Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Tribal Law: International Indigenous Resources

United Nations Resources

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples was adopted in 2007 by the UN General Assembly. It establishes a universal framework of minimum standards for the survival, dignity and well-being of the indigenous peoples of the world and it elaborates on existing human rights standards and fundamental freedoms as they apply to the specific situation of indigenous peoples

The Report on the State of the World’s Indigenous Peoples promotes awareness of indigenous peoples’ issues within the United Nations system, with States, academia and the broader public.

UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII) is a high- level advisory body to the Economic and Social Council. The Forum was established on 28 July 2000 by resolution 2000/22, with the mandate to deal with indigenous issues related to economic and social development, culture, the environment, education, health and human rights.

UN Special Rapporteur on the rights of Indigenous Peoples works to advance legal, administrative, and programmatic reforms at the domestic level to implement the standards of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and other relevant international instruments.

UN Digital Library creates and provides content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. Our products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions.

UN Universal Human Rights Index is an on-line information tool, designed primarily to facilitate access to human rights documents issued by the United Nations human rights treaty bodies and the special procedures of the Human Rights Council. This tool contains all the concluding observations issued by the treaty bodies from the year 2000, as well as conclusions and recommendations of the Human Rights Council's special procedures concerning specific countries adopted since 2006 and recommendations made in the framework of the Human Rights Council's Universal Periodic Review mechanism.

State of the World’s Indigenous Peoples – Reports is a report that is intended to be a key advocacy tool for raising awareness on indigenous peoples’ issues in general and in particular to raise the profile of the Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues (UNPFII). In addition, the report is intended to be of value for deliberations within the Economic and Social Council, the General Assembly and other bodies of the UN system.

Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (UN Human Rights) is the leading UN entity on human rights. We represent the world's commitment to the promotion and protection of the full range of human rights and freedoms set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.  

Status of UN treaty ratifications is an interactive cite maintained by the UN Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner, showing the status of international human rights treaties.

United Nations Treaty Collection provides access to the 9 core international human rights instruments and their monitoring bodies.

UN Indigenous Peoples and Minority Section provides access to a variety of documents and activities of the UN Human Rights Office in their efforts to advance the rights of indigenous peoples.

Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples  provides the Human Rights Council with expertise and advice on the rights of Indigenous Peoples. It assists Member States in achieving the goals of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Dag Hammerskjold Library, Indigenous Issues: Quick Guide provides delegates and UN Secretariat Staff with selected content from both UN and non-UN sources. It references third-party web sites, books and articles. It does not imply the endorsement of the content by the United Nations.

United Nations Digital Library  The Dag Hammarskjöld Library (the Library) creates content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. Our products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions.  Content, data and metadata created by the Library may be accessed and used free of charge for non-commercial use, provided appropriate acknowledgement is given as follows: © United Nations, 2021, https://digitallibrary.un.org, downloaded on [date].

UN NGO Branch supports the work of the Committee on NGOs of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the intergovernmental body responsible for granting consultative status with ECOSOC to non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

OHCHR Library and Human Rights Gateway provides access to OHCHR publications, Human Rights Training and Education publications, Books, reports, periodicals, videos, DVDs on human rights, Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) collection of books, videos, DVDs and memorabilia is available for viewing in the Lobby of the Motta building, and UDHR translations.