LibGuides: HDFS 150B1- Men, Fatherhood &amp; Families: Biocultural Perspectives: Home

Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Find reports and analysis on a variety of current issues. Includes background information, pro/con debates, and a chronology of the issue.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books and book chapters, and conference papers about gender & women's studies, LGBT and sexual diversity issues, from 1972-present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports.
To set up access to UA Libraries full text from off campus or export to a citation manager, click "more" below.

Tutorial
The following configuration may be needed to access UA-subscribed content from off campus:
1. In Google Scholar, open the "hamburger" menu in the far upper left next to the Google Scholar logo and select "Settings.
2. From the settings menu, select "Library links".
3. Type "University of Arizona" in box and select "University of Arizona - Full-Text @ UofA Libraries". Then click Save.
4. When searching, articles for which we have full text access will display with a link "Full-Text @ UofA Libraries"; select this link to access it. (Please note that this link may be hidden in the smaller links below the citation, and you may need to click on the double arrow to the right of them to find it.)
5. To export citations to a bibliography manager, such as RefWorks or EndNote, go to the Settings menu, click on "search results", select the desired manager in the drop-down menu next to "show links to import citations into", and Save.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Tutorial
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find abstracts and citations to journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, and books in sociology and other related social sciences.

Cite your sources

APA Style Guide
Examples in the UA Library Citation Guide from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.
Building APA Citations
An interactive tutorial that teaches you how to create citations in the APA style.
Citation Guide (University of Arizona Libraries)
Learn about citation resources including citation guides for MLA, APA and the Chicago Manual of Style. Link to information about software for creating citations and bibliographies including Refworks and EndNote Web.
Documenting your sources: APA Style
Interactive tutorial that teaches how to create in-text citations in APA style.
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This is an informative APA guide designed specifically for students.

Learn more with tutorials

Evaluating Web Resources
Learn how to evaluate information found on the internet.
Popular vs Scholarly Sources
Learn the difference between scholarly and popular sources.
Searching PsycINFO
Learn how to find articles, dissertations and book chapters on psychology and behavioral health in the PsycINFO database.
Stop Thief! Avoiding Plagiarism by Paraphrasing
A short YouTube video (8 min 3 sec) that helps you learn how to paraphrase your sources when writing a research paper.

Library services

The University Libraries offer services, spaces, software, and equipment that will help you in your studies and research for HDFS 150B1 and other courses.

Borrow technology
The University Libraries loans out all kinds of technology including laptops, iPads, Androids, calculators, cameras, etc.
Document delivery from the Libraries collections
We offer electronic delivery of articles & book chapters from the library's collection. Books and other library materials can also be delivered for free to UA faculty, staff, and students who reside more than 30 miles from the University.
Express retrieval
A free service where we pull items from our shelves and place them on the hold shelf for you. It is available at the Main, Science-Engineering, Fine Arts, and Arizona Health Sciences.
Interlibrary loan
If we don't have the material you need, we can borrow it from another library. This is a free service for UA students, faculty, and staff.
Rooms & spaces
Reserve a library study room! Technology study rooms have presentation equipment and can be used for Skype interviews!
Software on the Infocommons workstations
A wide range of software is installed on all of the Information Commons computers in the University Libraries.

Get help

If you have questions about course assignments, contact your professor.

If you need help with library resources or services, please use the Libraries' Ask Us services or contact Jeanne Pfander, Liaison Librarian for HDFS. See also the list of other liaison librarians on the Find your librarian page.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

HDFS 150B1- Men, Fatherhood & Families: Biocultural Perspectives

Get started

Databases

Browse scholarly journals

Cite your sources

Learn more with tutorials

Library services

Get help

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

HDFS 150B1- Men, Fatherhood & Families: Biocultural Perspectives

Get started

Databases

Browse scholarly journals

Cite your sources

Learn more with tutorials

Library services

Get help

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect