Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

BA Law - Certificate in Tribal Courts and Justice Administration

Resources for BA students in the Certificate in Tribal Courts and Justice Administration program

Native American Tribes - Federal and National Resources

This section provides information resources for and about Tribes and Native Villages in the United States.   The next section provides more detailed information for the tribes in Arizona.

There are 574 federally recognized Indian tribes and Alaska Native Villages in the United States. 

The U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) within the US Department of Interior currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. A list of federally recognized tribes and Alaska native villages is published annually (usually in January) in the Federal Register.

The BIA Tribal Leaders Directory provides a listing of all these tribes and their contact information.  This is an electronic, map based, interactive directory which also provides information about each BIA region and agency that provides services to a specific tribe.  Additionally, the directory provides contact information for Bureau of Indian Affairs leadership.

Of the 574 tribes, approximately 250 have established tribal court and justice administration systemsWhen researching a tribe's legal system, you may want to start with information about the tribe and the types of primary resources you will need for your research.

The National Indian Law Library's Tribal Law Gateway contains an index by tribe, listing sources for tribal constitutions, codes, and court opinions. The National Indian Law Library (NILL) also provides these helpful "How To Find" tips for locating the types of sources you may need including research guides for:

Another useful resource is the Native Nations Institute Indigenous Governance Database. The database provides free access to 1500 video, audio, and text resources. The database is searchable by native nation, format, and search terms. An account is required to access the content. 

The UA Law Library's IPLP LibGuide also has useful resource information.

The following additional resources provide information about and for tribal justice systems. 

The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is a project of the Tribal Law and Policy Institute, and is a comprehensive website to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country.  It  includes a wealth of tribal, state, and federal resources. The Clearinghouse contains extensive resources on tribal, state, and federal law along with extensive Indian country subject-matter resources, a training events calendar, and resources from all Tribal Law and Policy Institute webinars. 

Indigenous Law Portal from the Library of Congress provides access to materials as well as links to tribal websites and primary source materials found on the web. Tribal information includes constitutions and codes and can be browsed by region, state, and alphabetically.

Harvard's Caselaw Access Project (CAP) also includes some tribal court decisions - those published in West's American Tribal Law Reporter (1997-2017).   Unfortunately, CAP does not include cases as they are published, cases not designated as officially published, nor, non-published trial documents.

Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library, and Native American tribes, which provides access to tribal constitutions, tribal codes, and other tribal legal documents. (While this is an old resource and has not been updated in a number of years, it still is a good resource starting out - think historical information.)

Indigenous Digital Archive is a project of the Museum of Indian Arts & Culture in collaboration with the New Mexico State Library Tribal Libraries Program and the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center The Indigenous Digital Archive will help you explore the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries.  Explore, annotate and learn from over 500,000 archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School and others, all kinds of boarding school records, yearbooks, and letters.

Arizona Tribes

In these tabs are links for and to the 22 tribes in Arizona and their resources.  Some Tribes make more information available online than others. 

  • Another place for information about each of the tribes in Arizona is the Intertribal Council of Arizona (ITCA)  The ITCA was established in 1952 to provide a united voice for tribal governments located in the State of Arizona to address common issues of concerns.
  • There are additional resources at the Tribal Court Clearinghouse, and the National Indian Law Library.   
  • There are also some tribal materials located in the UA Law Library. Please note they may not be current, as the Tribes do not always provide updated information or don't make it available at all to libraries.   

The best source and resource for Tribal materials is always going to be the Tribe itself.

              

Ak-Chin Indian Community

  • Article of Association of the Ak-Chin Indian Community can be found in the UA Law Library. (Tribal Law   KF8228.P25 A5 197- )
  • Law and Order Code of the Maricopa Ak-Chin Indian Community can be found in the UA Law Library. (Microfiche IN-9 1980 ed. Cabinet 18)
  • Ak-Chin Tribal Court contact Information is within the Departments tab on the Tribal website in Community Administration.

 

Cocopah Tribe

 

         

Colorado River Indian Tribes 

  • CRIT Laws and Ordinances
  • CRIT Tribal Court contact information is contained within the CRIT website on the Tribal Departments tab and directory.
  • Constitution and by-laws of the Colorado River Indian Tribes can be found in the UA Law Library here (KF8228.Y95 A5 197-  ) and here (KF8228.C843 1947)

 

                                            

Fort Mojave Indian Tribe of Arizona

 

              

Gila River Indian Community

 

         

Havasupai Tribe

 

                    

Hopi Tribe

  • Judicial Branch - Tribal Courts  The Court provides access to Hopi Laws on their webpage, in addition to Tribal Appellate Court decisions.  The Court does note that the copies on their website are not original documents, and that the Hopi Tribal Secretary’s Office can be contacted for official copies.
  • Constitution and by-laws of the Hopi Tribe can be found at the UA Law Library here (KF8228.H7 A5 1969) and here (KF8228.H7 A5 1969 Amend. 1993)

 

  

Hualapai Tribe

 

     

Kaibab-Paiute Tribe

  • Tribal Court   This contains contact information, and a link to their SORNA site.  They do not provide access to other Tribal laws or court opinions.
  • Constitution and bylaws of the Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians can be found in the UA Law Library.  (KF8228.P2 A5 1965)

 

       

Navajo Nation

 

             

Pascua Yaqui Tribe

 

Pueblo of Zuni

  • Zuni holds lands within northeastern Arizona, which has no permanent residents.
  • Their seat of government is in Zuni, New Mexico
  • The Zuni Tribal Court provides electronic access to some of their codes and the Constitution.

 

Quechan Tribe

              

Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community

 

         

San Carlos Apache Tribe

San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe of Arizona

 

  

Tohono O'odham Nation

  • Tribal Court
  • Tribal Codes
  • Tohono O’odham Civil code is available in the UA Law Library.  (KF8228.P25 A5 1991)
  • Tohono O’odham code is available at the UA Law Library. (KF8228.P25 A5 2006)
  • Tohono O’odham Children’s Code is available in the UA Law Library. (KF8228.P25 A5 1987b)

 

 

   

Tonto Apache Tribe - the Tonto Apache Tribe does not have a webpage of its own. 

       

White Mountain Apache Tribe

     

Yavapai-Apache Nation

 

   

Yavapai-Apache Nation