Skip to main content
Banner Image

Legal Self-Help Publications

Several publishers publish books designed to aid the lay person in legal matters. The following materials are held in this library.

General Information

Several publishers publish books designed to aid the lay person in legal matters. The following materials are held in this library. Nolo Press also has a website which contains additional information at www.nolopress.com. Their plain English law centers contain an online law dictionary, legal encyclopedia, calculators, and information on how to research the law.

Self-Help Bibliography

  • 8 Ways to Avoid Probate, Mary Randolph (12th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF750.Z9 R36 2018.

  • 101 Law Forms for Personal Use, Editors of Nolo (10th ed., Nolo Press 2016). Location: Law Reference KF170 .L46 2016.

  • 1001 Legal Words You Need to Know, Jay M. Feinman ed. (Oxford Univ. Press 2003). Location: Law Reference KF156 .A113 2003.

  • The ABA Consumer Guide to Adopting a Child: Everything You Need to Know for a Successful Adoption, Robert A. Kasky & Jeffrey A. Kasky (ABA Pub. 2016). Location: Law Reference KF545 .K373 2015.

  • The American Bar Association Guide to Wills and Estates: Everything You Need to Know about Wills, Estates, Trusts, and Taxes, American Bar Association (4th ed., ABA Pub. 2012). Location: Law Reserve KF750.Z9 A47 2012.

  • The Americans with Disabilities Act (Oceana’s Law for the Layperson Series), Margaret C. Jasper (2d ed., Oceana 2008). Location: Law Reference KF480.Z9 J37 2008.

  • Arrested: What to Do When Your Loved One's in Jail, Wes Denham (Chicago Review Press, 2010). Location: Law Reference HV8886.U6 D46 2010.

  • Auto Claims without Attorneys: A Guide to Settlement, Douglas C. Fitzpatrick (Courtney Publishing, 2001). Location: Law Reserve KF1219.Z9 F58 2001.

  • Beat Your Ticket: Go to Court & Win, David W. Brown (7th ed., Nolo Press 2012). Location: Law Reference KF2231 .B76 2013.

  • Becoming a U.S. Citizen: A Guide to the Law, Exam & Interview, Ilona Bray (9th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF4710.Z9 B73 2019.

  • Building a Parenting Agreement that Works: Child Custody Agreements Step by Step, Mimi Lyster Zemmelman (9th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF547 .L97 2018.

  • Chapter 13 Bankruptcy: Keep Your Property & Repay Debts Over Time, Cara O'Neill (14th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF1524.85 .E45 2018.

  • Checklist for Family Survivors: A Guide to Practical and Legal Matters When Someone You Love Dies, Sally Balch Hurme (ABA 2014). Location: Law Reference KF3827.D4 H87 2014.

  • Checklist for My Family: A Guide to My History, Financial Plans and Final Wishes, Sally Balch Hurme (ABA Pub. 2015). Location: Law Reference KF750 .H87 2015.

  • Cómo otorgar un poder legal para tomar las decisiones sobre el cuidado de su salud:  Una guía fácil de usar, junto con un formulario legal para todos los adultos, Asociación de Abogados de Los Estados Unidos, Comisión sobre la Ley y el Envejecimiento (2011). Location: Law Reference KF1347.A65 A45 2011.

  • The Complete Bankruptcy Guide for Consumers and Small Businesses: Everything You Need to Know Explained So You can Understand It, Sandy Baker (Atlantic Pub. Group 2011). Location: Law Reference HG3766 .B216 2011.

  • The Complete IEP Guide: How to Advocate for Your Special Ed Child, Lawrence M. Siegel (9th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF4209.3 .S57 2017.

  • Consultant & Independent Contractor Agreements, Stephen Fishman (9th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF898 .F567 2017.

  • The Copyright Handbook: What Every Writer Needs to Know, Stephen Fishman (13th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF2995 .F53 2017.

  • Credit Repair: Make a Plan, Improve Your Credit, Avoid Scams, Amy Loftsgordon & Cara O'Neill (13th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference HG3756.U54 L46 2017.

