Ask Us: Get research assistance from the UA Libraries' staff via email, phone, or in person at the library Help Desks. There's also a searchable list of frequently asked questions. Look for the Ask Us button in the upper right of this page.
Chat: The library's Chat Service is available whenever the library is open — which is most of the time. Look for the Chat button in the upper right of this page.
UITS also offers 24/7 tech support.
Summon, the library's discovery tool, enables you to search millions of items from a single interface. Summon searches the library catalog, most of our database content, digitized collections, and more.
If you access library resources from off campus, you'll need to sign in with your UA NetID and password. An alternative is to use UITS's Virtual Private Network (VPN), which is free for UA students and instructors to download. The VPN client provides a secure connection between your home computer, laptop, or mobile device and the UA network. To use the VPN client, you'll need to sign up for UA NetID+ Two-Factor Authentication, which provides another layer of security.
Can't connect? See Connecting to Library Databases for common problems and their solutions.
Get a public library card!
The Pima County Public Library (PCPL) has a wealth of business-related information on its website. Some resources (like the useful Business Plans Handbooks) require a PCPL card for online access. Other resources, like business directories and business statistics and demographics, are free for anyone to access. To get a library card, visit any PCPL branch with your photo I.D. (the Joel D. Valdez Main Library and Himmel Park Library are closest to the UA campus). If your I.D. doesn't have your current address, bring along a piece of mail or a legal document with your name and current address on it. If you don't have a local address, they'll give you a limited card so that you can check out 2 items.
NOTE: The public library is currently having access issues with the Business Plans Handbooks. Try finding them in the UA Libraries' Gale Virtual Reference Library instead. They may not be as recent as PCPL's.