Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

IPLP Resource Guide: American Indian Law

COURT DECISIONS

Findlaw's United States Supreme Court Cases 

Free access to Supreme Court opinions. Opinions are browsable by year and U.S. Reports volume number, and are searchable by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number.

GPO FDSys United States Court Opinions 

Free access to more recent court opinions on GPO FDSys.

"United States Courts Opinions (USCOURTS) collection is a project between the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the Administrative Office of the United States Courts (AOUSC) to provide public access to opinions from selected United States appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004, though searchable electronic holdings for some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period. Once an opinion is located, all associated opinions within the same case can be accessed from the opinion."

Google Scholar

Free access to federal case law. Link to Google Scholar or enter your search query below. Select "case law" to limit your search.

Indian Law Bulletin - Supreme Court and Federal Court Cases Related to Indian Law

The National Indian Law Library provides this current awareness service of cases decided or pending during the current term of the Supreme Court. The bulletin includes the question presented, case history, summary of the ruling below, and related news stories. The bulletin updates decided cases with the holding. Links to additional materials on other websites are also provided. The Federal Courts Bulletin provides the synopsis, holdings, and related news stories for cases decided in the current year. The bulletins archives provide coverage from 1997-present for the Supreme Court and 2001 (partial)- present for federal courts.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Federal Court Decisions 

Tribal Court Clearinghous provides summaries and holdings to all case of Indian law cases decided by the United States Supreme Court from 1991. There are links to the court syllabus, full opinion, and all dissents for each case. Indian law cases pending before the U.S. Supreme Court during the current term are also listed.

 

Subscription Services 

Bloomberg LawWestlaw, Lexis Advance (UA Law passwords required) and Nexis Uni (on campus or UA NetID required) provide access to their collections of federal and state primary materials.

Federal Native American Law Cases

Westlaw database of cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, courts of appeals, district courts, bankruptcy courts, Court of Federal Claims, U.S. Tax Court, military courts, and related federal and territorial courts that relate to peoples native to the United States. Coverage begins with 1789.‚Äč

SELECTED COURT DECISION RESOURCES FROM OUR CATALOG