Books and eBooks
Basic and Clinical Biostatistics: Fifth Edition by
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research. The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed. Features: * Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods * Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues * Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package * Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI * Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model * Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout
Call Number: WA 950 W588b 2020ISBN: 9781260455366Publication Date: 2020
Medical Writing by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Call Number: WZ 345 T245m 2018ISBN: 9783319701257Publication Date: 2018-01-09
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques.New to This Edition: Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data New coverage of rapid reviews Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
Call Number: W 20.5 B721s 2016ISBN: 9781473912465Publication Date: 2016-08-15
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences: a Quick Reference Guide by
Concise, readable, and easy to navigate--a practical and thorough guide to conducting efficient and effective medical research A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Whether you're a student, scholar, faculty member, or practicing healthcare professional Research Methodology in the Health Sciences helps you improve your research skills and critically appraise original research and apply it in evidence-based patient care. This peerless guide describes the principles of biostatistics and provides detailed examples to build your comprehension of the utility and applicability of bio-statistical tests, without going into the mathematical details of such tests. You'll find accessible coverage of the principles of biomedical ethics in research and publication, review of the medical literature, how to write a dissertation, how to prepare and submit a research manuscript for publication in a journal, how to apply for a research grant to funding agencies, and much more. To enhance the learning process, all examples drawn exclusively from real healthcare scenarios. Research Methodology in the Health Sciences covers: Planning a research study Writing a dissertation Types of studies in clinical research Observational and interventional studies Approaches to qualitative research Ethics in medical research Biostatistics and descriptive statistics Approaches to statistical inference
ISBN: 9781260463286Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences by
Now in its 7th edition this textbook is a must have for any health professional student. It provides a comprehensive overview of health research, in a concise and easy to read format using examples directly related to the health sciences. It helps students understand health research models, and how research goes on to inform and improve evidence-based clinical practice. For practitioners it provides guidance on published research in journals, providing an essential tool to keep their practice evidence based. Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach Provides an extensive glossary for better understanding of the language of research Fully updated online interactive self-assessment tests including MCQs, true or false questions and short answer questions.
ISBN: 9780702074936Publication Date: 2019-11-11
UA Librarian Phoenix
Measuring your Impact
- Measuring your ImpactResources for creating your scholarly identity.
- Medline Indexed JournalsJournals indexed in Medline
- Research Impact ChallengeGuide to improve research impact by Indiana University Ruth Lilly Medical Library
- ORCID @ ArizonaCreate a new ORCID iD (if you don't already have one) and connect it to The University of Arizona.
- What is an ORCID id?A guide to getting started with ORCID id's from University of Arizona Libraries.
- ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)Create a persistent and unique digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher.
Journal Impact Factors
- Scopus Sources
Find Journal Impact Factors - NLM Catalog Journals
NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI Databases. Select Indexed in Medline to see indexed journals in PubMed.
Where to Publish?
- Journal Author Name Estimator (JANE)Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
- Think Check SubmitThink. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.
- The Problem of Predatory Journals (AAMC)The number of illegitimate journals is exploding — and they could hurt your career. Here’s how to avoid falling prey.
Open Access
- Sherpa RomeoSherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.
- SPARC Author RightsSPARC provides a full set of resources to help you learn more about your rights as an author, and the tools that are available to help you effectively manage your copyrights.
- Publish your ResearchInformation on where to publish your research.
- UA Campus RepositoryFind freely available UA-published materials, such as UA dissertations, masters theses, honors theses, yearbooks, and course catalogs.
- UA Open Access PolicyIn 2016 the University of Arizona Faculty Senate passed an open access policy that calls on the faculty and university to distribute faculty-authored scholarly articles to the widest possible audience through the UA Campus Repository.
Funding and Partnerships
- Find Funding and PartnershipsFind funding opportunities and connect with others.