Essential Health Assessment by Janice ThompsonFocuses on clinically relevant information for normal and normal variants of adults, children, elderly, and pregnant women. Features a colorful graphic design, illustrations, and bulleted lists to make the information easy to understand and easy to follow through the assessment process. Offers assessment tips, helpful clinical information, including a reminder in every chapter to do a OPQRST analysis. Includes a brief review of A&P as the basis for the assessment. Covers assessment from head to toe with subjective questions, objective techniques, and documentation that demonstrates how all of the data and information come together to create a thorough and accurate health assessment. Addresses safety through alerts for Safe and Effective Nursing Care (SENC).
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. SanoskiSAFETY FIRST! Davis''s Drug Guide for Nurses®, Sixteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS www.DrugGuide.com Redeem the access code inside to unlock your one-year, free subscription to Davis''s Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. It''s accessible from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser 5,000-drug database and appendices Cross-referencing of drugs FDA drug news LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE ... AT A GLANCE Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects NEW! REP heading for use of drugs in males and females of reproductive age Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV administration subheads REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Pharmacogenomic content and icon Canadian-specific content Much more! LEARNING, CARE-PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at DavisPlus Pronunciation library for 1,200+ drug names Preventing med errors and psychotropic drug tutorials, each with a self-test Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/kg, and Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive case studies, brief, real-life scenarios that are followed by a series of question Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications Animations demonstrating the administration and absorption of oral drugs Reviews for Davis''s Drug Guide for Nurses, 15th Edition: Invaluable. "This... resource has been invaluable for my clinicals and pharm class."--CJ Bob Perfect for a nursing student. "I feel that I didn''t need my pharmacology book, and could have just used this. It''s organized and comprehensive, and for each drug has nursing implications with assessments, "potential" nursing diagnoses, teaching, and evaluations."--Amazon Reviewer This is your book. "If you want to know about drugs, this is your book. Very thorough and helpful with my nursing classes."--Michael Grewing. Use this every day! "The most helpful book ever created for Pharmacology! I use this every single day!"--C. Kelly A Must-Have. "An absolute must have. Great Book.--Rocco DeMario Hands down the best drug guide. "I am very pleased with this drug guide. I am in nursing school and this is the best drug guide hands down. I used other brands and I feel this is more organized and better to understand."--Carolina Cruz
Publication Date: 2018-06-05
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version) by Donald VenesExperience Taber's 21! To thrive in the ever-changing world of health care, you need a respected, trusted, and cutting-edge, cyclopedic resource. In hand, online, or on a mobile device, turn to Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 21st Edition...anytime, anywhere! Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 21st Edition Taber's 21 is today's most comprehensive health science dictionary. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants, representing every branch of health care, works with the Taber's in-house editorial staff to ensure that the content reflects the state of the art. Cyclopedic entries that offer more than just definitions. More than 60,000 reader-friendly definitions, including 3,000 brand-new terms and 7,000 revised terms. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations in the book and DVD combined. FREE Taber'sPlus DVD, Mac and PC compatible - A multimedia toolkit offering a wealth of interactive activities, clinical tools, and resources. More than 600 Patient Care Statements. Caution Statements with new, easy-to-find icon. Dozens of Allied Health and Nursing Appendices So much more!
Publication Date: 2009-02-25
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by Betty J. Ackley; Gail B. LadwigThe 10th edition of the Nursing Diagnosis Handbook makes formulating nursing diagnoses and creating individualized care plans a breeze. Updated with the most recent NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, this convenient reference shows you how to build customized care plans in three easy steps: assess, diagnose, plan. Authors Elizabeth Ackley and Gail Ladwig use Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) to guide you in creating care plans that include desired outcomes, interventions, patient teaching, and evidence-based rationales. Unique! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. Recent and classic research examples promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. NEW! 4 Color text NEW! Includes updated 2012-2014 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses NEW! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. NEW! QSEN Safety interventions and rationales NEW! 100 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on the companion Evolve website. NEW! Root Causing Thinking and Motivational Interviewing appendixes on the companion Evolve website.
Publication Date: 2013-02-13
Nursing Leadership and Management for Patient Safety and Quality Care by Elizabeth MurrayDevelops the skills needed to be effective nurse leaders and managers--from managing patient care to managing staff and organizations. Encompasses new quality care initiatives, including those from the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Report, AACN Essentials of Baccalaureate Education, and Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) Initiative which form the foundation of the content. Features an evidence-based and best practices approach. Discusses the essentials of critical thinking, decision-making and problem solving, including concepts such as SWOT, root-cause analysis, and plan-do-study-act. Demonstrates how to manage conflict, manage teams and personnel, change theory, and budgeting. Uses a consistent pedagogy in each chapter, including key terms, learning outcomes, learning activities, coverage of evidence, research and best practices, and a chapter summary.
Publication Date: 2017-02-16
Maternal-Newborn Nursing by Linda Chapman; Roberta DurhamA better way to learn maternal and newborn nursing! This unique multi-media package presents tightly focused coverage in a highly structured book of 500 pages plus 10 hours of recorded content. All of the field's must-have information is delivered in an easy-to-grasp, visually clear and precise print design, while the digital audio files on the enclosed CD enable students to download the material to their MP3 players or listen at their computers. BONUS Audio Book on CD-ROM with 10 hours of narrated content from the text to play on a computer or download to an MP3 player or iPod.