  • The Criminal Law Handbook: Know Your Rights, Survive the System, Paul Bergman & Sara J. Berman (16th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF9619.85 .B47 2020.

  • Dealing with Problem Employees: How to Manage Performance & Personality Issues in the Workplace, Amy DelPo & Lisa Guerin (10th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF3457 .D45 2019.

  • Deeds for California Real Estate, Mary Randolph (8th ed., Nolo Press 2010). Location: Law Reference KFC170 .R35 2010.

  • Divorce: Protect Yourself, Your Kids, and Your Future, Randall Kessler (ABA 2014). Location: Law Reference KF 535 .Z9 K47 2014.

  • Divorce without Court: A Guide to Mediation & Collaborative Divorce, Katherine E. Stoner (5th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF535 .S76 2019.

  • The Employer's Legal Handbook, Fred S. Steingold (14th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF3455 .S74 2019.

  • The Essential Guide to Federal Employment Laws, Lisa Guerin & Sachi Barreiro (6th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF3455 .G835 2019.

  • Estate Planning Basics, Denis Clifford (10th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF750.Z9 C585 2020.

  • Every Dog's Legal Guide:  A Must-Have Book for Your Owner, Mary Randolph (7th ed., Nolo Press 2012). Location: Law Reference KF390.5.D6 R36 2012.

  • Every Landlord’s Legal Guide, Marcia Stewart & Janet Portman (14th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF590.Z9 S74 2018.

  • Every Landlord’s Tax Deduction Guide, Stephen Fishman (16th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF6377.Z9 F57 2019.

  • Every Tenant’s Legal Guide, Janet Portman & Marcia Stewart (9th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF590.Z9 P67 2018.

  • Everybody’s Guide to Small Claims Court, Cara O'Neill (18th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF8769 .O54 2020.

  • The Executor’s Guide: Settling a Loved One’s Estate or Trust, Mary Randolph (8th ed., Nolo Pres 2018). Location: Law Reference KF778.Z9 R36 2018.

  • Fiancé & Marriage Visas: A Couple’s Guide to U.S. Immigration, Ilona Bray (10th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF 819.87 .B73 2019.

  • The Financial Power of Attorney Workbook, Shae Irving (Mary Randolph ed., Nolo Press 2000). Location: Law Reference KF1347.Z9 I78 2000.

  • Finding the Answers to Legal Questions, Virginia Tucker & Marc Lampson (2nd ed., Neal-Shuman Pub. 2018). Location: Law Reference KF240 .T83 2018.

  • First-Time Landlord: Your Guide to Renting Out a Single-Family Home, Janet Portman, Ilona Bray, & Marcia Stewart (4th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location:  Law Reference HD1394.5.U6 P67 2017).

  • Getting Permission: Using & Licensing Copyright-Protected Materials Online & Off, Richard Stim (7th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF3002 .S75 2019.

  • Giving Someone a Power of Attorney for Your Health Care: A Guide with an Easy-to-Use, Legal Form for All Adults, ABA, Commission on Law & Aging (2011). Location: Law Reference KF1347.A65 A45 2011.

  • Grandparents’ Rights, Traci Truly (3d ed., Sphinx Pub. 2001). Location: Law Reference KF547.Z9 T78 2001.

  • How and When to be Your Own Lawyer: A Step-by-Step Guide to Effectively Using Our Legal System, Robert W. Schachner with Marvin Quittner (2d ed., Berkeley Pub. Group, 2000). Location: Law Reference KF8841 .S32 2000.

  • How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, Cara O'Neill & Albin Renauer (21st ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference HG3766 .O54 2019.

  • How to Form a Nonprofit Corporation, Anthony Mancuso (14th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF1388 .M36 2019.

  • How to Get a Green Card, Ilona Bray & Loida Nicolas Lewis; updated by Kristina Gasson (13th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF4840 .L49 2018.

