Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Tribal Law: International Indigenous Resources

Introduction

This list of research guides from other libraries and sources is not all-inclusive of such guides.  It is intended as a survey of other institution's research guides which are located both in the United States and internationally, and which provide a diverse set of explanations and resources.

Other Law Library guides and research resources

University of Minnesota’s Human Rights Library houses more than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments. The site also provides access to more than four thousands links and a unique search device for multiple human rights sites. Documents are available in nine languages - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Swedish.

Inter-American Court of Human Rights Project at Loyola Las Angeles ("IACHR Project") is a student-run organization that seeks to increase access to decisions rendered by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights ("Inter-American Court") in order to assist students, practitioners, and scholars in strengthening human rights law in the Americas.

Loyola Law School IACHR database provides access to IACHR decisions, including a brief description of the case itself, the date of the Court's Judgment on the Merits, violations found by the Court, Judges who rendered the Judgement on the Merits, Judges who authored separate opinions (if any), whether the State raised preliminary objections or accepted international responsibility, and the topics covered in this case.

Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law, GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research, committed to the dissemination of high-level international, foreign, and comparative law research tools in order to accommodate the needs of an increasingly global educational and practicing legal world.  This resource is not solely dedicated to indigenous legal research, but does include some, specifically the Research Guide on Indigenous Peoples International Law.

University of New Mexico’s Indian Law Research Guide: International Indigenous Issues which provides resources on International Organizations, Treaties, including Canada, and Australia.

Northeastern University School of Law’s Rights of Indigenous Peoples research guide is intended both for law students and scholars seeking information about international indigenous land rights. This touches upon human rights law research issues, which is more deeply dealt with by their Human Rights Research Guide

Arizona State University’s Law Library provides a guide on Indian Law: International Indigenous Law listing secondary sources, and international documents, as well as international organizations.

Latin American Network Information Center is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. The Center’s web page on indigenous peoples is no longer updated but provides useful archival information and links to websites focused on indigenous peoples in Latin America. Links are organized by country and tribe.

The National Indian Law Library has a Research Guide for International Indigenous Rights related to Native Americans.

LLMC-Digital’s Indigenous Law Portal – Global, is a collection of documents collected over a long period of time, providing access to indigenous resources from the US, Alaska, Canada, Mexico, North and Central America.  Not all the resources are in english.  LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital.

University of Ottawa’s Aboriginal and Indigenous Law guide grants access to mostly Canadian legal resources related to aboriginal and indigenous law.

University of Melbourne’s What is Indigenous Law? - Indigenous Law – Law Library Guides is a research guide created to help research indigenous law in Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the US.  It provides some very good definitions and also explanations of terminology.