Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Evidence Based Medicine Information Resources: Evidence-Based Information Resources

Arizona Health Sciences Library and more

Explore the Arizona Health Sciences Library website (http://ahsl.arizona.edu/)  for direct access to a variety of databases, books, journals, and other resources.



See the guide: Library Resources for Medical Students  for a focused list of resources that may be used to answer background questions.

Introduction to EBM Resources

Formulating a Clinical Question

Finding Primary Studies (Individual Studies)

Finding Systematic Reviews

Finding Guidelines

Finding Pre-appraised Summaries

These resources, also referred to as "Synopses" or "Structured Abstracts"  feature summaries of critically appraised individual studies and systematic reviews.

Finding Textbook-like Summaries

Meta-search Engines

Meta-search engines use a single platform to search across multiple sources. For example, a meta-search engine may search across MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse all at once. Our own EBM Search engine is just one such example.

MEDLINE/PubMed and Medline Plus

MEDLINE® is a database created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It currently has over 22 million references to journal articles in medicine and the life sciences.

PubMed is NLM’s platform for providing access to the citations and abstracts in MEDLINE, along with many additional features which are summarized in the PubMed Fact Sheet. PubMed is freely accessible anywhere in the world with an internet connection.

Many of the articles indexed in PubMed are freely available via PubMed Central.  A majority of articles, however, are only accessible through institutional subscriptions to the journals in which the articles appear. Therefore, be sure to choose the “UA/UAHN Health Network Only” option from our home page when you want to access the full text of articles. Be aware that when you search MEDLINE, either with keywords or with MeSH, you are searching the title and abstract of the article, and not the whole text of the article itself. 

In addition to PubMed, the MEDLINE database is also available to University of Arizona students and faculty through OvidSP, which provides a different search interface and slightly different functionality than the PubMed interface. Unlike PubMed, Ovid Medline is only available through an institutional subscription.

Link to PubMed Tutorials
Link to PubMed (UA/UAHN)
Link to OvidSP MEDLINE

Unlike PubMed, which is geared towards health professionals, MedlinePlus, also created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine, is a website for consumers. MedlinePlus is a completely open access/free resource for patients and their families and friends. It contains summaries of health topics, images, videos, tutorials, drugs/herbs/supplements information, a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, and directories. The entire site is available in Spanish and many of the materials are also available in many other languages such as Chinese, Russian, Somali, and Tagalog.

AHSL Librarian for College of Medicine

Carol Howe's picture
Carol Howe
Contact:
Health Sciences Library
(520) 626-2739
Website / Blog Page