  • How to Get Your Business on the Web, Fred Steingold (Nolo Press 2001). Location: Law Reference KF390.5.C6 S74 2001.

  • How to Register Your Own Trademark, Mark Warda (3d ed., Sphinx Pub. 2000). Location: Law Reference KF3181.Z9 W374 2000.

  • How to Survive and Prosper After a Financial Misfortune: A Complete Guide to Your Legal Rights after Bankruptcy, Foreclosure, Repossession, and Eviction, Tracy A. Carr (Atlantic Pub. Group 2011). Location: Law Reference KF1524.85 .C37 2011.

  • How to Win Your Personal Injury Claim, Joseph L. Matthews (10th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF1257 .M38 2018.

  • The Inventor’s Notebook: A "Patent it Yourself" Companion, Fred Grissom & David Pressman (5th ed., Nolo Press 2008). Location: Law Reference KF3120.Z9 G75 2008.

  • IRAs, 401(k)s, & Other Retirement Plans: Strategies for Taking Your Money Out, Twila Slesnick & John C. Suttle (14th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF3510.Z8 S54 2019.

  • Kids Law: A Practical Guide to Juvenile Justice, John W. Biggers (Black Spring Books 2003). Location: Law Reference KF479 .B55 2002.

  • The Law of Adoption (Oceana’s Law for the Layperson Series), Margaret C. Jasper (Oceana 2008). Location: Law Reference KF545.Z9 J374 2008.

  • The Lawsuit Survival Guide: A Client’s Companion to Litigation, Joseph Matthews (Nolo Press 2001). Location: Law Reference KF8863 .M28 2001.

  • Leases & Rental Agreements, Marcia Stewart & Janet Portman (13th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF590.Z9 S744 2019.

  • The Legal Answer Book for Families, Emily Doskow & Marcia Stewart (2d ed., Nolo Press 2014). Location: Law Reference KF505.Z9 D67 2014.

  • A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples, Frederick Hertz & Emily Doskow (19th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF539 .H47 2018.

  • Legal Guide for Military Families: Everything You Need to Know about Family Law, Estate Planning, and the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (ABA 2013). Location: Law Reference KF390.M55 L43 2013.

  • Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business, Fred S. Steingold & David M. Steingold (16th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF1659 .S745 2019.

  • Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the Law, Editors of Nolo (18th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF242.A1 E43 2018.

  • Living Together: A Legal Guide for Unmarried Couples, Frederick Hertz & Lina Guillen (16th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF538 .I35 2017.

  • Living Together: Practical Legal Issues, Margaret C. Jasper (Oceana Publications, 2003). Location: Law Reference KF538.Z9 J37 2003.

  • Make Your Own Living Trust, Denis Clifford (14th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF734 .C58 2019.

  • The Manager’s Legal Handbook, Lisa Guerin & Sachi Barreiro (10th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF3455 .M365 2020.

  • Music Law: How to Run Your Band’s Business, Richard Stim (9th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF390.E57 S87 2018.

  • National Consumer Law Center Guide to Surviving Debt, Deanne Loonin, principal author (National Consumer Law Center, 2008). Location: Law Reference KF1040 .L66 2008.

  • Neighbor Law: Fences, Trees, Boundaries & Noise, Emily Doskow & Lina Guillen (9th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF639 .D67 2017).

  • The New Bankruptcy: Will It Work for You? Cara O'Neill (8th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF1524.85 .O54 2020.

  • Nolo’s Deposition Handbook, Paul Bergman & Albert J. Moore (5th ed., Nolo Press 2010). Location: Law Reference KF8900 .B44 2010.

  • Nolo’s Encyclopedia of Everyday Law: Answers to Your Most Frequently Asked Legal Questions, Shae Irving & Nolo Editors (11th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF387 .N65 2020.

  • Nolo's Essential Guide to Buying Your First Home, Ilona Bray, Ann O'Connell, & Marcia Stewart (7th ed., Nolo Press 2019. Location: Law Reference HD1390.5 .B734 2019.

