LibGuides: History—Latin American: Find primary sources

Finding primary sources

Use our advanced library search to find interviews, personal narratives, statistics, diaries, correspondence, biographies, and archives.

Search example: sandinista AND "personal narratives"

To locate archival library catalogs in a specific country when the name of an archive or library is unknown, use advanced library search and limit your search to "Subject contains." See search examples below.

Archives [Country]
- e.g. Archives Spain
Archives [Country] Catalogs
Historical museums [Country]
[Country] Manuscripts
[Country] History Manuscripts
[Country] History Sources

Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) Archive Directory
Directory U.S. Latin America and Caribbean collections and Latin American archives.

Primary source collections

Arizona-Sonora Documents Online
Digital images of archival collections relating to Sonora, Mexico dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries that are located at three Arizona repositories: the University of Arizona Library Special Collections; the Arizona Historical Society-Tucson; and the Arizona State Library, Archives, and Public Records. The collections date from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Archive of Early American Images
A database of pictures and maps of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, based on primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
Latin American Microform Collections
List of microform collections at the UA Libraries.
Mexican History Microform Collections
List of the UA Libraries' Mexican history on microfilm and microfiche.

Archives Unbound
Find digitized primary source documents, including these collections: Colección Revolución, 1910-1921; Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925; Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919; Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944; Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department.

Once inside the resource, click on Collections in upper right menu to see those we have available.
Gale platform Listen feature instructions

Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969
Find digitized documents of the British Foreign and Colonial Offices, including letters, telegrams, reports, and more.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974-1996

Find translations of broadcast news, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from over 100 nations around the world between 1974 and 1996.
Latin American Women Writers (LAWW)

Find fiction, poetry, essays about the feminist movement, and other works by women writers from Latin America, from colonial period to the present day.

ProQuest platform screen reader instructions

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
Find digitized primary sources from the Princeton Latin American Ephemera Collection, including pamphlets, flyers, posters, and more.
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources
Find digitized collections of primary sources related to Latin America and the Caribbean on this list compiled by the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM).
Underground Press Collection
Find hundreds of alternative / underground newspapers of the period 1963-1985 on microfilm. Collection consists mostly of U.S. papers, but also includes some Latin American publications.
Fondo Colonial Collection Archival Records, 1611-1821
Find digitized archival materials from the Fondo Colonial of the Archivo Históricos Municipal de Hidalgo del Parral (Parral Archive), covering 1611-1821. "Contains the civil colonial records of the Province of Nueva Viscaya, which today consists of the states of Chihuahua, Durango, Sonora, Sinaloa and part of Coahuila."

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1

Find historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. The content is in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is searchable in both languages. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2

Find manuscript, book, and newspaper content about Hispanic American civil rights, religion, and women's rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Materials are drawn from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project. Please Note: EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders. See Additional Info for details.
EBSCOhost is implementing a new User Interface beginning August 5, 2025. If you already have an EBSCOhost account, you may need to take action to recover your custom folders:
- Saved citations or saved searches in the My Folder area will sync into the new interface.
- What does not sync into the new interface includes: Search Alerts and Journal Alerts and anything in the My Custom areas.
- If you had custom folders, you may download a list of items in those folders: EBSCO Help Page This functionality will be available until December 31, 2025.
EBSCO platform text to speech feature and screen reader instructions

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
Harvard's collections of more than 5,000 scarce and unique 19th century Latin American pamphlets provide political and social commentary.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

History—Latin American

Humanities Cohort

Finding primary sources

Primary source collections

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

History—Latin American

Finding primary sources

Primary source collections

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect