Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

UA Research Internship Program - Summer 2019

Librarian

Paula C Johnson's picture
Paula C Johnson
Contact:
Main Library A212
520-621-9862

Google Scholar Search Box

When you search Google Scholar from within the Library's IP range, it searches all UA databases to link to full text content, if available.

Library Resources

Welcome to UA Libraries! The buildings are torn apart, but we are still open and want to serve you. Your status on campus as a non-registered laboratory research mentee gives you access to some electronic resources and many services.

LIBRARY RESOURCES

You may use print resources in the Library, but unfortunately they may not be checked out. If there are sections of a print resource you would like to access outside the library building, we have scanners to copy your pages to a file that you can send to yourself, or save to a USB.

You can use the library search tool to look across multiple formats for content you could use. Use the drop-down to limit your results to Book, Articles, Conference Proceedings, etc. Once you have run your search, you can narrow down your results even further by the options to the left of your result set. For example, you can get only print materials by checking off the "in the library" option.

While you're on the Library's IP range, you should be able to access most of the databases. Databases are commercial products that sell us access to the digitized contents of thousands of academic journals, as well as sometimes standards, conference papers, videos and more. All databases will include citation information and an abstract - along with either the full text of the item cited, or a link out to search for the full text. If the database link resolver finds the full text in a different database, it will link you to it. If it can't find full text, you will need to decide if you can wait to receive the contents and request it via Inter-Library Loan. If you need something right away, there will almost always be equally good alternative full text options.

For STEM, Nanotechnology, Music, and Chemistry these are some good databases:

EI Compendex (engineering of all kinds)

IEEE Explore (electrical engineering and computer science focus)

Scopus (cross-disciplinary)

Web of Science (cross-disciplinary)

Nano (everything about nanomaterials and devices)

RILM Music Literature (ethnomusicology, popular music, jazz studies, classical music, instruments, and musicology)

PubChem (world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information)

PubMed Central (free full text articles from biomedical and life sciences journals)

Here you may see all the Library databases listed.