Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Responding to COVID-19: You can chat and email with us daily! Mon-Thu 7am-7pm, Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 11am-6pm, and Sun 1pm-6pm. But due to COVID-19, all University Libraries buildings are currently closed, and we're not accepting any new hold/pickup or scanning requests for physical items. See details on library changes and support.

Information Research Strategies

Research data

When we think of data, we usually think of statistical tables. However research data can take the form of the following kinds of information:

  • Interviews
  • Images
  • Lab notebooks, field notes, diaries
  • Survey and test responses
  • Spectra
  • Algorithms
  • Email messages
  • Methodologies and workflows
  • Procedures and Protocols

Locating research data can stimulate ideas about the kinds of data you might like to gather, as well as provide sources of information to explore and analyze for your own research.

In this module, you will:

  • Become familiar with a variety of data sources
  • Identify tools for visualizing data
  • Consider data management issues

Explore

Many data repositories are produced by the U.S. government, international governmental entities, or professional organizations. These may be freely available but often require special software programs to view and manipulate the data.

Licensed Databases of Data Sets

Licensed databases are ones for which the UA Libraries pays an annual subscription fee to provide access to UA students, faculty and staff. Explore the following to find data sets in a wide range of disciplines:

Searchable database of datasets published within published articles, conference proceedings and technical reports. Includes an abstract and a link out to the data. This database is part of the Web of Science platform. To search: Use the drop-down menu (All Databases) above the search box and select Data Citation Index.

Includes databases on statistical data, maps, survey data, business analysis and reports.

Practice

Can you answer this question?

How many towns were incorporated in Massachusetts in 1775?

Use the Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial edition) to locate data from the U.S. Colonial period including population, economics, government, agricultural and manufacturing statistics.

Instructions:

Go to Historical Statistics of the United States (Millennial edition)

  • In the Table of Contents section on the left:
    • Click on the link to Governance and International Relations
  • On the right, select the chapter, Colonial Statistics
  • From the Tables list, select Migration and Labor
  • Select the table: Towns settled and incorporated in New England….

Data visualization

Data visualization is a way of analyzing, understanding and communicating the meaning of data.

At the University of Arizona, this is taught within departments such as Computer Science and The School of Information: Science, Technology and the Arts (SISTA), etc. In addition, the University Information Technology Services offers a Visualization Consultation service.

The following examples highlight the possibilities for data visualization.

Publicly available data from national and international organizations that can be displayed through graphs, charts, and maps.

Provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information for the United States. You can create thematic and interactive maps, and customized reports.

The following guides from the NIH and North Carolina State University give an overview of tools, tutorials and other resources that exist for data visualization. Access to some of what is shown on these sites is limited to students, faculty and staff at the respective institutions, but the guides do offer tutorials and other resources that will help you learn about data visualization.

Data management

In addition to locating sources of data, analyzing and presenting data with effective data visualization methods, researchers also need to how to manage, share and preserve their own research data.

A good starting point for learning about creating a data management and sharing plan can be found in the following UA Library web pages: