses) of compounds. All the available data on the chemical compounds and the pharmacological studies on these plants/compounds have been incorporated. The plants are arranged by the type and nature of chemical compounds they contain. Secondary metabolites have been included in this volume due to their great therapeutic role. [Note: ebook also available.]
This book details several important medicinal plants, their occurrence, plant compounds and their chemical structures, and pharmacological properties against various human diseases. It also gives information on isolation and structural elucidation of phytocompounds, bio-assays, metabolomic studies, and therapeutical applications of plant compounds.
Medicinal Plants of the World is a comprehensive and scientifically accurate guide to the best-known and most important medicinal plants. The book includes descriptions of more than 300 medicinal plants and their close relatives. Each entry gives a short summary with a description of the plant, the geographical origin, therapeutic category, historical and modern uses, active ingredients, and pharmacological effects. More than 500 full-color photographs assist in the identification of the plants.
This resource has extensive information about natural products, including their botany, history, chemistry, pharmacology, synonyms and common names, medicinal uses, and toxicology. Includes references and a review of key papers.
Find citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and natural resources from 1910 to the present.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowFind peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports. To set up access to UA Libraries full text from off campus or export to a citation manager, click "more" below. Tutorial
The following configuration may be needed to access UA-subscribed content from off campus: 1. In Google Scholar, open the "hamburger" menu in the far upper left next to the Google Scholar logo and select "Settings. 2. From the settings menu, select "Library links". 3. Type "University of Arizona" in box and select "University of Arizona - Full-Text @ UofA Libraries". Then click Save. 4. When searching, articles for which we have full text access will display with a link "Full-Text @ UofA Libraries"; select this link to access it. (Please note that this link may be hidden in the smaller links below the citation, and you may need to click on the double arrow to the right of them to find it.) 5. To export citations to a bibliography manager, such as RefWorks or EndNote, go to the Settings menu, click on "search results", select the desired manager in the drop-down menu next to "show links to import citations into", and Save.
Find articles from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science from the mid-1800s to the present. UA NetID and registration required.
This guide provides basic guidelines and examples to frequently asked citation questions from the three major style guides, plus links to web sites with more detailed information for each. A separate page listing some of the better-known subject-specific style guides is also provided, as well as links to formatting and submission guides for UA dissertations and theses.
Database "Cite This" Features
Many library databases provide a "cite this" functionality that will format the citation in the style of your choice (APA, Chicago, etc.). You can then copy and paste the formatted citation into the bibliography of your paper. Just be sure to check the formatting. There could be errors in punctuation, capitalization, etc.