Find company information - RCSC 400 - Retail & Marketing Strategies

Databases for company research

ABI/INFORM Archive This link opens in a new window
Find archival coverage for articles, summaries, and citations in business, management, and marketing, from 1905-1985.
ProQuest Platform screen reader instructions

Business Insights: Global
See the Companies tab for company profiles, histories, SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats) reports, investment reports, and financials. The Company Finder link lets you search by country, city, state, NAICS code, revenue, and employees.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, and industry reports.

Tutorial
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
Data Axle Reference Solutions can help users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds, and locate people. This database has access to millions of US and Canadian businesses, consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. new homeowners.
Historical ReferenceUSA data is available in ReDATA.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.
Note: May require users to log in with their NetID even on campus.

Tutorial

Value Line
Find information on individual companies by typing the company name or ticker symbol in the search box.

Private companies

In addition to Business Source Ultimate, Data Axle, and Nexis-Uni try these:

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Find data, research and technology covering the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions.
Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.
For problems logging into an existing account, click the "Create an account" link, enter your name and arizona.edu email address and "create", then click on the link in the email you receive and reset password.
Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.

PrivCo
PrivCo specializes in private company information and financial intelligence. You can search for individual companies, companies by sector, and by geography. It also lets you search for venture capital funding, private capital funding, private mergers and acquisitions deals, private equity deals, and has a handy knowledge bank to explain the differences between those types of transactions plus a whole lot more.

Company financials

There are a number of sources available for company financials for publicly traded companies. Fewer sources are available for private companies, and when you do find figures, those are less likely to be exact figures, but are often estimates.

Nexis-Uni Company Dossier
In the Nexis-Uni Business topic page select Find Company. On the next screen, under Company Dossier, select Find a Company. In the drop-down menu on the top bar, you can use the Compare Companies tab to analyze up to five companies at a time.

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Find data, research and technology covering the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions.
Note: You must first set up a personal account with an email address ending in "@arizona.edu" to use this database.
For problems logging into an existing account, click the "Create an account" link, enter your name and arizona.edu email address and "create", then click on the link in the email you receive and reset password.
Note: The Pitchbook app (via Apple/Google Play store) is only accessible via campus wifi/IP.
Restrictions on use:
Users may not publish PitchBooks data to any public forum such as a publicly available website.
Users may not use PitchBook data for any non-academic purpose.
University may institute disciplinary actions against any Users who intentionally misuse PitchBooks data.

Value Line
Once you get to a report on a publicly traded company, you'll find detailed financial information about sales, earnings, rankings, valuations, debt, and more. Look for 3- to 5-year projections too.
EDGAR (from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)
All companies, U.S. and foreign, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. On the left side of the page, select Company Filings Search. If you're looking for information in the financial filings, it can be useful to select the link for SEC Forms List (PDF versions) and look at the form descriptions.

Company news

In addition to Nexis-Uni, Business Source Ultimate, and Business Insights: Global, try these resources:

Wall Street Journal
Find in-depth coverage of national & international finance and business as well as general news events. Coverage is from Jan. 8, 2010, to present.
Access Business News
Search business journals, local and regional business news weeklies, and other news sources across North America.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Find business news and articles from major U.S. metropolitan areas, 1990-present.

See also databases and resources listed in the Find Articles section of this guide.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

RCSC 400 - Retail & Marketing Strategies

Databases for company research

Private companies

Company financials

Company news

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

RCSC 400 - Retail & Marketing Strategies

Databases for company research

Private companies

Company financials

Company news

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect