Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

MPH Phoenix Student Resources: Health Statistics and Data Sources

Statistics and Data

   Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)

The world's largest telephone survey. BRFSS tracks health risks in the United States. Information from the survey is used to oimprove the health of the American people. States and territories use BRFSS data to create policies and initiatives to meet health-related goals and measure their success.

   CDC Data and Statistics

This website is point of access to all public health data and statistical sites developed through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The page contains links to many of the most well utilized public health statistical websites.

   CDC State Health Departments

This MMWR wesite provides links to all state health departments.

   Community Health Status Indicators Project

Provides county-specific data and reports on health status indicators. States and counties can use the indicators to check county health status in comparison to Healthy People 2010 targets, compare one's county to peers and the U.S. and characterize the overall health of the county. (Not updated since 2009)


   County Health Rankings & Roadmaps

Provides county-by-county health rankings in each of the 50 states. Explanations of each health factor and actionable strategies to improve the health of communities across the country.

Data and Surveys Index Page

   Agency for Health Care Quality Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Provides links to information developed by the AHRQ including the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). HCUP databases are a resource of discharge-level health care data. MEPS produces nationally representative statistics on health care expenses.

   Fedstats

Fedstats is an access portal to statistics collected and published by more than 100 federal agencies.

   National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

The primary health statistics agency in the U.S. This CDC website is a enormous virtual data warehouse. Statistical information available on this website includes: accident rates, birth rates, leading causes of death, mortality rates, health status indicators by state, and disease incidences.

Health Information for Public Health Workers

Partners in Health Information Access for the Public Health Workforce Health Data Tools and Statistics

This website serves as a portal to over 50 websites health statistics and data sets.

 

   State Health Facts Online

This resource from the Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health and health policy including health coverage, access, financing and legislation. State comparison health data is also available.

   Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

SAMHSA's Office of Applied Studies is the primary source of national data on the prevalence, treatment and consequences of substance abuse in the U.S. The site has information on drug-related emergency room visits, drug-related deaths and the substance abuse treatment system.

   

U.S. Census Bureau

The census burerau is useful for demographic data on national, state and county levels. The website provides direct access to public cense data files, special reports, interactive software & mapping tools and a searchable database. The website also links to Easy Stats for demographic and economic statistics.

   Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)

WISQARS is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data which is broken down into fatal and non-fatal injuries.

Education Librarian

Kathleen Carlson's picture
Kathleen Carlson
Contact:
Phoenix Biomedical Campus
Health Sciences Education Building
Library, 3rd floor
435 N. 5th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 827-2340
Website / Blog Page