Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

MPH Phoenix Student Resources: Evidence Based Public Health Internet Resources

Internet Resources

   PubMed

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The premier scientific database of over 23 million bibliographic citations and abstracts dating back to the 1950's in the fields of medicine, nursing, health care systems and preclinical sciences.

   Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databses, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

   Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Project

This website focuses specifically on public health best evidence resources with an aim toward examining evidence-based medicine models and assessing their effectiveness to public health. Links are provided to the top 25 public health journals.

   Guide to Clinical Preventive Services

Provides the latest available recommendations on preventive interventions: screening tests, counseling, immunizations, and medication regimens for more than 80 conditions. Sponsored by the AHRQ.

   Guide to Community Preventive Services

Developed by an independent task force with support from the CDC and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This guide provides summaries on the effectiveness of population-based interventions for prevention and control.

   Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the U.S. Department of Health and Human services (HHS), Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, have worked together to develop preformulated search strategies (structured evidence queries) that search PubMed to identify research evidence for specific Healthy People 2020 objectives.

   Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)

Prepared by the CDC and contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and as well as reports and surveillance summaries on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries.

   NACCHO Model Practices Database

Developed by the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO). This is a searchable database of model practices of local health agencies across the U.S.

   National Guidelines Clearinghouse

Sponsored by the AHRQ, this website provides evidence-based clinical practice guidelines with recommendations, strategies and other information that assists healthcare providers in making appropriate healthcare decisions.

   PubMed Health

Contains systematic reviews and summaries of systematic reviews undertaken or updated in roughly the last ten years. PubMed Health goals are helping users find the evidence that can answer their questions about effects of health care and helping them understand what they find.

   TOXNET

Develped by the National Library of Medicine, TOXNET is an integrated system of toxicology, hazardous chemicals and environmental health databases that are available on the web.

Education Librarian

Kathleen Carlson's picture
Kathleen Carlson
Contact:
Phoenix Biomedical Campus
Health Sciences Education Building
Library, 3rd floor
435 N. 5th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 827-2340
Website / Blog Page