Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

IPLP Resource Guide: American Indian Law

REGULATIONS

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Most regulations applying to Indians are found in Title 25. Executive orders, presidential proclamations, and presidential memoranda are published in Title 3.

The Government Publishing Office (GPO) site govinfo.gov provides access to the CFR from 1996 to present, CFR Index and Finding Aids, and CFR Parts Affected from the Federal Register. The GPO also offers the official version of the CFR as well as the e-CFR. The e-CFR is a currently updated version of the CFR; however, it is not an official legal edition.

Federal Register 

The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The Federal Register is published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). GPO's govinfo.gov provides access to the Federal Register from 1990-present. 

Indian Law Bulletins - U.S. Regulatory Information

National Indian Law Library provides a listing of Federal Register documents of the current year. Summaries and links to news articles are included. Bulletins from past years are available on the archive page.

 

Subscription Services 

Bloomberg LawWestlaw, Lexis Advance (UA Law passwords required) and Nexis Uni (on campus or UA NetID required) provide access to both the CFR and the Federal Register.

HeinOnline (on campus or UA NetID required)

HeinOnline's American Indian Law Collection includes CFR Title 25 from 1938-present.​

ProQuest Regulatory Insight (on campus or UA NetID required)

Regulatory Insight offers U.S. federal administrative law histories for the period 1936-2016 organized by federal statute and Executive Order. 

ADMINISTRATIVE DECISIONS

U.S. Department of the Interior, Office of the Solicitor 

The Office of the Solicitor performs the legal work the United States Department of the Interior by providing advice, counsel, and representation to the Immediate Office of the Secretary, the Assistant Secretaries, and all other bureaus and offices overseen by the Secretary of the Interior.

Opinions of the Solicitor of the Department of the Interior Relating to Indian Affairs (1917-1974)

The University of Oklahoma's Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project provides free access to the Solicitor's Opinions between 1917 and 1974. 

Opinions of the Solicitor of the Department of the Interior Relating to Indian Affairs (1993-present)

The Office of the Solicitor provides free access to opinions from 1993 to the present. ​

 

U.S. Department of the Interior, Office of Hearing and Appeals

Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA) 

"The Interior Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA) is an appellate review body that exercises the delegated authority of the Secretary of the Interior to issue final decisions for the Department of the Interior in appeals involving Indian matters. Located within the Department's Office of Hearings and Appeals, IBIA is separate and independent from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) and the Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs."

IBIA Decisions (1970-present)

The Office of Hearing and Appeals provides a searchable database of IBIA Decisions. Select database from the dropdown menu. Decisions are also available in print the Indian Law Reporter in our library.  

 

Interior Board of Land Appeals (IBLA)

"​The Interior Board of Land Appeals (IBLA) is an appellate review body that exercises the delegated authority of the Secretary of the Interior to issue final decisions for the Department of the Interior. Its administrative judges decide appeals from bureau decisions relating to the use and disposition of public lands and their resources, mineral resources on the Outer Continental Shelf, and the conduct of surface coal mining operations under the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act. Located within the Department's Office of Hearings and Appeals, IBLA is separate and independent from the Bureaus and Offices whose decisions it reviews."

IBLA Decisions (1970-present)

The Office of Hearing and Appeals provides a searchable database of IBLA Decisions. Select database from the dropdown menu. Decisions are also available in print the Indian Law Reporter in our library.

 

Subscription Services 

The Opinions of the Solicitor (1917-1974) are also available on these subscription services: 

  • HeinOnline 
  • LLMC Digital (LLMC Search Number is 94321) 
  • Lexis Advance and Nexis Uni (source name is Native American Solicitor's Opinions) 

 

IBIA Decisions are are also available on these subscription services: 

  • HeinOnline (1917-present)
  • LLMC Digital (1970-1995) (LLMC Search Number is 82203) 
  • Lexis Advance and Nexis Uni (1969-present)
  • Westlaw (1970-present)

 

IBLA Decisions are are also available on these subscription services: 

  • HeinOnline (1970-present)
  • LLMC Digital (1970-1987) (LLMC Search Number is 82204) 
  • Lexis Advance and Nexis Uni (1970-present)
  • Westlaw (1970-present)​

INDIAN CLAIMS COMMISSION

The Indian Claims Commission was established in 1946 by statute (60 Stat. 1050) to hear "claims against the United States on behalf of any Indian tribe, band, or other identifiable group of American Indians residing within the territorial limits of the United States or Alaska." The Commission only heard claims accrued prior to August 13, 1946. When the ICC ended in 1978, all remaining claims were transferred to the Court of Claims.  

 

Indian Claims Commission Decisions (1946-1978)

Oklahoma State University Library provides free access to all 43 volumes. The site also includes the index created by the Native American Rights Fund (NARF). 

Indian Claims Commission Materials 

The National Indian Law Library created this research guide with information about the commission and additional materials, including links to indices, reports, and maps.

Subscription Services 

LLMC Digital (Access restricted to UA Law campus and affiliates.)

Indian Claims Commission Decisions includes decisions located in volumes 1-43 (1948-1978). For LLMC Number Search, use 80510.

HeinOnline  (access on campus or with UA NetID required)

Rules of the Court of Claims of the United States Governing Appeals from the Indian Claims Commission is found in the U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals collection.

All 43 volumes available in the American Indian Law Collection.