Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

IPLP Resource Guide: American Indian Law

STATUTES & LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Statutes at Large 

The United States Statutes at Large is the permanent collection of laws and resolutions enacted during each Congressional session. The statutes are published chronologically. The Law Library of Congress has an ongoing project to digitize the United States Statutes at Large. This site also links to the Government Publishing Office for volumes not yet in its collection.

United States Code 

The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. The code is published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives and provides access on its website. The code is divided by broad subjects into 54 titles: Title 25 pertains to Indians. Titles 5, 18, 28, and 42 also include relevant law.  

Congress.gov 

The official website for U.S. federal legislative information.

Indian Law Bulletins - U.S. Legislative Bulletin

National Indian Law Library provides a listing of passed and proposed legislation of the current Congress. Summaries and links to news articles are included. Bulletins from past Congresses are available on the archive page.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse

Tribal Court Clearinghouse provides commentaries on specific chapters of the United States Code which contains federal laws effecting Indian Nations. The code sections link to Legal Information Institute.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse provides a list links to government and non-governmental organizations for researching pending legislation relating to American Indian and Alaska Native issues.

 

Subscription Services 

Westlaw and Lexis Advance (UA Law password required) and Nexis Uni (on campus or UA NetID required) provide access to their collections of Statutes and Large and annotated United States Codes.

 

ProQuest (access on campus or UA NetID required)

Congressional Publications 

This database is a great source for U.S. legislative research. Coverage includes:

  • Bills & Laws 1789-Present
  • Vote Report 1987-Present
  • Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1817-Present
  • Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-1997
  • Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985-Present
  • CRS Reports 1916-Present
  • Hearings 1824-Present
  • House & Senate Documents 1817-Present
  • House & Senate Reports 1817-Present
  • Serial Set 1789-2003
  • Serial Set Maps 1789-Present

Proquest Legislative Insight  

A great resource for federal legislative history research. This service offers compiled legislative histories with coverage starting with 71st Congress (1929-1931) and including the present Congress.

When using this database, check out our library's LibGuide ProQuest Legislative Insight.

For research on legislation that was not enacted, use ProQuest Congressional.

 

HeinOnline (access on campus or with UA NetID required)

This collection features the complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. It also includes the three predecessor titles: Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837) Congressional Globe (1833-1873), and Congressional Hearings (1927-present), as well as other important congressional material. The collection includes United States Statutes at Large (1789-2011).

This collection includes editions of Title 25- Indians of the U.S. Code from 1926-2012. This collection also includes selected compiled legislative histories.‚Äč