Publication Date: 2009-11-12
Pediatric Nursing by Kathryn Rudd; Diane KociskoDelivers the critical-to-know content in two ways--in print and as digital audio files. Meets the challenge of limited course time by efficiently organizing information in bulleted lists, flow charts, diagrams, tables, clinical pathways, and concept maps. Lets students download the audio book with 10 hours of narrated content to listen to their text any time, anywhere. Presents case study care plans that integrate theoretical content into real life situations and concerns. Uses pedagogical tools to organize and highlight important concepts including.... Unit and chapter objectives Key terms Concept maps Clinical pathways Care plans Standards of care and position statements End of chapter review questions Glossary
Publication Date: 2013-10-10
Calculating Drug Dosages by Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo; Maryanne Werner-McCulloughKnow the what, when, how, and why. All major methods--linear ratio and proportion, fractional ratio and proportion, dimensional analysis, and the formula method. Detailed photographs & illustrations with precise descriptions on how to analyze equipment and understand medication labels. Drug information from Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®. Prevent medication errors. The most recent National Patient Safety Goals and The Joint Commission (TJC) standards. In-depth coverage of complex topics, including Intake and Output, Parenteral Intake, NG Tube Feeding Strength, and Labeling IVs. Practice in any setting. Thousands of questions in the text with rationales and step-by-step equation setups. Interactive Student Exercises, Online Review Questions, Animations, Podcasts, and much more online at DavisPlus
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Anne M. Van Leeuwen; Mickey L. BladhThe information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this handbook delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Plus, a Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests. Explore MORE online at DavisPlus! Redeem the Plus Code inside new, printed texts to unlock your Student Resources, including the new Davis's Lab & Dx Tests Library, all of the monographs in the book, Interactive Exercises, and other valuable resources.
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by Mary C. TownsendNew DSM-5 Content! Whether it's an entire course on psychiatric nursing or integrating these principles into an existing course, this is the text that's concise, engaging, and informative. It offers an evidence-based, holistic approach to mental health nursing--in a streamlined format that explores nursing diagnoses for both physiological and psychological disorders. It's the psychiatric nursing text that students actually read, understand, and use. Completely revised, the 6th Edition reflects all of the new knowledge in the field and the practice of mental health nursing today, including DSM-5, NANDA-I 2012-2014, and QSEN.
Call Number: 7 copies
Publication Date: 2013-08-16
Medical-Surgical Nursing by Sharon L. Lewis; Shannon Ruff Dirksen; Margaret M. Heitkemper; Linda BucherWritten by a dedicated team of expert authors led by Sharon Lewis, Medical-Surgical Nursing, 8th Edition offers up-to-date coverage of the latest trends, hot topics, and clinical developments in the field, to help you provide exceptional care in today's fast-paced health care environment. Completely revised and updated content explores patient care in various clinical settings and focuses on key topics such as prioritization, clinical decision-making, patient safety, and NCLEX® exam preparation. A variety of helpful boxes and tables make it easy to find essential information and the accessible writing style makes even complex concepts easy to grasp! Best of all - a complete collection of interactive learning and study tools help you learn more effectively and offer valuable, real-world preparation for clinical practice. Highly readable format gives you a strong foundation in medical-surgical nursing. Content written and reviewed by leading experts in the field ensures that the information is comprehensive, current, and clinically accurate. Bridge to NCLEX Examination review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce key content while helping you prepare for the NCLEX examination with both standard and alternate item format questions. UNIQUE! "Levels of Care" approach explains how nursing care varies for different levels of health and illness. More than 50 comprehensive nursing care plans in the book and online incorporate NIC, NOC, and current NANDA diagnoses, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, specific nursing interventions with rationales, evaluation criteria, and collaborative problems. Over 800 full-color illustrations and photographs clearly demonstrate disease processes and related anatomy and physiology. NEW! Unfolding case studies included throughout each assessment chapter help you apply important concepts and procedures to real-life patient care. NEW! Managing Multiple Patients case studies at the end of each section give you practice applying your knowledge of various disorders and help you prioritize and delegate patient care. NEW! Informatics boxes discuss how technology is used by nurses and patients in health care settings. NEW! Expanded coverage of evidence-based practice helps you understand how to apply the latest research to real-life patient care. NEW! Expanded Safety Alerts throughout the book cover surveillance for high-risk situations. NEW! Separate chapter on genetics expands on this key topic that impacts nearly every condition with a focus on the practical application to nursing care of patients. NEW! Expanded coverage of delegation includes additional Delegation Decisions boxes covering issues such as hypertension and postoperative patient care. NEW! Genetic Risk Alerts and Genetic Link headings highlight specific genetic issues related to body system assessments and disorders. NEW! Revised art program enhances the book's visual appeal and lends a more contemporary look throughout.
Pocket Companion for Physical Examination and Health Assessment by Carolyn JarvisPocket Companion for Physical Examination & Health Assessment, 7th Edition makes it fast and easy to look up essential assessment skills and techniques. You’ll conduct more effective exams by referring to summaries of examination steps, normal versus abnormal findings, lifespan and multicultural considerations, and over 250 full-color photos and illustrations.