Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Responding to COVID-19: You can chat and email with us daily! Mon-Thu 7am-7pm, Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 11am-6pm, and Sun 1pm-6pm. But due to COVID-19, all University Libraries buildings are currently closed, and we're not accepting any new hold/pickup or scanning requests for physical items. See details on library changes and support.

Information Research Strategies

Specialized databases

Using specialized library databases allows you to locate in-depth, discipline-specific research literature, using focused, disciplinary language in your search.  

You may be familiar with some specialized databases or have a favorite interdisciplinary database like Web of Science or JSTOR as your 'go to' database, but there is more!

In this module you will learn how to:

  • Identify specialized library databases in your research area.

  • Effectively search library databases relevant to your discipline.

Explore

Identify Specialized Databases

You can find databases for specific research areas by using the Library's Database by Subject list.

UA Librarians have created Subject Guides that not only include recommended databases, but also other digital and print sources for specific disciplines.

If you still have questions about identifying the best specialized library databases for your research area, contact the librarian assigned as liaison for your college/department: Find Your Librarian.

Share

What features are the most important in selecting a specialized, disciplinary database?

Go to Padlet and answer this question.