Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Arizona Primary Legal Materials

A quick guide to Arizona government documents and State court decisions.

INTRODUCTION

In Arizona, only cases from the Court of Appeals and Arizona Supreme Court are published, trial decisions are not published.  Case opinions are first published as slip opinions, which are then collected and published in reporters.  If you are looking for a recent case and cannot find it in the reporter, look at the slip opinions. 

SLIP OPINIONS

Slip Opinions

Individual opinions of the Arizona Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal.  Slip opinions are issued first after the case is decided.  Eventually these are compiled into a case reporter, which formally publishes the opinions.

Free Web Resources:

Print Resources:

ARIZONA ADVANCE REPORTS

Arizona Advance Reports

Arizona Advance Reports: Print, 1988-current — Contains Arizona Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal decisions. Issued bi-weekly with semi-annual case and subject indexes. Each issue contains cumulative case name list since last index with table of parallel cites to Arizona Reports and Pacific Reporter. Available in Arizona Section (First Floor).

STATE COURT DECISIONS

AZ Supreme Court & Court of Appeals Decisions​

Print Resources:

 Arizona Reports (Official)

  • Report of cases argued and determined in the Supreme Court of the Territory of Arizona: San Francisco, California: Bancroft, 1866-1911 (v.1-13); Contains Supreme Court decisions from Territorial days (beginning in 1866) until Statehood.  Available in the Arizona Section (First Floor).
  • Report of cases argued and determined in the Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals of the State of Arizona: St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing, 1977- (v.114-238) — Contains Supreme Court decisions and Courts of Appeal decisions (from 1976). Individual cases indexed by name in Arizona Digest, and by words-subjects that are linked to West's topic/key number system in the digest volumes.  Available in the Arizona Section (First Floor).

Arizona Appeals Reports: (Official) St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing, 1965-1976 (v.1-27) — Contains Courts of Appeal decisions from creation of two appellate court divisions in 1964 through 1976. Subsequent decisions published in Arizona Reports. Indexed by Arizona Digest. Available in the Arizona Section (First Floor).

Pacific Reporter: (1st, 2d, 3d) St. Paul, Minnesota: Thomson West — Regional reporter that contains decisions from Arizona courts from 1866. Indexed by Pacific Digest according to West's topic/key number system with detailed word and case names indexes. Available in the Reporters Section (Ground Floor).

Subscription Web Resources:

Free Web Resources:

ARIZONA SUPREME COURT FEED

Loading ...