LibGuides: Literature in English: Get started

Librarian

Encyclopedias & handbooks

Oxford English Dictionary online This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of the OED's 20-volume Second Edition and 3-volume Additions Series. Also includes draft material from the current OED project, representing the latest progress towards a completely revised and updated Third Edition. The OED online can be used to perform simple searches for word definitions, or for full-text searching of all OED's definitions, etymologies and quotations through the Search function. Updated quarterly.
Tutorial

The Oxford Companion to English Lterature
The leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivaled coverage of all aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Consists of 350 essays from leading scholars covering the range of American literary history from the 1600s to present.
The Oxford encyclopedia of British literature
Consists of 500 entries that provide comprehensive coverage of the history of British literature.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies and research guides by scholars in a range of subject areas, including cinema & media, international relations, literature, classics, medieval studies, Latin American studies, and more.

Research guides

A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students
Helps students avoid the pitfalls of conducting library research for term papers and theses. Shows undergraduates how to use their research time efficiently and how to locate and evaluate material available from electronic databases and the Internet.
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies by James L. Harner
An annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism Online
A comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

Literature in English