Explore your topic - AED 210 - Resiliency & Human Potential

Browse encyclopedias & books

You have been assigned to find information on topics such as:

Congenital Heart Disorder (CHD)
Crohn's disease
Cystic Fibrosis
Juvenile Diabetes

You can begin by reviewing the list of books, etc. listed in the "Resources for All" section on pages 5 and 6 of the Service Learning Project w/ Beads of Courage document (also found in Module 2 of the content section for the AED 210 D2L site).

Encyclopedias can be a good source of background information and an overview of a topic. Search in the following titles for entries on your topic:

Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang
The Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive A to Z, inter-disciplinary, one-stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. Encompassing four volumes with some 1,200 articles in 2000 pages, the encyclopedia covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. Pedagogical elements of the encyclopedia include an in-depth chronology detailing advances in health through history, a glossary of health definitions, extensive cross-references to related topics, and thorough bibliographic citations.
The Royal Society of Medicine Health Encyclopedia
Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease ranging from how the body functions to when to consult your GP to what type of drug you have been prescribed.

Find books by using advanced library search and limiting material type to Books.

From your search results, filter to "Available in the library" for print books or "Full text online" for ebooks.

Try searching keywords such as:

Chronic diseases in adolescence
Chronic diseases in children
Congenital heart disease
Congenital heart disease in children
Crohn's disease
Cystic fibrosis
Cystic fibrosis in children
Diabetes in adolescence
Diabetes in children
Diabetes mellitus, type 1
Resilience (personality trait) in children

See below for examples of book titles under these keywords.

Behavioral Approaches to Chronic Disease in Adolescence by William O'Donohue and Lauren Woodward Tolle
This book offers clinicians an evidence-based guide to helping their young clients manage their chronic conditions and treating the psychosocial effects—from school problems and stigma to noncompliance and depression—that frequently follow diagnosis.
Cystic Fibrosis: A Guide for Patient and Family by David M. Orenstein
Written by Dr. David Orenstein, director of one of the nation's leading CF centers, this one-of-a-kind guide offers clear explanations and real-world advice on cystic fibrosis and its management.
Diabetic Adolescents and Their Families: Stress, Coping, and Adaptation by Inge Seiffge-Krenke
Diabetic Adolescents and their Families presents an innovative approach to the study of coping with chronic illness by focusing on the developmental context in its description of a longitudinal study of families with a diabetic or a healthy adolescent.
The Heart of a Child: What Families Need to Know About Heart Disorders in Children
Written for parents whose child has a heart disorder, this book provides up-to-date and reliable information from medical experts on children's heart problems.
In Sickness and in Play: Children Coping with Chronic Illness by Cindy Dell Clark
The author's 46 interviews with the families of children with chronic illness gives an understanding of how the children comprehend their illnesses and how parents struggle daily to care for their kids while trying to give them a normal childhood.
Play Therapy Interventions to Enhance Resilience
The importance of therapeutic play in helping children recover from adversity has long been recognized. This volume brings together experts on resilience, trauma, and play therapy to describe effective treatment approaches in this key area.
Promoting Psychological Well-Being in Children with Acute and Chronic Illness by Melinda Edwards and Penny Titman
ISBN: 9781843109679
The aim of this book is to provide a review of current research and effective clinical techniques for working with children with a medical condition or chronic illness, and their families.

Explore websites

American Diabetes Association
American Heart Association
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
more...less...
Find entries in MedlinePlus on Congenital Heart Defects, Crohn's Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, and Juvenile Diabetes / Diabetes Type 1.
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Offers pages on Diabetes in Children and Teens and Crohn's Disease.
Resiliency in Action
Browse the Resiliency in Action website. Explore the links to media, presentations, the blog and free articles and web resources.

Main Library | 1510 E. University Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85721
(520) 621-6442

AED 210 - Resiliency & Human Potential

Background sources for your topic

Learn about focusing your topic

Browse encyclopedias & books

Explore websites

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Search form

AED 210 - Resiliency & Human Potential

Background sources for your topic

Learn about focusing your topic

Browse encyclopedias & books

Explore websites

Information for

Libraries & Locations

Connect