Research your topic

Research your topic

Scroll down this page or use the tabs on the right to find out about tools and resources available for researching your topic:

Explore subject guides
Search databases for articles, books, etc.
Learn from database search tutorials
Evaluate information sources

Explore subject guides

Subject guides are created by librarians at the University of Arizona. They will give you an overview of information resources in disciplines relevant to AED 210. Here are a few selected subject guides:

Agriculture
We designed this research guide as an introduction to resources in the field of agriculture. You'll find reference titles, search tools, and other resources you need to begin your research.
Education
This subject guide will introduce you to search tools and other resources you need to start your research in the field of education.
Public Health
This guide has resources and information to support study and research for public health topics.
Sociology
Learn about encylopedias, databases and other resources you need to start your research in the discipline of sociology.

You can also browse the full list of subject guides to find others relevant to your specific topic.

Search databases for articles, books, etc.

Although the subject guides in the section above list databases for the disciplines they cover, here are a few selected databases relevant that can help you find articles, books, book chapters, films, etc. on resiliency topics.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed journals, full text periodicals, reports, and books across multiple subjects.
Tutorial
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Find articles and documents in all areas of education.
Tutorial
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, and technical reports.
To set up access to UA Libraries full text from off campus or export to a citation manager, click "more" below.

Tutorial
The following configuration may be needed to access UA-subscribed content from off campus:
1. In Google Scholar, open the "hamburger" menu in the far upper left next to the Google Scholar logo and select "Settings.
2. From the settings menu, select "Library links".
3. Type "University of Arizona" in box and select "University of Arizona - Full-Text @ UofA Libraries". Then click Save.
4. When searching, articles for which we have full text access will display with a link "Full-Text @ UofA Libraries"; select this link to access it. (Please note that this link may be hidden in the smaller links below the citation, and you may need to click on the double arrow to the right of them to find it.)
5. To export citations to a bibliography manager, such as RefWorks or EndNote, go to the Settings menu, click on "search results", select the desired manager in the drop-down menu next to "show links to import citations into", and Save.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find articles, book reviews, and more from thousands of academic journals across the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
Tutorial
MEDLINE (via Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Find bibliographic citations with abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Find articles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Tutorial

Learn from database search tutorials

Tutorials are available that will help you learn how to create effective search strategies and also learn techniques for specific databases.

Searching techniques tutorials

How to search effectively
Use phrases and combine keywords into search strings to find what you’re looking for.

Database tutorials

Searching Academic Search Ultimate
Learn how to search Academic Search Ultimate for scholarly and popular articles across disciplines.
Searching ERIC
Learn how to find articles using ERIC.
Searching Google Scholar
Learn how to maximize Google Scholar with advanced search techniques, metrics, and alerts.
Searching JSTOR
Learn how to find and evaluate articles using JSTOR.
Searching PsycInfo
Learn how to find articles using the PsycInfo database.
Searching PubMed
Learn how to how to search the PubMed database effectively.

Evaluate information sources

These tutorials can help you learn to evaluate articles, websites, etc. and choose the most appropriate sources for your research.

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources
In this interactive tutorial, learn about the differences between popular and scholarly sources.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

AED 210 - Resiliency & Human Potential

Explore subject guides

Search databases for articles, books, etc.

Learn from database search tutorials

Evaluate information sources

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

AED 210 - Resiliency & Human Potential