Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

IPLP Resource Guide: American Indian Law

BLOGS & NEWS

The ALI Adviser - The Law of American Indians 

The ALI Adviser provides information on current American Law Institute projects. Posts are written by project participants, ALI members, and other sources. This site provides information about the Restatement of the Law Third, The Law of American Indians project as well as posts about tribal and federal Indian law.

Indian Country Today

‚ÄčIndian Country Today is a digital site for news, culture, education, and history. Currently owned by the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI), the site includes an archive of stories published online by Indian Country Today Media Network (ICTMN). ICTMN ceased publication in September 2017.  

Indianz.Com 

Indianz.Com is a news, information, and entertainment site owned and operated by Ho-Chunck Inc. The site content includes a variety of topics, including news and links on Indianz-Law.

National Indian Law Library Blog

The National Indian Law Library serves the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) and the public. The blog posts pertain to American Indian law with weekly updates on content added to the Indian Law Bulletins: U.S. Supreme Court Bulletin, Federal Courts Bulletin, Tribal Courts Bulletin, State Courts Bulletin, U.S. Regulatory Information Bulletin, U.S. Legislation Bulletin, Law Review & Bar Journal Bulletin, and the News Bulletin.

Native News Online

Native News Online is an independent, native-owned online publication based in Michigan. News posts include content by Native News Online staff and op-eds by contributors.

Native Times

Native Times is an independent, native-owned news source based in Oklahoma. News posts include content written by Native Times contributors as well as Associated Press and other news sources.

Turtle Talk 

The Indigenous Law and Policy Center at Michigan State University College of Law hosts this blog specializing in "providing access to primary documents related to current topics in American Indian law and policy — court opinions and pleadings, federal government documents, scholarly materials, and other sources." Although the focus is on topics related to tribes in Michigan and the Great Lakes region, Turtle Talk also posts news items and upcoming events throughout Indian country.

Loading ...

SUBSCRIPTION NEWS SERVICES

Ethnic NewsWatch 

University Libraries provides UA affiliates access to this searchable database on ProQuest. The collection includes current articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority, and native presses as wells as periodicals from 1959-1989. Advance search allows for filtering search by ethnic group (Native People is an option), language (Cherokee and Hawaiian are options), source types, and document type.   

Mealey's Publications on Lexis Advance

Mealey's Daily News Update - Native American Law is a searchable database of more recent news items.  

Native American Law Report is a searchable monthly newsletter and follows relevant litigation in federal, state, and tribal courts as well developments in regulation and legislation. The newsletter focuses on topics of jurisdiction, sovereign immunity, and Indian status as well as disputes involving land claims, natural resources, environmental regulation, utilities, taxation, gaming industry, government services, labor laws and family law.

Native American Law360 on Law360.com and Lexis Advance

Law360 is a subscription news service owned by LexisNexis. The service annotates a section of news coverage relating to tribal litigation, regulation, and legislation tribes as well as tracking litigation and agreements involving tribes and native-owned businesses. Access on the law campus (IP authentication) or using Lexis Advance login credentials.

Loading ...

ORGANIZATIONS, AGENCIES & COMMITTEES

National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) News & Updates

NCAI is a non-profit "organized as a representative congress of American Indians and Alaska Natives that serves to develop consensus on national priority issues that impact tribal sovereignty."

National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA)

NIGA is an inter-tribal association of federally recognized Indian Tribes and "operates as an educational, legislative, and public policy "resource for tribal policy makers as well as the public on issues related to Indian gaming and tribal community development."

Walking on Common Ground

The non-profit organization Tribal Law and Policy Institute (TLPI) works "under a grant from the United States Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance on the Walking on Common Ground website to provide resources for promoting and facilitating Tribal-State-Federal collaboration." The site includes Tribal Court News.

 

U.S. Government

Environmental Protection Agency - Environmental Protection in Indian Country

Internal Revenue Service - Tax Information for Indian Tribal Governments

National Indian Gaming Commission

United States Department of Justice - Office of Tribal Justice

United States Department of the Interior - Bureau of Indian Affairs

United States Department of the Interior - National NAGPRA

United States House Subcommittee on Indian, Insular and Alaska Native Affairs

United States Senate Committee on Indian Affairs