Practical Guide to Estate Planning - CCH Inc., 2017 (Law, Reserve - KF 750.P72)
This treatise is designed for attorneys and legal professionals to use, however it is drafted with new lawyers in mind, so individuals with non-legal backgrounds can understand it after learning some basic background material . The volume goes into great detail on the estate planning process, and provides fully annotated estate planning forms. It includes information on estate planning for non-married partners, data on long-term care insurance, discussion of same-sex marriage, and much more.
Topics include: The estate planning process; Basic rules of property transfers upon death; Basic estate planning documents; Trust basics; Tax tools of the estate planner; Planning for a spouse or nonmarital partner; Issues in planning for children; Using gifts in estate planning; Generation-skipping transfer tax planning; Charitable giving; Planning for a closely held business interest; Insurance; Estate planning with retirement benefits; Postmortem estate planning; and Estate planning forms.
Plan Your Estate - Nolo, 2016 (Law, Reference - KF 750.Z9 C59)
This resource explains how to plan an estate, using plain English. It offers multiple options, and provides step by step instructions, so the reader can create an estate plan that fits his or her needs. The book includes tips and instruction on how to leave property to a specific recipient, how to fully provide for young children, how to plan for the potential of incapacity, how to avoid probate, and how to avoid the estate tax. It also provides numerous examples of estate plans and the type of people that would use them. This is a great guide for getting started with estate planning.
Topics include: Choosing estate planning goals; Personal concerns and estate planning; Special property ownership rules for married people; Inventorying your property; Your beneficiaries; Children; Wills; Probate and avoiding it; Living trusts; Joint tenancy; Pay-on-death designations, registrations, and deeds; Life insurance; Retirement benefits; State law exemptions under normal probate; Estate taxes; Gifts and gift taxes; Ongoing trusts; AB disclaimer trusts; Estate tax-saving marital trusts; charitable trusts; Other estate tax-saving trusts; After-death estate tax planning; Combining estate tax-saving trusts; Property control trusts for second or subsequent marriages; Trusts and other devices for imposing controls over property; Incapacity; Body and organ donation, funerals, and burials; Family business estate planning; Using lawyers; After you complete your estate plan; After death; Sample estate plans.
Estate Planning Basics - Nolo, 2015 (Law, Reference - KF 750.Z9 C585)
This book serves as a wonderful introduction to the estate planning world. It lays out all the basics of estate planning, including wills, trusts, and health care directives, all in plain English. Whether readers want to plan their own estate, or just want to learn about the process prior to consulting an attorney, this is the perfect introductory resource.
Topics include: First look at estate planning; Beneficiaries; Children; Planning for incapacity (medical care and finances); Wills; Living trusts; Ways to avoid probate; Retirement plans as estate planning devices; Estate tax; Reducing federal estate taxes; Property control trusts; Lawyers; Finalizing your estate plan; Sample estate plans.
Introduction to Estate Planning in a Nutshell - West Academic Pub., 2014 (Law, Reserve - KF 750.L95)
This Nutshell provides readers with an introduction to all aspects of estate planning, including wills, insurance, Social Security, pensions, veterans' benefits, and much more. It is designed for a wide range of readers, including non-lawyers and lawyers alike. This resource uses simple, easy to understand language, making it very accessible. It also provides explanations of commonly used terms and actions.
Topics include: Estate planning basics; Transfer of property at death by will or intestacy; Survivorship interests; Community property; Simple wills; Insurance; Social security and private pension plans; Trusts; Future interests; Charitable trusts; The rule against perpetuities and related doctrines; Aspect of fiduciary administration; and Federal estate and gift taxation.
The American Bar Association Guide to Wills and Estates - American Bar Association, 2012 (Law, Reserve - KF 750.Z9 A47)
This resource provides readers with an introduction to the world of wills, estates, trusts, and taxes. The text is written in easy to understand language that is geared towards non-lawyers. It includes sections that address particular issues, such as a person with a chronic illness, strained relationships between parents and children, and more. This is a great resource for gaining a broad overview of estate planning.
