Skip to main content
Banner Image

LLMC

SELECTING A DATABASE: WHEN SHOULD YOU USE LLMC?

LLMC-Digital, short for Law Library Microfilm Consortium Digital, is an online database dedicated to preserving historical legal resources. 

  • contains both primary law and secondary sources such as treatises
  • created by libraries that want to preserve their older books and also make them available digitally
  • resources are continually added to the collection
  • LLMC-Digital contains a number of different legal collections, including material involving the U.S. Federal Government (e.g. laws of the U.S. from 1789-1796), U.S. States and Territories, Canada, Germany, the United Kingdom, other countries from around the world, International law and organizations, and Special Focus collections (e.g. ancient legal systems, comparative law, legal philosophy, military law, Roman law, etc.) 
  • if you are interested in legal history, LLMC-Digital is a great resource 

Which collection should I look at?

  • the best way to discover what will be most helpful to you is to spend a little time browsing LLMC's collections   
  • to get an idea about what is the database, you may browse the collections from LLMC's main page, click on the online service tab shown below, and select "Browse Collections"
  • check out this guide's "Browse Collections" page for more information on the materials included in each collection
  • if you know what collection you want to look at, you may select it.  If not, you can search materials in all of the collections

Recently Added

  • you may also look at titles that have recently been added to the collection or updated by clicking on "Recent Titles" under the online service tab shown below

 

undefined