  • Nolo’s Essential Guide to Child Custody & Support, Emily Doskow (Nolo 2011). Location: Law Reference KF 547 .D67 2011.

  • Nolo’s Essential Guide to Divorce, Emily Doskow (7th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF535.Z9 D67 2018.

  • Nolo’s Guide to Social Security Disability: Getting & Keeping Your Benefits, David A. Morton III (10th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference HD7105.25.U6 M675 2020.

  • Nolo's IEP Guide: Learning Disabilities, Lawrence M. Siegel (8th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF4209.3 .S573 2020.

  • Nolo’s Patents for Beginners, David Pressman & Richard Stim (9th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF3114.85 .P737 2018.

  • Nolo’s Quick LLC: All You Need to Know About Limited Liability Companies, Anthony Mancuso (10th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF1380 . M363 2019.

  • Patent, Copyright & Trademark, Richard Stim (15th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF2972 .P38 15th 2017.

  • Patent It Yourself: Your Step-by-Step Guide to Filing at the U.S. Patent Office, David Pressman & David E. Blau (19th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF3114.6 .P74 2018.

  • Patent Searching Made Easy: How to do Patent Searches on the Internet and in the Library, David Hitchcock (6th ed., Nolo Press 2013). Location: Law Referemce T210 .H58 2013).

  • Plan Your Estate, Denis Clifford (14th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF750.Z9 C59 2018.

  • The Public Domain : Find and Use Free Content for your Website, Book, App, Music, Video, Art, and More, Stephen Fishman, J.D. ((th ed, Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF3022 ǂb .F575 2020

  • Quick & Legal Will Book, Denis Clifford (8th ed., Nolo Press 2017). Location: Law Reference KF755 .C55 2017.

  • Renters’ Rights, Janet Portman & Marcia Stewart (9th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF590.Z9 P673 2018.

  • Represent Yourself in Court: How to Prepare and Try a Winning Case, Paul Bergman & Sara J. Berman (10th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF8841 .B47 2019.

  • Sexual Harassment on the Job: What It Is & How to Stop It, William Petrocelli & Barbara Kate Repa (4th ed., Nolo Press 1999). Location: Law Reference KF3467.Z9 P47 1999.

  • The Small Business Start-Up Kit, Peri H. Pakroo (11th ed., Nolo Press 2020). Location: Law Reference KF1659 .P35 2020.

  • Social Security, Medicare, and Government Pensions: Get the Most Out of Your Retirement & Medical Benefits, Joseph L. Matthews (25th ed., 2020). Location: Law Reference KF3650 .M37 2020.

  • Special Needs Trusts: Protect Your Child’s Financial Future, Stephen Elias (Nolo Press 2005). Location: Law Reference KF480.Z9 E435 2005.

  • Starting & Building a Nonprofit: A Practical Guide, Peri H. Pakroo (8th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference HD62.6 .P345 2019.

  • Take Control of Your Student Loan Debt, Robin Leonard & Deanne Loonin (3d ed., Nolo Press 2001). Location: Law Reference LB2337.4 .L46 2001.

  • Unmarried Parents’ Rights, Jacqueline D. Stanley (3d ed., Sphinx Pub. 2005). Location: Law Reference KF547.Z9 S72 2005.

  • U.S. Immigration Made Easy, Ilona Bray; updated by Richard Link (19th ed., Nolo Press 2019). Location: Law Reference KF4819.6 .U2 2019.

  • Winning Your Personal Injury Claim, Evan K. Aidman (2d ed., Sphinx Pub. 2001). Location: Law Reference KF1257.Z9 A38 2001.

  • Working for Yourself: Law & Taxes for Independent Contractors, Freelancers & Gig Workers of All Types, Stephen Fishman (11th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF390.I54 F57 2018.

  • Your Rights in the Workplace, Sachi Barreiro (11th ed., Nolo Press 2018). Location: Law Reference KF3455 .B37 2018.

08/14/2020 JKU