Skip to main content
The University of Arizona

Anthropology & Archaeology

We designed this research guide to introduce you to the fields of anthropology and archaeology. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research.

Your Librarian

Niamh Wallace's picture
Niamh Wallace
Contact:
Main Library A209
(520) 621-4869

Encyclopedia

Look up key terms or get background information on your topic:

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution

Covers the subject from archaeology to zoology, genetics to linguistics.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology

Online encyclopedia for anthropology.

Encyclopedia of Archaeology

Published in late 2007, this work covers all aspects of archaeology.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology

GN307 .E52 1996 Main Reference
The compendium of knowledge relevant to cultural anthropology with some coverage of linguistics, biological anthropology, and archaeology.

Encyclopedia of Social Measurement

Covers the how and whys of measurement in the social sciences including anthropology.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

GN307 .E53 1991 Main Reference
Comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of all of the cultures in each region of the world.

History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia

GN50.3 .H57 1997 Main Reference
Good coverage of the field, including biographical sketches.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral

Covers every aspect of the social sciences.

Oxford Companion to Archaeology

CC70 .O96 1996 Main Reference
A global assessment of archaeology's achievements, scientists' reconstructions of the past, and archaeologists' contributions to society.

Pubmed research medical and forensic anthropology