Topics include: Why estate planning is important; Initial steps to estate planning; Transferring property without a will; Life insurance; Joint tenancy; Wills; What goes in a will; After a will is written; How trusts work; Providing for children; Marriage; Divorce; Estate planning for the ill; Estate planning for business owners; Income for your final years; Controlling costs for your final years; Death and taxes; Tax planning; Delegating decisions; Planning for end-of-life decisions; Easing the burden on your family; Choosing an executor; Trustees; and Probate.
Planning an Estate: A Guidebook of Principles and Techniques - Thomson Reuters, 2014 (Law - KF 750.P53)
This guidebook is designed to help users deal with complex tax issues that arise during the estate planning process. Due to its use of legalese, cases, and statutes, it is aimed at someone with prior experience in the estate planning field. This can be an excellent supplemental resource, but is not the best place to start learning about estate planning.
Topics include: Introduction to estate planning; Overview of tax principles; Planning a small family estate; Obtaining the marital deduction and the community property exclusion to save death taxes; Bypass trusts and generation-skipping transfers; Avoiding probate; Using a revocable living trust; Making gifts; Advanced wealth transfer techniques; Life insurance; Annuities; Handling a business interest; Employee benefits; Making gifts to charity; Tax planning for the estate after the owner's death.
The ABA Practical Guide to Estate Planning - American Bar Association, 2011 (Law - KF 750.A733)
This book is intended as a resource for those with legal training who are seeking to learn more about estate planning law. As an introductory resource, the text clearly lays out planning pointers, examples, and areas that require caution. While the book is intended for lawyers, non-lawyers may find it useful if they are familiar with estate planning law.
Topics included:Why engage in estate planning?; Estate planning: protecting the spouse; Protecting assets for your nonspouse beneficiary; Preserving your business for the next generation; Leaving a legacy; Defining your estate; Probate assets; Nonprobate assets; Federal, state, and international tax considerations; The federal gift tax system; Federal estate tax system; Federal generation-skipping transfer tax system; State transfer tax systems; International transfer taxes; Estate planning tools that are inter vivos in nature; Lifetime gifting program; Irrevocable trusts; Special needs trusts; Asset protection trusts (what you should know); Grantor retained annuity trusts; Personal residence trusts; Charitable trusts; Family holding companies; Private annuities and self-canceling installment notes; Roth conversions; Estate planning tools that are testamentary in nature; Wills an dtestamentary trusts; Wills, trusts, and the alternatives; Portability of unused exclusion amounts between spouses; Stretching retirement benefit payments; Buy-sell agreements and their role in business succession planning; Disclaimers; Special concerns of lesbian and gay couples; Other instruments related to the estate planning process; End-of-life decision making; Powers of attorney; Ancillary estate planning matters and concerns; Medical information (HIPAA and access to vital medical data); A glimpse behind the curtain of the probate process; An introduction to estate and trust litigation.
8 Ways to Avoid Probate - Nolo, 2016 (Law, Reference - KF 750.Z9 R36)
This resource offers readers simple and effective ways to avoid the timely and costly obstacle that is probate. Written using plain English, this book was written for non-legal readers. It also offers a number of easy to understand hypothetical situations to demonstrate the author's points. This is a good supplemental resource when paired with one of the introductory estate planning guides.
Topics include: Understanding probate avoidance; setting up payable-on-death accounts; naming a beneficiary of retirement accounts, stocks and bonds, vehicles, and real estate; holding property in joint ownership; creating a living trust; taking advantage of special procedures for small estates; and making gifts.
Checklist for My Family: A Guide to My History, Financial Plans, and Final Wishes - Sally Batch Hurme, AARP, 2015 (Law - KF750.Z9 H87)
This resource provides readers with a step by step checklist to organize their personal and financial affairs. The subject matter covers personal history, family history, insurance, retirement benefits, banking information, investments, real estate, and more. Following the steps in this text can help ensure that the reader's wishes for their family and assets are fulfilled.
Topics include: Personal history; family history; insurance; retirement and veterans benefits; banking and savings; investments; real estate; other assets and debts; wills, trusts, and powers of attorney; and medical and final wishes.