Market Research: Databases, E-books & Ad Rates - RCSC 400 - Retail & Marketing Strategies

Market research

Market-share information can be difficult to find for some industries. Here are some places to start your search.

In databases like Business Source Ultimate or ABI/INFORM, try some of these search techniques to help focus your search:

Company name AND (sales OR "market share")
Industry name AND (sales OR "market share")
Industry name AND ranking*

Databases for market research

Great places to start

IbisWorld This link opens in a new window
Find industry market research from the United States, including industry reports by NAICS code and specialty reports.

MarketResearch.com Academic
Find market research reports and forecasts for consumer goods and a wide range of industries. This is where you can find Packaged Facts.
Mintel Academic Market Research
Find market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Each report describes the economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Reports cover consumer markets in the U.S. and Europe.
Market Share Reporter
(To access this, select the "Find a Specific Item" link in the library search and select the "journal" option.) It features market share reports for brand-name products and companies. Search by company, brand name, keyword, or NAICS code. Market share is shown as a percent of total industry or product sales for a specific period.
ReferenceUSA
Helps users create marketing plans and conduct competitive analysis. This database has access to more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. new homeowners.
Data Planet Statistical Datasets
Explore a vast collection of US and international statistics in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Tutorial

Advanced tools

Euromonitor's Passport
This global market research database provides statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news. See the Tutorials tab of this guide for a quick lesson on how to use Passport.

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Find data, research and technology covering the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions.
Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.
For problems logging into an existing account, click the "Create an account" link, enter your name and arizona.edu email address and "create", then click on the link in the email you receive and reset password.
Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.

TableBase
An excellent resource for finding market share across industries. Provides tabular data about companies, industries, products, markets, and consumer behavior. [Note: Limited number of simultaneous users. If you can't access, please try again later.]